Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Mega March Madness - Will my CBS Dispute mean a Blackout for Me?


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   spedinfargo

spedinfargo

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 16 March 2009 - 12:58 PM

We recently lost our local CBS station on DirecTV (Fargo, ND - see this thread: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=149396). This is our SD channel (we don't have HD locals yet).

This is obviously a problem if I want to watch the NCAA tourney this week (I'm having a hard time getting OTA with my antenna).

Not that I'm too keen on forking out the 70 bucks, but I'm wondering if I would even be "allowed" to get the Mega March Madness through DirecTV or not. I can't imagine that the local CBS station would be too excited to go around their dispute and be able to actually see the games...

Anyone have any thoughts?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jake14mw

jake14mw

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2007

Posted 16 March 2009 - 01:12 PM

I don't think your local channel issue will have any affect on the availability of the MMM package for you. The problem you will have though is that any games being shown on your local CBS station will still be blacked out on MMM. So you will probably be out of luck seeing whatever team that was from Fargo that made the tourney. And MMM is only for the first weekend of the tourney.

#3 OFFLINE   Rakim

Rakim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 16 March 2009 - 01:17 PM

I agree with Jake, you probaly won't get any of the games that your local CBS is carrying, so you would only be able to see 3 games for each timeslot.

But, MMM does extend to the Sweet 16 next Thursday and Friday. Anytime there is more than one game going on, you will get game(s) through the package.

#4 OFFLINE   jake14mw

jake14mw

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2007

Posted 16 March 2009 - 01:24 PM

You're right, it says on the website that it is for the first 3 rounds. Is the game mix channel in HD?

#5 OFFLINE   frank_gore

frank_gore

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 33 posts
Joined: Mar 17, 2009

Posted 17 March 2009 - 11:46 AM

^^^ As of right now I'm going to say no. 701 is where the Game Mix is at and there's no HD channel. DirecTV on their website and ch. 700 give no indication that their Game Mix channel is in HD. It's very disappointing, considering in their Ad that it looked like the Game Mix channel was HD.

#6 OFFLINE   spedinfargo

spedinfargo

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 38 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2005

Posted 17 March 2009 - 03:25 PM

That makes sense - I can imagine that the local station wouldn't want people not watching their station for the games that they're showing.

I have other means for watching the NDSU game on Friday, but it would be nice to be able to watch the rest of the tournament... Believe it or not the snow is actually melting enough here to get up on the roof - I may play around with antennas later this week to try and get OTA...

Thanks for the replies...

#7 OFFLINE   Rakim

Rakim

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 17 March 2009 - 03:38 PM

I think I read that the Game Mix channel is not in HD, but if you have HD, then if you select a game to watch from the mix, it takes you to the HD channel. While not ideal, that definitely helps.

#8 OFFLINE   jake14mw

jake14mw

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 89 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2007

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:50 PM

Wow, that's dissapointing. I was thinking that at certain times it would be nice to put it on the game mix, but on a big projector screen, SD just won't cut it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...