Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

IE optional in Windows 7???


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,829 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 08 March 2009 - 09:50 AM

I found this link in a recent AP wire story. Apologies if it has already been discussed.

http://www.aeroxp.org/

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   cmtar

cmtar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 590 posts
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 March 2009 - 10:38 AM

Yea here is another link

http://news.cnet.com...0190909-56.html

I think its a good thing. I use IE i just uninstalled IE8 RC1 and went back to 7 i dont think 8 is ready yet and yes i know its just RC1

#3 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 10 March 2009 - 08:27 AM

Yea here is another link

http://news.cnet.com...0190909-56.html

I think its a good thing. I use IE i just uninstalled IE8 RC1 and went back to 7 i dont think 8 is ready yet and yes i know its just RC1


I had IE8 like 3 months ago and it would always stop responding on me. So I just uninstalled it and started using IE7 again.

#4 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 10 March 2009 - 08:28 AM

I found this link in a recent AP wire story. Apologies if it has already been discussed.

http://www.aeroxp.org/


I would turn off IE and use chrome but at some moments I like IE

#5 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    High tech and loving it.

  • Super Moderators
  • 20,245 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 10 March 2009 - 08:32 AM

IE8? What's that? Firefox works great on Win6.1/7 :)
Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)

#6 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 10 March 2009 - 08:53 AM

IE8? What's that? Firefox works great on Win6.1/7 :)


Internet Explorer 8...heres a link to the download.

http://www.microsoft...8c-561b7c8c25db

Never used Firefox...Is that good? Is it like opera? I have used opera but its toooooo slow.

#7 OFFLINE   CoriBright

CoriBright

    Legend/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 749 posts
Joined: May 30, 2002

Posted 10 March 2009 - 09:21 AM

It is going to be optional, but if you have a single PC, you're going to need to install IE to be able to get to the internet and get Firefox, Safari, Chrome or whatever else is your dream browser!

If you have more than one PC, I guess you can download your choice on another PC and then use Windows Explorer to go fetch it from the newly installed O/S.
Cari
www.coribright.com
www.juganet.com
www.jaredletochat.com
www.doausa.com

#8 OFFLINE   Tom Robertson

Tom Robertson

    High tech and loving it.

  • Super Moderators
  • 20,245 posts
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 10 March 2009 - 10:27 AM

Internet Explorer 8...heres a link to the download.

http://www.microsoft...8c-561b7c8c25db

Never used Firefox...Is that good? Is it like opera? I have used opera but its toooooo slow.


Just kidding :D

I do like FF a lot, I find it generally faster than IE, and somewhat smoother.

Of course, there are those sites that absolutely need IE--and sometimes a particular version of IE at that.

Cheers,
Tom
Go Packers!

My real treasures: 5 Grandchildren - S, D, M, M, C ; Now 5! Great-Grandtibbers - B, H, J, A, and M (Born 7/31/2011)

#9 OFFLINE   turey22

turey22

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,177 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 10 March 2009 - 10:31 AM

Just kidding :D

I do like FF a lot, I find it generally faster than IE, and somewhat smoother.

Of course, there are those sites that absolutely need IE--and sometimes a particular version of IE at that.

Cheers,
Tom


You got me...I was thinking to myself "Is he for real???" but I went along with it. LOL.

I have to use IE7 because of my school site. It was only made for IE7 and it used activeX. I want a mac but then I wont have access to my school site.

Dumb question but how much is FF?




spam firewall