Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

newbie question about coaxial


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Jill73

Jill73

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 26 March 2009 - 07:55 AM

I always thought coaxial was one of the lower grade cables but the satellite connects to my ViP 622 receiver via coaxial. So is there "high def" coaxial?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ChuckA

ChuckA

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,010 posts
Joined: Feb 07, 2006

Posted 26 March 2009 - 09:05 AM

There is no HD coax. Coax is simply a shielded wire that can carry many different types of signals. The signal carried on the wire determines the quality. There are several types of coax however. The "old" (existing) RG59 can still be used successfully for some runs but RG6 is usually better for any new installations.
Receivers: ViP622 (dual mode), ViP722k (single mode), 311
Dish 1000
America's "Everything" Pack & HD
TV1: SONY 55" KDF-55WF655; HDMI & Components connections
OTA Antenna in attic
PocketDish AV700E

#3 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 26 March 2009 - 09:27 AM

The signal being sent from the satellite is not an analog video signal, but instead is digital data. Digital data passes over the coax without quality loss.

The signal from a set-top box to the TV's tuner is normally analog video modulated onto an analog TV channel, which must be tuned by the tuner in the TV. In most cases, the modulator itself is lower quality than the source, and the analog TV tuner further lowers quality. Bypassing the modulation/tuning by using the TV's line inputs definitely improves analog picture quality.

Note that with newer TVs with digital tuners, it is possible to send TV digitally. Digital OTA (ATSC format) and digital cable (QAM) are two methods for doing so. The problem is that ATSC doesn't provide for encryption, and QAM requires a set-top box for encryption. Plus, modulators for either type are extremely expensive and far more complicated than older, analog modulators.

#4 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,370 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 26 March 2009 - 09:47 AM

Most everything that you can get from any cable system travels over a single coaxial cable so it shouldn't surprise you that it is still being used.

DISH Network uses a bandwidth allocation scheme that can even incorporate over-the-air signals with all available channels on a single coaxial cable.

The key is efficient data compression.




spam firewall