Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

722, HELP please


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 16 February 2009 - 10:27 AM

Turned on my 722 this morning and nothing happened. I pushed the start button on the receiver and it started and the green light came on. 10 seconds later the green light went out and 20 seconds later the 722 shut down. I tried the same procedure after unplugging the 722 with the same results. Is it fried?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 16 February 2009 - 11:45 AM

Does not sound good. One test you can do is disconnect your leads to OTA and Sat and see if it will start up.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#3 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,584 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 16 February 2009 - 02:36 PM

It also might be worth cycling power to your power inserter too, while you are disconnecting everything anyway... to let the LNB/switches get reset as well.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#4 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 16 February 2009 - 09:50 PM

It also might be worth cycling power to your power inserter too, while you are disconnecting everything anyway... to let the LNB/switches get reset as well.


You know, that's a suggestion that most of us don't even consider. It is an integral part of the system and shouldn't be overlooked. Good point.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#5 OFFLINE   inazsully

inazsully

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 781 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 17 February 2009 - 11:22 AM

Ok, now this is strange. Because I could not watch Dish I watched a DVD. When finished I switched back to the DVR and it came on instantly. Could a software download have been taking place? I know with "D" you can look at the date of the latest download but I do not see that information with Dish.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...