Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

wb68 and power inserter


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 17 February 2009 - 05:20 PM

I have a power inserter powering a wb68 multiswitch(since my hd box is more than 150 ft. away from the dish), can both be outdoors without damaging?
Thanks for any reply.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   paragon

paragon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 17 February 2009 - 05:26 PM

**

Edited by paragon, 18 February 2009 - 07:15 AM.


#3 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 17 February 2009 - 05:57 PM

Properly installed a wb68 can be installed outdoors.

A WB68 is a passive switch powered by the IRDs. You sure you don't have an older 4*8 switch since used to need a PI.

To install properly: Install switch with connections east-west and wires coming from below. Add dielectric grease inside connectors. Maybe use weather boots.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#4 OFFLINE   Johnnie5000

Johnnie5000

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 452 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 17 February 2009 - 10:34 PM

The WB68 is not supposed to be outdoors (unless its in a weatherproof enclosure). Don't know about the power inserter.


They're almost always installed outside. wb68's are made to be installed outside. Plain and simple.

The power inserter (which is should not be hooked up to a wb68 at all) should never be outside.

#5 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,917 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 17 February 2009 - 11:09 PM

Perhaps the OP is referring to a Sonora power inserter/phase locker being used with the WB68? If so, the sonora itself could go outdoors, but the power supply for it needs to be indoors (it is connected via RG6 coax to the sonora). If you do put the Sonora and the WB68 outdoors, having some protection from direct weather is advised. Also, make very certain you use quality weatherproof connectors on all coax connections so that moisture does not get into the connections.

#6 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,424 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 06:47 AM

Sonora HRPID 1422 is a very effective power inserter - phase locker to allow much more reliable service of WB68 with longer than average (advised) cable runs.

Agree with above that they can be outside but some direct weather protection would be advisable. Don't enclose HRPID1422 completly in a small,non ventilated box. It will get hot. Plug goes indoors and connects to HRPID1422 by 5th coax line. Dilectric Grease and/or Weather Boots helps to insure less troubled service.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#7 OFFLINE   paragon

paragon

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:15 AM

They're almost always installed outside. wb68's are made to be installed outside. Plain and simple.

The power inserter (which is should not be hooked up to a wb68 at all) should never be outside.


Yea I was incorrect about that. I was confusing it with something else.

#8 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 09:44 AM

Many thanks for your replies; and yes, it is a Sonora HRPID 1422 connected as you mentioned.

#9 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:01 PM

Now, I am getting 0 signals only on transponder 3 & 4 on sat 103 c, the rest of them are o.k.(80+). What could be the reason for this?
All other sats are fine(80-90,s)

#10 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 21 February 2009 - 09:25 AM

Dr.J :
Will appreciate any thoughts regarding the two 0 signals since it still persists.
Thank you

#11 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 21 February 2009 - 01:56 PM

Now, I am getting 0 signals only on transponder 3 & 4 on sat 103 c, the rest of them are o.k.(80+). What could be the reason for this?
All other sats are fine(80-90,s)

Is this happening on all receivers?

#12 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 21 February 2009 - 03:17 PM

Just in one receiver the H21-200 and not on the H20-600. Thanks for the reply.

#13 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,424 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 February 2009 - 07:25 PM

are you missing any channels or getting searching for sat errors.
The tuners on the H-2* models are sometimes flakey and made read ok the 0.
Software issue being worked on.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#14 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 23 February 2009 - 09:01 AM

Dr.J:
I'm missing some channels, like 607-284-359 which are exactly in those transponders, Thanks for any ideas.

#15 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 23 February 2009 - 09:22 AM

I get searching for satellite errors.

#16 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,424 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 23 February 2009 - 09:28 AM

Transponder #3 - 241;255:284:332:512

Transponder #4 - 267:296:359:607:618

Very peculiar since this would be both odd and even transponders and would suggest both 14v & tone and 18v & tone ports.
Cabling still could be an issue but wonder if the WB68 itself is a problem. Grounding sometimes does funny things.

Are this channels out all the time?

Troubleshooting would start by getting direct line fom dish to receiver see if that works. If not ?LNB.

If direct line ok ,add back in components till something fails and you'll know want to replace. Tedious but if you don't check every step you made not isolate the problem.

My suspicion is LNB or WB68 is on the fritz.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#17 OFFLINE   tacua

tacua

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2008

Posted 23 February 2009 - 10:19 PM

Dr.J, I found a loose connection at one output of the WB68, everything is working fine now. Thanks a lot for your thoughts. My best regards,




Protected By... spam firewall...And...