Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Noisy VIP622 - Add DHPP?


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   fatpug

fatpug

    AllStar

  • Users Awaiting Email Confirmatio
  • 77 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2007

Posted 25 March 2009 - 03:16 AM

My VIP622 is very noisy with a constant hum sound. I do not have the DISH HOME PROTECTION PLAN. Is it correct that I can add DHPP today and call in for service the next day? If there any fee or penalty if I drop DHPP soon after my receiver is replaced?


Will my recording on the external hard drive work with the replacement receiver?
Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Ron Barry

Ron Barry

    622 Tips & Trick Keeper

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 9,879 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2002

Posted 25 March 2009 - 08:36 AM

Yes your recordings will work on a replacement receiver.. As for DHPP, not sure so I will let someone else with experience in this area answer.
<strong class='bbc'>New Member of the 9K club & 922/612 User<br /></strong><span style='font-size: 8px;'>"A release is not a release until it is released." - Me. <br />"To the true believer, no proof is necessary. To the non believer, no proof is sufficient." - Peter James (Derived from a Stewert Chase Quote)</span>

#3 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,467 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 25 March 2009 - 05:11 PM

I have read posts where the sub called in, added DHPP and on the same phone call reported a problem and had no questions asked.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#4 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 25 March 2009 - 10:30 PM

I have read posts where the sub called in, added DHPP and on the same phone call reported a problem and had no questions asked.


I don't see why Dish allows that. I know they do but from a financial perspective, it makes no sense; at least to me.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#5 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,467 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 26 March 2009 - 01:12 PM

It makes no sense, but posters have reported that Dish CSR's have even suggested adding DHPP when they call with a hardware failure, then handle the repair work order after DHCP has been added.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#6 OFFLINE   ZBoomer

ZBoomer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 529 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2008

Posted 26 March 2009 - 01:33 PM

Probably because most people (probably like me) would forget about it, leave it on, and they get $5.99 a month thereafter.
Hopper 2000, 2x Joey 1.0 Dish Receivers, "America's Everything pack" with PlatHD
Pioneer Kuro PDP-6010FD 60" Plasma Display on Hopper (me), Samsung 40" LCD on Joey #1 (wife), Dell ST2410 HD Monitor on Joey #2 (office.)
Pioneer VSX-1018AH-K AVR Receiver, PS3, Klipsch Reference-Series Speakers

#7 OFFLINE   Ozzie 33

Ozzie 33

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2009

Posted 29 March 2009 - 02:14 PM

Probably because most people (probably like me) would forget about it, leave it on, and they get $5.99 a month thereafter.

I noticed DHPP added to my account last month and was going to call and cancel DHPP. As luck would have it (my good luck, I hadn't canceled yet) I had an internal smart card failure on my 722, then a HDMI outlet went bad on my 622. When the tech came to replace my 722 the HDMI outlet did not work on the 722 he installed and had to get another 722 off the truck. All this took place within two weeks! I haven't had ANY problems in over two years. I think I will keep the DHPP for a while longer. Ya think. Now Dish thinks I'm a problem customer.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...