Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

A quick antenna question


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   BKC

BKC

    Icon

  • Banned User
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 05:02 PM

After all the digital switching is done are the signals VHF or UHF or can they be either?

I may try to pull in a station that broadcasts in HD, it's almost 100 miles away and I need to know what antenna to look for. TIA :)

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,392 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 21 February 2009 - 05:04 PM

Check out these folks:


http://www.antennawe...aw/welcome.aspx
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#3 OFFLINE   n3ntj

n3ntj

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,705 posts
Joined: Dec 18, 2006

Posted 21 February 2009 - 06:05 PM

After all the digital switching is done are the signals VHF or UHF or can they be either?

I may try to pull in a station that broadcasts in HD, it's almost 100 miles away and I need to know what antenna to look for. TIA :)


After the final conversion, each station will only be one or the other.
HD Snob - "Friends Don't Let Friends Watch Cable".
Electrical/RF Engineer & Inspector
DirecTV Equipment: HR24-200, HR24-100, 5LNB Slimline, AM21, SWiM 8 installed (MRV)
HR-2x Configuration: Native OFF. Units OFF when not in use.
TVs: 2 Panasonic Plasma TV's each using HDMI (one 1080p/one 720p)
DirecTV customer since 1998. Plus HD DVR package w/ NHL Center Ice & MLB Extra Innings.
OTA Antenna: Homebrew UHF & VHF antennas w/ 30dB amplifier fed w/ RG-6 Quad-shield coax.

#4 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,359 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 21 February 2009 - 10:31 PM

From that far away you will need a good size antenna and probably a pre amp. Good luck. Let us know what you go with and if it will work. Another site to try is www.tvfool.com they will tell you what you are supposed to get after the transition and if they are VHF or UHF.

#5 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,473 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 22 February 2009 - 03:35 PM

You not only need a good antenna and pre-amp you also need altitude, you will be shooting over the horizon. Mount the antenna as high as possible.

Input your exact address into www.TVFool.com and see how strong that signal from 100 miles away really is. For a station 100 miles away www.antennaweb.org will probably not even list it.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#6 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 22 February 2009 - 05:34 PM

I may try to pull in a station that broadcasts in HD, it's almost 100 miles away and I need to know what antenna to look for. TIA :)


I found the one you'll need:

Posted Image

#7 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,795 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 22 February 2009 - 05:46 PM

After the final conversion, each station will only be one or the other.

I'd be willing to bet that this isn't true. I'm pretty sure there are some composite feeds that bring programming from different frequencies to the same PSIP number.

#8 OFFLINE   BKC

BKC

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 22 February 2009 - 10:17 PM

I found the one you'll need:

Posted Image


Thanks! I just ordered it. :D

#9 OFFLINE   Tower Guy

Tower Guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 450 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2005

Posted 23 February 2009 - 02:36 PM

Thanks! I just ordered it. :D


I have mine mounted on a rotor.

http://maps.live.com...scl=1&encType=1

#10 OFFLINE   BKC

BKC

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 23 February 2009 - 06:08 PM

I've found the tower is 80.8 miles away and the real channel number is 22. Does that mean it's UHF? UHF is harder to receive right?

#11 OFFLINE   scooper

scooper

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,752 posts
  • LocationYoungsville NC
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 23 February 2009 - 06:20 PM

I've found the tower is 80.8 miles away and the real channel number is 22. Does that mean it's UHF? UHF is harder to receive right?


I wouldn't hold out much hope for getting it unless your area is significantly higher that the transmitter, or they are like on a mountain and you are on another mountain with line-of-sight.
You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

http://www.fcc.gov/mb/facts/otard.html

#12 OFFLINE   BKC

BKC

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 23 February 2009 - 09:18 PM

We always used to get it but I suppose with the digital switch it will not be as easy? I guess maybe I'll have to scrap the idea. My one local channel will probably never go with HD. :(

#13 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,359 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 23 February 2009 - 11:50 PM

We always used to get it but I suppose with the digital switch it will not be as easy? I guess maybe I'll have to scrap the idea. My one local channel will probably never go with HD. :(


If you used to get it then I say go for it. You should be able to get it if you used to. You will need a good antenna and a pre amp but dont be afraid to try.

#14 OFFLINE   BKC

BKC

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Banned User
  • 682 posts
Joined: Dec 12, 2007

Posted 24 February 2009 - 08:54 AM

I hate to sink a couple hundred bux in it and find out I can't get it. I have a local CBS station 30 miles away but like I mentioned, I doubt they will ever be HD. I'll have to do some thinking on it I guess. :)

#15 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,795 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 25 February 2009 - 12:17 AM

Before you go chasing after UHF signals that are 80 miles away, make sure they don't have a translator that is closer. tvfool.com is usually better about showing you everything.

#16 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 705 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 25 February 2009 - 07:33 AM

I have mine mounted on a rotor.

http://maps.live.com...scl=1&encType=1


May I ask you what that is? I remember few years ago, after a long time with this curiousity of seeing that crane-like thing sitting high up on the hill when I was driving down either I-90, SR 31, SR 5 or SR 49, I've decided to travel towards it. After such a long time of wondering it was, I finally discovered what it was. But, what is it supposed to be? Some sort of an air museum for the area?

#17 OFFLINE   Tower Guy

Tower Guy

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 450 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2005

Posted 25 February 2009 - 06:36 PM

But, what is it supposed to be? Some sort of an air museum for the area?


It's a test facility used for verifying that an antenna works properly when mounted on an airplane.

The insiders call it the upside down Air Force.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...