Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Bangor Maine HD Locals


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
98 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:30 AM

all LIL's (except CW14) showing in 720 or 1080 as of this morning :)
fox 22 is showing 720.
2,5,12 and wvii 7 all 1080 right now.

EDIT: looked at CW14 wrong, still 480 this morning, sorry about that.

Edited by David MacLeod, 15 April 2009 - 06:14 PM.

Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,160 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:42 AM

all LIL's showing in 720 or 1080 as of this morning :)
fox 22 is showing 720, cw14 720 also.
2,5,7 all 1080 right now.


Let a Mod know via PM so they can confirm/put on the News page. :)

Congrats, bby the way. We're still waiting on CW, MyNetwork and PBS here in Nashville.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#3 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:50 AM

was just checking and PBS is 1080, no MyNetwork here but hey...its all good :)
mods were notified already.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#4 OFFLINE   sundude90

sundude90

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 226 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:52 AM

I checked this morning at 6:10 and I noticed that I only could see the HD and not the SD channels anymore. I also didn't see anything about HD in the Guide.

#5 OFFLINE   JoweezNutz

JoweezNutz

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:54 AM

[quote name='LameLefty']Let a Mod know via PM so they can confirm/put on the News page. :)

Why notify? The Shadow knows....

Congrats to those in Bangor...

#6 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 05:54 AM

noticed guide description did not change either, going to reboot one unit to see if that matters.
12 has big old MPBN HD sign on it right now :)
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#7 OFFLINE   spaceghostinME

spaceghostinME

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Aug 20, 2006

Posted 15 April 2009 - 06:27 AM

Woohoo! :D

#8 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 06:34 AM

edited original post, CW is still sd. had 2 units side-side and looked at wrong one when checking CW :(
did reverify all others, fox is 720, nbc/cbs/abc/pbs all 1080.
been comparing wabi ota vs lil-hd and its looking good, can't see any differences in quality.

rebooting units did not affect guide, nothing there (including program descriptions) designates HD. since this was just turned on this might be forthcoming still.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#9 OFFLINE   sundude90

sundude90

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 226 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 07:38 AM

This is odd. I have show SD Duplicates ON and I don't see my SD Local versions at all, just the HD locals. Anybody else see this?

#10 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 07:52 AM

haven't checked, but why would they broadcast sd and hd locals?
wouldn't that, except for cw, require 2 feeds?
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#11 OFFLINE   sundude90

sundude90

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 226 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 08:18 AM

haven't checked, but why would they broadcast sd and hd locals?
wouldn't that, except for cw, require 2 feeds?


When I talked to Directv they made is sound like there was going to be a HD Version and a SD version. They told me I couldn't get the HD because I don't have the HD Package, but I have all HD Receivers & Sat except for my R22.

Right now it looks like there is not such thing as SD except for the CW.

Could you please look and see if you are seeing the same thing please.

Are these HD locals still on the same Satellite?

#12 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 08:53 AM

When I talked to Directv they made is sound like there was going to be a HD Version and a SD version. They told me I couldn't get the HD because I don't have the HD Package, but I have all HD Receivers & Sat except for my R22.

Right now it looks like there is not such thing as SD except for the CW.

Could you please look and see if you are seeing the same thing please.

Are these HD locals still on the same Satellite?


I can verify that the guide only shows 1 choice, is no sd/hd version.
I don't know what sat they are on, honestly cannot remember, so I can't answer the last part. sorry.

does the r22 gain them?
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#13 OFFLINE   sundude90

sundude90

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 226 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:06 AM

I can verify that the guide only shows 1 choice, is no sd/hd version.
I don't know what sat they are on, honestly cannot remember, so I can't answer the last part. sorry.

does the r22 gain them?


So it looks like the channels are actually in HD now, but the the guide basically says it's SD. That's kinda weird I think.

I will call George at WVII 7 and see why FOX is only 720. I will also ask him if he knows if SD is gone now or what.

I sure wish I knew more info about what is going on.

Thanks David!

Josh

Edited by sundude90, 15 April 2009 - 09:16 AM.


#14 OFFLINE   Wisegoat

Wisegoat

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 803 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:18 AM

So it looks like the channels are actually in HD now, but the the guide basically says it's SD. That's kinda weird I think.

I will call George at WVII 7 and see why FOX is only 720. I will also ask him if he knows if SD is gone now or what.

I sure wish I knew more info about what is going on.

Thanks David!

Josh


Fox and any of their properties (FX, FSN, FoxNews, FBN) are always 720p. That is the HD format they have chosen.

#15 OFFLINE   Bobwhite

Bobwhite

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 80 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:36 AM

Finally! Now I can watch the Celtics on ABC!

#16 OFFLINE   David MacLeod

David MacLeod

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5,689 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:38 AM

Fox and any of their properties (FX, FSN, FoxNews, FBN) are always 720p. That is the HD format they have chosen.


I had forgotten about that, thanks.
Dave MacLeod
S.I.H.

#17 OFFLINE   sundude90

sundude90

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 226 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:51 AM

The CW 14 will not be in HD for awhile because they don't have the ability to broadcast that channel in HD Over the Air. Directv picks up all channels except for ABC 7 & FOX 22 via OTA. ABC 7 & FOX 22 are not OTA because Directv's equipment is a ABC 7's studios in Bangor.

#18 OFFLINE   sundude90

sundude90

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 226 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2008

Posted 15 April 2009 - 09:53 AM

I have not been able to find out why the guide is saying that those channels are not HD. I am also trying to find out if SD is totally gone for this market now or what the story is with that.

If anybody finds this out before me, please let me know.

Thanks,
Josh

Edited by sundude90, 15 April 2009 - 10:05 AM.


#19 OFFLINE   flyingtigerfan

flyingtigerfan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 277 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2005

Posted 15 April 2009 - 10:12 AM

Excellent. Congratulations, Maine types! Every time a new city gets locals I get happy, because it means at least they are continuing the rollout of new HD locals (and not just adding channels in existing local markets).

So we have hope yet.

#20 OFFLINE   elguapo79

elguapo79

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 15 April 2009 - 02:42 PM

Working here! Curious about why there is no separate feed for the SDs and if there will be. Shows that should be in HD don't have the HD logo on the guide yet. Hrrmmmm.

Any idea how long I'll have to keep the national networks now? I'm assuming that having the locals in HD now means that I will soon lose the NY and LA networks.

Edited by elguapo79, 15 April 2009 - 03:55 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...