Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

MediaShare menu option not showing


  • Please log in to reply
31 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:07 AM

Hello all, I have been lurking and reading the boards trying to figure this issue out for about a week now and i'm ready to rip my hair out. The family is tired of me resetting the DVR every 5 minutes so I think it's time to ask for help :D

My current setup follows:

HR 23 receiver
BEFSR41 Linksys router
Windows XP
MP 11
Hardwired with Cat5e cable

I'm able to get DOD channels, download movies, etc.... but I cannot for the life of me get the menu option to appear for Photos and Videos on the receiver.

Whenever I try to enable Network Services with the default ports I get a 202 error Services cannot be started or something to that effect.

I've unplugged the receiver, rebooted probably a hundred times, rebooted my cable modem, router and PC. Folders are shared, sharing is setup in MP, all Services are running, etc..

Is this possibly a problem with the type of router that i'm using?

What makes this worse is that i'm a Network Administrator, sort of embarassing :nono2:

Thanks for any help that you can provide - if I need another router so be it.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,892 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:32 AM

You don't need network services to use Media share.

I assume you mean WMP?

What are the results of a System Test?

Menu->Parental, Fav's & Setup->System Setup->Info & Test

Or, you can just press and hold the Info button on the remote.

There are issues with UPnP. What is the IP address of the HR23?

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#3 OFFLINE   Michael D'Angelo

Michael D'Angelo

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Registered
  • 10,838 posts
Joined: Oct 20, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:33 AM

I am moving this to the "DIRECTV HD DVR" forum.

#4 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,791 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:44 AM

:welcome_sto DBSTalk

I need to "fiddle with" my firewall software and open up some ports.
Check to see if Windows media player can see the DVR.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:52 AM

You don't need network services to use Media share.

I assume you mean WMP?

What are the results of a System Test?

Menu->Parental, Fav's & Setup->System Setup->Info & Test

Or, you can just press and hold the Info button on the remote.

There are issues with UPnP. What is the IP address of the HR23?

Mike


Everything tests out OK except the phone line which I do not have connected. The IP address of the receiver is 192.168.1.100

Sorry, yes WMP 11 which I reinstalled last night.

I am moving this to the "DIRECTV HD DVR" forum.


Sorry for placing it wrong and thank you for the move.

:welcome_sto DBSTalk

I need to "fiddle with" my firewall software and open up some ports.
Check to see if Windows media player can see the DVR.



Thank you, cool site with lots of helpful info here. Looking forward to learning as much as I can even tho I have a pretty basic setup compared to some of the others here.

#6 OFFLINE   Sackett

Sackett

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: May 21, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 10:58 AM

Like what VOS said it is probably Windows XP Firewall(or other software firewall) that is stopping it. You may for a test disable it and see if it works.

#7 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:10 AM

Sorry I should have mentioned - Firewalls have been completely disabled.

WMP sees the DVR as an unknown device - i've opened ports on the router that are listed in the WMP help section. Perhaps this is the problem?


Is the BEFSR41 router compatible with mediashare?

#8 OFFLINE   dgobe

dgobe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:22 AM

In WMP go to the Tools->Options menu then select the Library tab.
Click the Configure Sharing... button
Check the Share my media to: checkbox
You should see the DirecTV Mediashare Renderer device(s) there, click on it and click the Allow button.

You should also be able to ping the IP address of the HR from your computer. At a command prompt type in ping 192.168.1.100 if you don't get replies, double check that all firewalls are disabled or uninstall any third party firewalls.

P.S. I have the same router. 1.05.03 firmware.

Edited by dgobe, 18 February 2009 - 11:24 AM.
router


#9 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:25 AM

I'm including a few screenshots to show the current setup i'm running - maybe I have some ports setup incorrectly that someone can point out.

WMP sharing
Posted Image

UPnP Forwarding
Posted Image

Port Range Forwarding
Posted Image

#10 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:26 AM

In WMP go to the Tools->Options menu then select the Library tab.
Click the Configure Sharing... button
Check the Share my media to: checkbox
You should see the DirecTV Mediashare Renderer device(s) there, click on it and click the Allow button.

You should also be able to ping the IP address of the HR from your computer. At a command prompt type in ping 192.168.1.100 if you don't get replies, double check that all firewalls are disabled or uninstall any third party firewalls.

P.S. I have the same router. 1.05.03 firmware.


I have those setup however WMP sees it as an unknown device - I can ping the receiver.

#11 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:42 AM

In WMP go to the Tools->Options menu then select the Library tab.
Click the Configure Sharing... button
Check the Share my media to: checkbox
You should see the DirecTV Mediashare Renderer device(s) there, click on it and click the Allow button.

