Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Error 004 on ONE channel on VIP 722


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kucharsk

kucharsk

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 25 February 2009 - 06:03 AM

I was watching HBOCY (307) overnight and would get Error 004 popping up on-screen every half hour or so for no reason I could find telling me to channel up, channel down or to hold the power button for ten seconds.

I hit "Cancel" once and the message stayed the same, then upon hitting "Cancel" the second time, the channel returned.

I looked on the DN site and it mentioned this is a check switch error, but my switch tests pass with flying colors and the error box I get says nothing about the switch, just to change channels.

It's only happened on HBOCY so far, and I've never seen it on any channel before getting the L617 software.

Is this widespread? An issue with how HBOCY is being uplinked?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,324 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 February 2009 - 10:32 AM

So, what is your signal level on the transponder ?

#3 OFFLINE   kucharsk

kucharsk

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 468 posts
Joined: Sep 19, 2006

Posted 26 February 2009 - 10:59 PM

No idea, but I don't see a single block or dropout on the channel.

Perfect picture, then the 004 message until I hit cancel twice, then perfect picture for the next half hour or so.

#4 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 26 February 2009 - 11:25 PM

No idea, but I don't see a single block or dropout on the channel.

Perfect picture, then the 004 message until I hit cancel twice, then perfect picture for the next half hour or so.


Have you done a power cord reset? Unplug for a few minutes. When it happens, if you press Menu does it bring the picture back? I ask because I was having this problem as well and pressing Menu did correct the problem until I was able to pull the plug for a few minutes. It didn't seem to affect any recording that was occurring at the time.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,324 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 27 February 2009 - 12:56 AM

menu-6-1-1 and you'll see the sat and tpn




spam firewall