Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

wireless hookup for my vip622


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   chucksvstar

chucksvstar

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2006

Posted 25 February 2009 - 10:14 PM

Hello,is there away to hook up my dvr through a wireless router.And use the dvr programming via the internet? I dont have a place to run any wires.I am using satellite internet,with modem upstairs,router upstairs,for my laptop.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 26 February 2009 - 07:07 AM

Well part of that question is doable and part may not be. You can use a wireless bridge device to connect the receiver's Ethernet port to a wireless home network. Use the search facility of this forum and you will find lots of discussion on that topic. However, if you are using a satellite Internet service I'm not sure you would really want to do that. I say that because the receiver makes very frequent connections to Echostar servers over the broadband. Someone recently said they traced it at around 40,000 connections per day. I understand most satellite Internet services limit the amount of traffic you can use. I don't believe there is really a lot of traffic other than the handshake for a new connection but that might add up to more than you want flowing over your Internet service all the time.

The second part of your question was about "using the dvr programming via the Internet". I guess it depends on what you mean by that if it is possible. If you mean can you download programs from Dish over the Internet, you can. And, if you have a Sling box you could remotely watch programming from you receiver. However you can not do that without a Sling box. Either of these would be a lot of traffic for a satellite Internet service.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#3 OFFLINE   chucksvstar

chucksvstar

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jun 16, 2006

Posted 26 February 2009 - 11:37 PM

Hey thanks for the reply. Yeah you are right about the limited use on the satellite internet.I guess it wont be worth it. Basically all I wanted to do was to check and set my DVR recordings. from any other computer. Speaking of limited internet use via satellite system,they call it (fair acsess policy),I call it unfair.I read that cable companys are trying the same thing.(FAP). Thanks again




Protected By... spam firewall...And...