Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD local launches


  • Please log in to reply
25 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Chris Blount

Chris Blount

    Creator of DBSTalk

  • Administrators
  • 17,176 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2001

Posted 21 April 2009 - 04:22 PM

HD local launches expected today or tomorrow

Joplin-Pittsburg -KOAM
Grand Junction - KKCO, KJCT, KREX, KFQX
Johnstown-Altoona - WATM, WTAJ, WJAC, WWCP

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   kpaustin

kpaustin

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2007

Posted 21 April 2009 - 05:04 PM

Anyone know when might we see Austin HD locals light up on the new 129? I ask because back in October(!) I called Dish for a wing dish setup for the current Austin HD locals, and they said wait until around the end of the year/beginning of next year (Jan 2009). Still patiently waiting. I've got OTA so not a huge hurry, just would like the additional recording capability.

#3 OFFLINE   springdale_sam

springdale_sam

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2006

Posted 21 April 2009 - 05:38 PM

i thought that ft.smith fayetteville locals were going live.

#4 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 651 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 22 April 2009 - 08:37 AM

i thought that ft.smith fayetteville locals were going live.


They are scheduled to. Not sure why the op didnt list them, unless he knows something the rest of us dont ?
This is From the April 9th Dish retailers chat

"On April 22nd the following areas will have HD locals:
Columbus-Tupelo, MS
Ft. Smith, AR
Grand Junction, CO
Johnstown-Altoona, PA"

#5 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 22 April 2009 - 10:52 AM

They are scheduled to. Not sure why the op didnt list them, unless he knows something the rest of us dont?


Not just any OP, but THE OP.

Also, no word why not FT Smith...
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#6 OFFLINE   gary2381

gary2381

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2006

Posted 22 April 2009 - 10:59 AM

Has there been any word on the Tyler, Texas HD locals?

#7 OFFLINE   jckelsey

jckelsey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 22 April 2009 - 02:49 PM

Checking now for the Johnstown/Altoona HD locals....not seeing them though. Do I have to perform any magic tricks for them to show up?

#8 OFFLINE   razorbackfan

razorbackfan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 338 posts
  • LocationRidgway, Colorado
Joined: Aug 17, 2002

Posted 22 April 2009 - 05:27 PM

On 077-00 HI DEF it says locals in my area Ft.Smith-Fayetteville, AR are now available in HD, but I don't see them. When I press select while on that channel a window pops up that says this isn't available for your area.

I sent a Twitter to Dish and they said they would check into it. I've had better luck using Twitter with Dish than calling a CSR.

#9 OFFLINE   dennispap

dennispap

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 651 posts
Joined: Feb 01, 2007

Posted 22 April 2009 - 05:51 PM

Checking now for the Johnstown/Altoona HD locals....not seeing them though. Do I have to perform any magic tricks for them to show up?

They are on 129 sat. Do you get 129? If so, they should be in your guide.They werent turned on until about 6pm est

CHNG 5260 WATM{ALTOONA, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE MAP-C 23
TO 5260 WATM{ALTOONA, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-D 23

CHNG 5261 WTAJ{ALTOONA, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE MAP-C 10
TO 5261 WTAJ{ALTOONA, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-D 10

CHNG 5262 WJAC{JOHNSTOWN, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE MAP-C 6
TO 5262 WJAC{JOHNSTOWN, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-D 6

CHNG 5263 WWCP{JOHNSTOWN, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w UNAVAIL HIDE MAP-C 8
TO 5263 WWCP{JOHNSTOWN, PA} MPEG4 HD TID 4512 Tp 12 SPOT 26 Ciel 2 129w AVAIL HIDE MAP-D 8

#10 OFFLINE   jckelsey

jckelsey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 22 April 2009 - 06:07 PM

No 129 here. We have 119,110, and 61.5. Do we have to have our dish repointed to pick these up?

Thanks

#11 OFFLINE   coldsteel

coldsteel

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 28, 2007

Posted 22 April 2009 - 07:20 PM

No 129 here. We have 119,110, and 61.5. Do we have to have our dish repointed to pick these up?

Thanks


The wing looking at 61.5? Yes.
DISH 625 dvr

The opinions posted on this site are my own and do not represent DISH Network's positions, strategies or opinions. Unless I decide to be bad or call out an idiot...

#12 OFFLINE   Ohioankev

Ohioankev

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 214 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 23 April 2009 - 01:03 AM

On 077-00 HI DEF it says locals in my area Ft.Smith-Fayetteville, AR are now available in HD, but I don't see them. When I press select while on that channel a window pops up that says this isn't available for your area.

