Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Programming Confusion


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   bamanick

bamanick

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 13 May 2009 - 02:55 PM

Hi everyone; I'm a new Dish subscriber and my head is spinning as to what the "actual" programming choices are. For instance: If I subscribe to one of the Classic packages do you only get standard definitions of those channels or if there are high def versions do you get both? Or do you have to subscribe to the Turbo packages to get "any" hd programming? Tried doing a search here to find this info and didn't see it (if I missed it please forgive me for starting a new thread); also tried to find it on the dish site and whew was that a ride. :grin:

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,554 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 13 May 2009 - 03:14 PM

It's totally confusing. Classic packages are SD unless you add HD for $10/mo more. I have a chart here trying to give a picture of what's what for myself as I'm waiting for the day I can shift to TurboHD which apparently will be never because Dish is not adding the new HD channels to Turbo packages. The chart was developed using the TurboHD channel lists and the Classic channel lists on the Dish website as well as cross-checking with the EKB site.

I have updated it since the last HD additions and correcting errors folks pointed out before. It's probably not perfect, but it should help.

#3 OFFLINE   satjay

satjay

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 87 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2006

Posted 13 May 2009 - 05:03 PM

http://www.dishnetwo...ng/default.aspx

This may help as well, this link is kind of hidden on the Dish site, but if you snoop around you can stuble across this....Hope this helps

#4 OFFLINE   bamanick

bamanick

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 11 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2007

Posted 14 May 2009 - 12:10 PM

Thanks folks I surely do appreciate your assistance. :):)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...