Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

MMM renewal price


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mikewsu

mikewsu

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 70 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2007

Posted 16 March 2009 - 09:11 PM

I was charged $69 when I was auto-renewed. However this DirecTV page seems to indicate I should of received some "lower" auto-renewal price: http://www.directv.c...assetId=1100042

Automatic Renewal saves you time and money!


Also, if you cancel your subscription before the season starts, you'll be ineligible for the special low price.


What money am I saving? haha

Can anyone offer any insight? Incorrect advertising from DirecTV?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   totoros

totoros

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: May 13, 2008

Posted 16 March 2009 - 10:13 PM

time = money

so you saved time by autorenewing, thereby saving money indirectly :confused:

#3 OFFLINE   rbjonesjr

rbjonesjr

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 11, 2008

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:39 AM

Both DirecTV.com and the 800 number explicitly state that a land line is required for all sports packages.

I just talked to Customer Service, who "checked with" someone else, and they say it is not a requirement.

Does anyone know from experience?

Thanks,
RBJ

#4 OFFLINE   miketorse

miketorse

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 647 posts
Joined: Jul 29, 2008

Posted 17 March 2009 - 08:41 AM

Both DirecTV.com and the 800 number explicitly state that a land line is required for all sports packages.

I just talked to Customer Service, who "checked with" someone else, and they say it is not a requirement.

Does anyone know from experience?

Thanks,
RBJ


No landline required. I have NFLST and MLBEI with no landline. Trust me, no landline is required.
Mike

My system:

HR21
HR22 w/ AM21
R15
SWM-8
Slimline5 w/ no LOS to 119 Slimline3


#5 OFFLINE   bscott

bscott

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 115 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2004

Posted 17 March 2009 - 09:27 AM

They used to tell people that a landline was required for all sports as that was how they determined your area in regards to blackouts. Now a days I think that's totally bogus as so many people have DVR's and more and more of those are connected to the internet and not phone lines. I've only had one issue where I had a sports package turned off because of no phone line and that was back in 98 or 99 (I've had D* since 96) when they gave me the black out excuse. But when I explained that there was no way to hook up a line where that receiver was they simply turned it back on.

I don't see how a phone line helps any more with blackouts. We use VoIP at home ourselves and with that you could in theory have any phone number you want from any state so using a phone line and determining your location by your phone number would be useless so that may be one of the reasons they tell you it is no longer a requirement.

#6 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 17 March 2009 - 10:06 AM

They used to tell people that a landline was required for all sports as that was how they determined your area in regards to blackouts. Now a days I think that's totally bogus as so many people have DVR's and more and more of those are connected to the internet and not phone lines. I've only had one issue where I had a sports package turned off because of no phone line and that was back in 98 or 99 (I've had D* since 96) when they gave me the black out excuse. But when I explained that there was no way to hook up a line where that receiver was they simply turned it back on.

I don't see how a phone line helps any more with blackouts. We use VoIP at home ourselves and with that you could in theory have any phone number you want from any state so using a phone line and determining your location by your phone number would be useless so that may be one of the reasons they tell you it is no longer a requirement.


I thought it was more to make sure all the receivers were at teh sam address/phone number...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...