I sent a Twitter to Dish and they said they would check into it. I've had better luck using Twitter with Dish than calling a CSR.


I got the same channel it does the same thing for me (blacked out) I called Dish and I was told that LiL was not available to me.

#13 OFFLINE   razorbackfan

razorbackfan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 338 posts
  • LocationRidgway, Colorado
Joined: Aug 17, 2002

Posted 23 April 2009 - 05:17 PM

And today the 077-00 HIDEF channel in the guide is gone. On another forum an engineer from KHOG-KHBS 40/29 said now it's gonna be in May.

#14 OFFLINE   jckelsey

jckelsey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 23 April 2009 - 10:20 PM

Called Dish. They are sending a tech out to replace my dish pointing at 110. They said that dish can't pick up the HD feed. Its a free replacement and they say once they swap it out, I'll be good to go.

I dont buy it...but we'll see tomorrow!

#15 OFFLINE   awp

awp

    Cool Member/Supporter

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2004

Posted 24 April 2009 - 11:20 AM

Rochester NY is a far bigger market than most of the DMAs that Dish has been turning up HD on for now. When I emailed them, they said they had no plans.

DirectTV has HD locals in Rochester.

What is the deal?

#16 OFFLINE   tsmacro

tsmacro

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,144 posts
  • LocationEast Central Indiana
Joined: Apr 28, 2005

Posted 24 April 2009 - 01:25 PM

Rochester NY is a far bigger market than most of the DMAs that Dish has been turning up HD on for now. When I emailed them, they said they had no plans.

DirectTV has HD locals in Rochester.

What is the deal?


As far as I can tell Dish doesn't have much use for NY, upstate, downstate or otherwise. The state has never seemed to be high on their priority list as far as I can tell anyway, not only no HD in Rochester but I do believe the Binghamton, Elmira & Utica DMA's still don't have locals at all HD or SD. On top of that they don't have the YES network, sure that's part due to the Steinbrenner's greed, but it's also part Charlie's stubbornness and between the two the channel will probably never show up on Dish. So all this leads to one of the most populated states in the US not being very well served by Dish and the largest DMA lacking a channel that's do or die for a lot of customers.


"The major difference between a thing that might go wrong and a thing that cannot possibly go wrong is that when a thing that cannot possibly go wrong goes wrong it usually turns out to be impossible to get at or repair." - Douglas Adams

"Who would rule a nation when he could have easier work, such as carrying water uphill in a sieve?" - Robert Jordan


#17 OFFLINE   jckelsey

jckelsey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 24 April 2009 - 07:48 PM

Well they showed up today to repoint me to 129, of course.....can't see it from house. The tech suggested I ask for the 1000.2 dish? Supposedly my 2 dishes can be replaced by this new fan-dangled dish and I should be able to get everything that way. I waited all this time for HD locals only to find out I can't see the sat they are on....and from what I'm gathering a lot of western PA can't see 129. :( :mad:

#18 OFFLINE   BNUMM

BNUMM

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,078 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2006

Posted 24 April 2009 - 07:57 PM

Well they showed up today to repoint me to 129, of course.....can't see it from house. The tech suggested I ask for the 1000.2 dish? Supposedly my 2 dishes can be replaced by this new fan-dangled dish and I should be able to get everything that way. I waited all this time for HD locals only to find out I can't see the sat they are on....and from what I'm gathering a lot of western PA can't see 129. :( :mad:


If you can't see the 129 satellite the 1000.2 dish will not help.

#19 OFFLINE   jckelsey

jckelsey

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 18, 2007

Posted 24 April 2009 - 09:11 PM

I can see it though a tree line...so once the leaves are on the trees, I'll have problems I assume. Time to check out DirectTV and see if I have any better luck.

well now i'm even more confused. According to dishpointer.com, 129 is roughly out in the same direction as 119 (if its correct). The tech told me it was in a completely different direction.

Edited by jckelsey, 24 April 2009 - 09:38 PM.


#20 OFFLINE   david_jr

david_jr

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
Joined: Dec 10, 2006

Posted 24 April 2009 - 10:07 PM

I can see it though a tree line...so once the leaves are on the trees, I'll have problems I assume. Time to check out DirectTV and see if I have any better luck.

well now i'm even more confused. According to dishpointer.com, 129 is roughly out in the same direction as 119 (if its correct). The tech told me it was in a completely different direction.


Are you sure he wasn't looking at 61.5? That is to the south, while 119 is to the west.




spam firewall