You should also be able to ping the IP address of the HR from your computer. At a command prompt type in ping 192.168.1.100 if you don't get replies, double check that all firewalls are disabled or uninstall any third party firewalls.

P.S. I have the same router. 1.05.03 firmware.


Can you post your current router settings as they apply to the mediashare?

I have 2.00.02 firmware

#12 OFFLINE   bhelton71

bhelton71

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '09

  • Registered
  • 2,390 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:43 AM

I have those setup however WMP sees it as an unknown device - I can ping the receiver.


Unknown device should mean WMP wasn't able to get the 'Friendly Name' for some reason - it is supplied in the device description document.

I posted this in another thread - its a small utility to test your UPnP setup. If you run it you can safely ignore any errors on tests 7 & 8 - those are router port mapping tests and are not used by mediashare.

http://www.junegille...om/UPnPTest.exe

On your firewall in addition to giving WMPNSS an exception you also have to open ports for SSDP and the UPnP device host. If you are using Windows firewall those should be opened automatically when you start the sharing service, but I'd double check them.

#13 OFFLINE   dgobe

dgobe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:46 AM

I don't have anything configured in Port Forwarding or UPNP forwarding on my router. But I don't think that would help or hinder in any case.

Go to your WMP sharing screen and right-click the DTV Renderer and remove it. Close WMP.

Go to run->services.msc and find the WMP Network Sharing service. Right-click it and restart the service.

Go back to WMP and it should pick up the HR20 again, select it and click allow.

Your setup looks good. I know a lot of people have strange issues where it doesn't work right away. Good luck.

Is that uTorrent? tsk tsk :)

#14 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:54 AM

TEST 1 - Operating System Support - PASSED
TEST 2 - SSDP Service Running Check - PASSED
TEST 3 - SSDP Service Automatic Check - PASSED
TEST 4 - UPnPHost Service Running Check - PASSED
TEST 5 - UPnPHost Service Automatic Check - PASSED
TEST 6 - UPnP Framework Firewall Exception Check - PASSED
TEST 7 - Adapter #0 - 192.168.1.101 - FAILED
TEST 8 - Get External IP Address - FAILED

UPnP Test Program v1.15 Copyright Mark Gillespie 2005
Bugs/Comments to: mark.gillespie@gmail.com
Please do not email me UPnP support requests. I will not answer them.


I removed the unknown device, restarted the service but now I cannot get any device to show up in WMP.

Ugg - at least i'm back to square 1 :lol:

#15 OFFLINE   dgobe

dgobe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:59 AM

It might take a little while for the SSDP multicast to hit your computer. Hopefully it'll show up soon. You can try yet another DVR reboot if it doesn't.

From the UPNP test results you look good to go. Make sure there are actually media files in the folders you shared. That might be causing a problem.

#16 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:03 PM

I copied a few pictures into the shared folder that I called MediaShare - it's being shared. If the folder is empty the menu item will not show?

I just performed a reboot of my pc, i'll reboot the DVR now and see if the device shows up in WMP now.

#17 OFFLINE   bhelton71

bhelton71

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '09

  • Registered
  • 2,390 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:04 PM

I don't have anything configured in Port Forwarding or UPNP forwarding on my router. But I don't think that would help or hinder in any case.

Go to your WMP sharing screen and right-click the DTV Renderer and remove it. Close WMP.

Go to run->services.msc and find the WMP Network Sharing service. Right-click it and restart the service.

Go back to WMP and it should pick up the HR20 again, select it and click allow.

Your setup looks good. I know a lot of people have strange issues where it doesn't work right away. Good luck.

Is that uTorrent? tsk tsk :)


You may have hit it on the head - is UPnP disabled in uTorrent ? It is known to cause upnp issues. You can still do normal port forwarding, but just disable the port mapping capabilities.

#18 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:10 PM

Enable UPnP port mapping has a check in it for UTorrent.


Right now i'm stuck with the issue of a device not showing up in WMP 11 - this happened after I removed it.

#19 OFFLINE   dgobe

dgobe

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:18 PM

I did the procedure I suggested to you and mine came right back. Both of them.

Maybe the random port in uTorrent happened to land on the ones the HR uses.

Attached Thumbnails

  • router.jpg
  • utorrent.jpg


#20 OFFLINE   DarkHorse

DarkHorse

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2009

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:20 PM

This should happen only when I open or use UTorrent tho correct? If I uninstall UTorrent that would eliminate that as being a potential problem, i've been trying in vain just to get WMP to recognize a device now. Rebooting my pc again.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...