Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Digital TV Transition for DIRECTV receivers - Issues Only


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
325 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,876 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:35 AM

This is an issues-only thread for reporting issues with DIRECTV receivers that stem from the transition from analog to digital television.

Please post all issues here and remember to note:
  • What receivers are affected
  • What market you're in
  • What zip code you're using to get guide data
  • What channels are affected
  • What's happening currently
  • The resolution of your issue, if any (such as, did rerunning Antenna Setup help)

This is only for those who receive locals via over-the-air, via antenna. Do not use this thread for HD locals delivered over satellite.

Do not use this thread for negative comments. We all understand that there are several potential points of failure during this transition and there are a lot of good people working on making this as smooth as possible. Non-issue posts will be deleted.

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 18 February 2009 - 11:42 AM.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,031 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 11:39 AM

OKC (zip 73020) CBS KWTV switched from UHF 39 to VHF 9 yesterday and now the HR20-700 will not tune the channel. Attempting to re-set up OTA locks up the DVR requiring a RBR.

Called KWTV and they said they called Tribune, but unsure if the message got through.

Similar experience with PBS OETA but not sure if they switched from their UHF 32 or not.

edit - All of the TVs again receive KWTV & OETA using their own tuners following a rescan, so strong evidence that OETA did switch from their old UHF 32 to something new.

Edited by dettxw, 18 February 2009 - 01:08 PM.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#3 OFFLINE   nosok12

nosok12

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:10 PM

Sioux City 51106. Problems getting KCAUDT (ABC) with H20 (Searching for signal) HR20 picks it up. Thoughts

Thanks

#4 OFFLINE   Crypter

Crypter

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 454 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:21 PM

Just posted a thread in the main forum...

* What receivers are affected: HR21+AM21 & HR22+AM21
* What market you're in: DMA #154 Rochester, MN
* What zip code you're using to get guide data: 55901
* What channels are affected: KTTC-DT (NBC-HD) 10.1
* What's happening currently: 771 Error... no signal
* The resolution of your issue, if any: None Yet, already ran Antenna setup again and that did not help.

#5 OFFLINE   Brian Hanasky

Brian Hanasky

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 370 posts
Joined: Feb 22, 2008

Posted 18 February 2009 - 12:40 PM

* HR20-100
* Wheeling, WV/Steubenville, OH DMA #159
* My ZIP 43947

WTRF 7.1, 7.2, and 7.3 made the transition yesterday 2/17 at 12:30PM from UHF 32 to VHF 7. When I returned home from work I rescanned for the new data. All three channels now show 95% strength. 7.1 comes in fine.

7.2 and 7.3 show 771 searching for signal.

XBOX LIVE Gamertag: budracin88


#6 OFFLINE   timmy1376

timmy1376

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Aug 03, 2003

Posted 18 February 2009 - 01:27 PM

* HR21-100
* Topeka, KS
* 66502
* WIBW, OTA 13-1
* Get 771 on 13-1 13-1 comes in fine after a rescan on my digital tv

#7 OFFLINE   scarzy

scarzy

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Oct 14, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 02:30 PM

* HR20-700 (Living Room box)
* Rockford, IL
* 61008
* WREX/CW, OTA 13-2
* Get 771 on 13-2 - No resolution yet, already ran Antenna setup again and that did not help

WREX 13.1 and 13.2 made the transition yesterday 2/17. Both channels now show 100% strength. 13.1 comes in fine after antenna setup but 13.2 shows 771 searching for signal on both hr20-700 boxes.

* HR20-700 (Bedroom box)
* Rockford, IL
* 61008
* WREX OTA 13-1 & WREX/CW, OTA 13-2
* Get 771 on 13-1 and 13-2 - No resolution yet, already ran Antenna setup again and that did not help

WREX 13.1 and 13.2 made the transition yesterday 2/17. Both channels now show 100% strength. 13.1 and 13.2 show 771 searching for signal on hr20-700 BR box.

Edited by scarzy, 18 February 2009 - 08:13 PM.


#8 OFFLINE   garddog32

garddog32

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 43 posts
Joined: Aug 27, 2004

Posted 18 February 2009 - 02:57 PM

* HR20-700
* Wausau/Stevens Point WI
* 54481
* 7-1, 9-1, 12-1
* 771 Error... no signal
* Ran through anntenna initial set-up. Also did RBR. Neither helped.

#9 OFFLINE   bmeeks8

bmeeks8

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 03:30 PM

* HR20-700 and HR20-100
* Savannah, GA
* 30474
* 9-1, 9-2 and 9-3 (WVAN-DT) PBS affiliate
* 771 error, no signal after station moved last night from VHF 13 over to VHF 9

WVAN-DT (channel 9-1) for Savannah, GA moved from VHF 13 back to VHF 9 at midnight. My HR20-100 and HR20-700 receivers no longer receive it OTA. Was working before the analog cutoff and switch back of their digital feed to the old analog channel.

From the many posts here, looks the Tribune Media Services system did not get updated. This is why I think it was a bad move to remove OTA scan capability for the HR20 boxes. I think it should have been left as an option that could be enabled by the end-user. A warning message saying Guide data may not be accurate for OTA channels found via a "scan" would let folks know what the downside was.

#10 OFFLINE   strack

strack

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 34 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 18 February 2009 - 03:45 PM

Receivers: HR20-700 & HR20-100
Market: West Palm Beach, FL
Guide Zip Code: 33467
Channel: WTVX Channel 34
Issue: WTVX changed their digital channel from 50 to 34 back in December. 34.1 comes in fine, 34.2, 34.3, & 34.4 I get error 771. When I check the signal strengh, I get a strong signal on all the subchannels.
Resoultion: Reset up the OTA numerous times, no change. Same issue exists.

