Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Uplink Question


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dano

dano

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 02, 2003

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:26 PM

I'm a longtime lurker here and always find good info. I am having some difficulty deciphering these Uplink reports and could use some help. I found the below on the 1/14 uplink report:

ADD 4530 WOI{AMES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE

ADD 4531 KCCI{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE

ADD 4532 WHO{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE

ADD 4533 KDSM{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE

I interpretted this to mean that my Des Moines HD locals, which were inexplicably put on 61.5 sat to begin with, were being moved to 129. So far they have not shown up and I contacted tech support and they said they don't know anything about a move that if I want my HD locals via sat, I'll have to get a new dish added (which I really don't want to hassle with).

Can someone who knows how to read these things explain to me what the above means and whether I'm going to have to bite the bullet and get an additional dish or if they will ultimately show up on 129??

Any insight appreciated.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 660 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:31 PM

They are uplinked to the new ciel2 Sat @ 129. However, the UNAVAIL means that as of now they are unavailable. Some channels that are uplinked are never turned on. However with this being hd locals, i think they will be turned on within a month or so. I would wait for a few weeks to see what new info comes concerning this.

#3 OFFLINE   dano

dano

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 02, 2003

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:35 PM

Thanks much - appreciate the quick response.

I'm getting them fine OTA right now, but would like more flexibility to record multiple network shows in HD, but not so much to have another dish hanging off the side of the house. I'll be patient for now and keep checking the guide. I assume they'll just miraculously appear one day.

#4 OFFLINE   BobaBird

BobaBird

    EKB Editor

  • Registered
  • 4,022 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2002

Posted 26 February 2009 - 09:57 PM

Nothing in the 4500-4700 range has been made available, but a few HD market have gone live in the 5000 range even though the other channel numbers had already been set up. I don't know what the plan is for these or for the lower 4000 nationals which, despite their being available, I have not seen reports of anyone viewing them.
Charles @dishuser - a dynamic employee of Massive Veridian
Visit the EchoStar Knowledge Base
"The other guys charge $9.95/month to use tapeless record" - Dish Network Tech Forum, 8-6-01
"dual" is NOT the same as "Twin" - here's why

#5 OFFLINE   dano

dano

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 02, 2003

Posted 16 May 2009 - 01:17 PM

I posted the original message on this thread 3 months ago with hopes that my Des Moines HD locals would show up on 129 and I wouldn't have to go to a second dish. So far, they have not shown up. Anyone have any insight into what might be going on or should I just bite the bullet and get the second dish?

Now that we're heading into the summer months, my heavy network recording is starting to tail off, so maybe I can continue to hold out. Would still be nice to have them though.

#6 OFFLINE   Lt Disher

Lt Disher

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Mar 04, 2009

Posted 16 May 2009 - 01:53 PM

I will be moving to Iowa soon and have the same question as dano. DISH has been very busy turning on more locals in the past few months. I suspect the Des Moines DMA on 129 is a lower priority since they are already available on 61.5. I am hoping that they will have more time to get them up on 129 this summer. I don't think anyone really knows except DISH.

As to the 4500-4700 range, what I have noticed is that range seems to be a holding area. When they actually turn the channels on, they move them to the 5000 range or some other place.

#7 OFFLINE   dano

dano

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: May 02, 2003

Posted 20 May 2009 - 05:15 PM

This shows up on today's uplink report:

ADD 5150 WOI{AMES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 5

ADD 5151 KCCI{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 8

ADD 5152 WHO{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 13

ADD 5153 KDSM{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 17

I interpret this to mean my HD Locals are now LIVE on 129 and when I get home and turn my Sat on I'll be able to see them!! Glad I waited the extra 4 days and didn't call Dish for the second dish "solution".

#8 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 660 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 20 May 2009 - 05:32 PM

This shows up on today's uplink report:

ADD 5150 WOI{AMES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 5

ADD 5151 KCCI{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 8

ADD 5152 WHO{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 13

ADD 5153 KDSM{DES MOINES, IA} MPEG4 HD TID 4101 Tp 1 SPOT 21 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-C 17

I interpret this to mean my HD Locals are now LIVE on 129 and when I get home and turn my Sat on I'll be able to see them!! Glad I waited the extra 4 days and didn't call Dish for the second dish "solution".


yes they should be on:)

#9 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 20 May 2009 - 06:10 PM

There's some local HD feeds being moved to Western arc also.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...