Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

The Shame Thread: Just how bad can it get


  • Please log in to reply
510 replies to this topic

#61 OFFLINE   Talos4

Talos4

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Jun 21, 2007

Posted 09 April 2009 - 03:00 PM

It is a cotter pin extractor.

I'm in commercial roofing, low slope (flat) This is one of the most important tools we use when inspecting or installing a single ply roof.

It's more commonly referred to as a "Probe" or Seam Probe" It allows us to run a seam and find voids which could lead to a leak or is a leak source.

The roofing system manufacturers sell their own probes for around $15-25 ea. but for about $4.00 ea I buy 4-5 a year. They're like lighters, you always lose them and when you need one....

I also use it to illustrate in this case a hole in the membrane for inspection reports. Photos tell a story and an owner see's the defect much better.

Now before someone say's it, yes it is easy to put the hole in yourself and claim that's the problem. In the language of the Biz...

We don't kick the flashings, That's for jacklegs, We fix the flashings.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#62 OFFLINE   netraa

netraa

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 483 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2007

Posted 09 April 2009 - 03:49 PM

0409091116.jpg

yup, decided attaching to the vinyl siding wasn't such a good idea after he'd done it, and decided that flimsy fence was much better.

#63 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 09 April 2009 - 03:54 PM

[ATTACH]18055[/ATTACH]

yup, decided attaching to the vinyl siding wasn't such a good idea after he'd done it, and decided that flimsy fence was much better.


That's a nice damage claim if I've ever seen one.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#64 OFFLINE   racermd

racermd

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 13 April 2009 - 11:29 PM

[ATTACH]18055[/ATTACH]

yup, decided attaching to the vinyl siding wasn't such a good idea after he'd done it, and decided that flimsy fence was much better.


Where'd you get a picture of my fence? :lol:

In all seriousness, that looks very much like the fence I used to have that blew over in 35 mph winds a couple of years ago. Same dog-eared tops, about 6-foot tall. Never did replace it.

Why someone would put the dish mounting on the fence is beyond me. I'm not an installer by trade, but I like to take pride in my own work - I would have pole-mounted that sucker.

#65 OFFLINE   Birdman79

Birdman79

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 30 April 2009 - 01:06 PM

This is an international dish ,one of the techs put up 4 months ago.The mast is upside down,used ka/ku monopoles ,and no seal what so ever.And oh yeah,shall i say his pic's in our office for "top performer of the week":grin:
http://i487.photobuc...pg?t=1241118294
http://i487.photobuc...pg?t=1241118324
http://i487.photobuc...pg?t=1241118342

#66 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 30 April 2009 - 01:09 PM

This is an international dish ,one of the techs put up 4 months ago.The mast is upside down,used ka/ku monopoles ,and no seal what so ever.And oh yeah,shall i say his pic's in our office for "top performer of the week":grin:
http://i487.photobuc...pg?t=1241118294
http://i487.photobuc...pg?t=1241118324
http://i487.photobuc...pg?t=1241118342


Ouch.

That mast is reversable by the way. Really no top/bottom.
He should have had some of the smaller 1.75" collars for the ka/ku monopoles.
Definately should have some bishops tape for each lag penetration.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#67 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 30 April 2009 - 01:33 PM

used ka/ku monopoles


I guess he doesn't know or ran out of the special brace collars for the intl mast. Now that they don't get shipped with the monopoles anymore.
Should have used self tapping screws. Or the included monopoles.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#68 OFFLINE   Birdman79

Birdman79

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Apr 07, 2007

Posted 30 April 2009 - 01:52 PM

We don't get the 1.75 anymore since they came up with those new monopoles.He could've flipped the mast the other way and taken out the colars of the monopoles ,and used the existing hole,bolt that came with the kit.

#69 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 30 April 2009 - 01:54 PM

We don't get the 1.75 anymore since they came up with those new monopoles.He could've flipped the mast the other way and taken out the colars of the monopoles ,and used the existing hole,bolt that came with the kit.


Guess it's just lack of training. But I'm sure there are many markets where international dishes are barely ever installed.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#70 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 02 May 2009 - 03:06 PM

Samuel A Jackson: SWITCH ON A ROOF

Attached Thumbnails

  • Image034.jpg

No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#71 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 02 May 2009 - 03:20 PM

Samuel A Jackson: SWITCH ON A ROOF


:lol::lol:
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#72 OFFLINE   DaaQ

DaaQ

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2008

Posted 03 May 2009 - 12:22 AM

Here is one I came across recently. I sent it to my boss asking if I could use the existing mount.

Attached Thumbnails

  • 001.jpg


#73 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 03 May 2009 - 06:51 AM

Here is one I came across recently. I sent it to my boss asking if I could use the existing mount.


:eek2::eek2::eek2: WTH was that guy thinking!!!! from the small thumbnail I thought it was a telephone pole ( which I have seen used ) but this is INSANE
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#74 OFFLINE   dave29

dave29

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,825 posts
Joined: Feb 18, 2007

Posted 03 May 2009 - 06:55 AM

:eek2::eek2::eek2: WTH was that guy thinking!!!! from the small thumbnail I thought it was a telephone pole ( which I have seen used ) but this is INSANE


That guy is lucky he wasn't hurt or even killed:eek2:
HR34-700, HR24-500, HR22-100, HR20-100, R22-100, R16

My Setup

Diagram of my Directv setup by Milkman

#75 OFFLINE   ARKDTVfan

ARKDTVfan

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 586 posts
Joined: May 19, 2003

Posted 03 May 2009 - 07:12 AM

Here is one I came across recently. I sent it to my boss asking if I could use the existing mount.


:lol::nono2::rolleyes:

notice how most of the pics are of Dish Network installs

makes ya wonder doesn't it?
:P;):lol::lol::lol::lol:

#76 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,821 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 03 May 2009 - 08:24 AM

That guy is lucky he wasn't hurt or even killed:eek2:


Yes, but the rest of us would have benefited if he was. :lol:

#77 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 03 May 2009 - 08:25 AM

Samuel A Jackson: SWITCH ON A ROOF


That's awful purdy!

#78 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 03 May 2009 - 08:30 AM

:lol::nono2::rolleyes:

notice how most of the pics are of Dish Network installs

makes ya wonder doesn't it?
:P;):lol::lol::lol::lol:


Older Dish customers who own their equipment tend to be more likely to do their own installs when they move, so some of this really out-there stuff is customers doing it themselves.

Having said that, there are some, well, I'll give them the benefit of the doubt, UNTRAINED, INEXPERIENCED installers out there who will do whatever it takes to get a job in. Most likely, the customer didn't have permission to put the dish on the roof (common with rentals), so the installer improvised. He also violated NEC code and put himself and any other techs who have to deal with this at risk.

I regularly have to relocate dishes on service calls because they're too close to the power periscope. We're required to have them at least 6' away, or the entire job fails QC.

#79 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 633 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 03 May 2009 - 11:55 AM

That guy is lucky he wasn't hurt or even killed:eek2:


If he had been, he'd have been a Darwin Award winner.

SMK

#80 OFFLINE   DaaQ

DaaQ

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 119 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2008

Posted 03 May 2009 - 12:15 PM

The dish was up there when the customer moved in, I don't know why they would have put it there I had LOS from a pole mount I put in the ground almost directly underneath it. MAYBE they didn't have any ground wire that day.




spam firewall