#11 OFFLINE   Villager

Villager

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 05:01 PM

Mobile/Pensacola DMA (zip 32504)

WBPG has shut down its analog channel (55) and started digital service on physical channel 25. It is not in the DirecTV data base. I can receive the channel using the TV tuner, but cannot access through either HR20 or H20.

I should have mentioned that I did go through the rescan channels on the H20, and reset the OTA on the HR20. Neither action ws corrective.

Edited by Villager, 18 February 2009 - 06:11 PM.
Added that rescan had been done.


#12 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 05:33 PM

Note .. For some of you, going through the guided Antenna (OTA) setup may resolve the situation .. I don't know that this will work for everyone, though.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#13 OFFLINE   machavez00

machavez00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,634 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, Arizona
Joined: Nov 02, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 05:55 PM

Phoenix DMA, HR20-700, latest CE
KPPX (ion) is off the air, analog and digital. No OTA 38-1 or 39-1(or -2 ,-3, and -4), 7-2 is giving a searching for signal. (all digital only stations)

I did the antenna steup, no help.

#14 OFFLINE   mcrutland

mcrutland

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2004

Posted 18 February 2009 - 05:57 PM

* HR21-200
* Columbus-Tupelo, MS
* 38801
* WMAE, 12-1, 12-2, 12-3
* Get 771 on WMAE. WMAE has moved from channel 55 to its old analog channel 12.

#15 OFFLINE   SD493

SD493

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 116 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2003

Posted 18 February 2009 - 06:14 PM

HR20-100S. 36092 (Montgomery, Alabama)--WCOV switched from 16 to 20. I have run antenna set up numerous times but all I get is a 'searching for signal' message. WAKA went from 55 to 42. All I get is a "searching for signal' message. I have another channel switching 4-1 and then another one 6-12. Hopefully, I'm not going to loose all my OTA channels.

#16 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,031 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 18 February 2009 - 06:45 PM

OKC (zip 73020) CBS KWTV switched from UHF 39 to VHF 9 yesterday and now the HR20-700 will not tune the channel. Attempting to re-set up OTA locks up the DVR requiring a RBR.

Called KWTV and they said they called Tribune, but unsure if the message got through.

Similar experience with PBS OETA but not sure if they switched from their UHF 32 or not.

edit - All of the TVs again receive KWTV & OETA using their own tuners following a rescan, so strong evidence that OETA did switch from their old UHF 32 to something new.

Looks like Tribune has gotten around to updating their database.

Once again re-ran the OTA setup and this time was able to tune the newly-moved KWTV & OETA with the bedroom HR20-700.

Off to do the living room DVR.

edit - yet another re-running of the living room OTA setup was not successful.
Following the first run-through of zip entering and guide downloading, instead of continuing the DVR re-ran the OTA setup again. At least that is what it said it was doing, the following screens indicated a re-run of the satellite setup. The final result was that the OTA setup was still hosed and no HR20-700 tuning of KWTV or OETA. On-hold for Wednesday night recordings on other working channels.

Edited by dettxw, 18 February 2009 - 07:08 PM.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#17 OFFLINE   thomas_d92

thomas_d92

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 83 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2004

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:06 PM

Here in Fresno,Ca. the PBS station Channel 18 turned off its analog signal. Before the turn off my HR20-700 could receive their digital channels . Now they are still listed in the guide but I do not receive them. The tuner in my TV does receive the PBS signal. The virtual channels are 18-1,18-2 and 18-3. they are still in the guide but I do not receive them. The real channel is 40-1,40-2,and 40-3 the same as before the cutoff. I wished this D box had a scan feature.
KVPT -DT
virtual channels 18-1,18-2 and 18-3 as in the guide real channel 40-1,40-2, and 40-3
Receiving OTA
HR20-700
Fresno,Ca.
93221
Searching for signal 771 error
I have rerun ota setup and reset receiver with no luck.

Edited by thomas_d92, 19 February 2009 - 06:19 AM.


#18 ONLINE   scottchez

scottchez

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 929 posts
Joined: Feb 04, 2003

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:06 PM

UPDATE: 10.1 (CBS) now working but 10.2 (MyTV) NOT WORKING

* What receivers are affected: HR21-100+AM21 & HR20-100 (2 of them)
* What market you're in: Omaha Ne, with Licoln NE seconardary (I get both)
* What zip code you're using to get guide data: 68501 (seconarday)
* What channels are affected: KOLN 10.1 CBS & KOLN 10.2 MyTV
* What's happening currently: 771 Error... no signal
* The resolution of your issue, if any: Rebooted, reset up ant and re authorized, tried many things on all 3 receivers.

ON the DirecTV web site they listed this station as NOT converting this month, when in FACT they did Monday night at midnight per the kolnkgin.com web site and the station mgr.

Edited by scottchez, 19 February 2009 - 08:49 AM.

"We need more power Scotty" Kirk

#19 OFFLINE   carpetman

carpetman

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:13 PM

HR20-700
south bend
49031
outside ant 22-1, 22-2, 22-3
771 searching for signal
(2)HR20
5 LNB AT9 Dish
HR20 conected to JVC "42" LCD
HR20 conected to Sony KDL-52XBR4 LCD

#20 OFFLINE   lman

lman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 18 February 2009 - 07:28 PM

HR20-700
south bend
49031
outside ant 22-1, 22-2, 22-3
771 searching for signal


I'm in the South Bend area and just reset my OTA and am now receiving those channels.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...