Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Odessa-Midland, TX - KPEJ now HD LIL


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   micster5

micster5

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2008

Posted 20 May 2009 - 06:19 PM

One station in Odessa-Midland is HD now, KPEJ (Fox) but for some reason the other additions, that were promised (CBS and NBC) have not been made to even SD yet and KPEJ is the only HD local on as of today. At least Fox now isn't stretched and cruddy looking.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   micster5

micster5

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2008

Posted 20 May 2009 - 06:23 PM

Just realized KPBT is HD as well. PBS channel 36.

#3 OFFLINE   gpctexas

gpctexas

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 20 May 2009 - 09:15 PM

Now if they will hurry up with KOSA and KWES :(:)

and Hello fellow city neighbor
Vizio L32 32" - HR20-700 1080i
Ilo 32"-HR20-700 1080i

Slimline Dish w/Zinwell WB68 Multiswitch

#4 OFFLINE   micster5

micster5

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2008

Posted 21 May 2009 - 07:16 AM

Now if they will hurry up with KOSA and KWES :(:)

and Hello fellow city neighbor


I agree with KOSA and KWES. I don't even get KWES at the casa. By the way, I am in Odessa now so we are just neighbors now ;) Sadly I was told on Tuesday that KOSA and KWES were to be added with the HD upgrade and when I got home last night I found that to not be true.

#5 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 21 May 2009 - 12:31 PM

DirecTV press release on the Odessa-Midlands market additions:
http://dtv.client.sh...eleaseID=385429

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#6 OFFLINE   Mightyram

Mightyram

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 91 posts
Joined: Jan 08, 2007

Posted 22 May 2009 - 03:22 PM

KOSA (CBS) and KWES (NBC) have been active in SD but as of today they are no longer active...

In order to tune to those channels follow these steps:

1. Click the ACTIVE button on the remote
2. Look at the most popular shows on TV
3. When there is a show on CBS or NBC click on that.
4. You will then be tuned to the local channel even though it isn't listed in the guide.
5. Now use the Quicktune feature to mark the channel for easy recall.

Again there is no video showing now but all last week there was...

#7 OFFLINE   micster5

micster5

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2008

Posted 27 May 2009 - 07:25 PM

KOSA (CBS) and KWES (NBC) have been active in SD but as of today they are no longer active...

In order to tune to those channels follow these steps:

1. Click the ACTIVE button on the remote
2. Look at the most popular shows on TV
3. When there is a show on CBS or NBC click on that.
4. You will then be tuned to the local channel even though it isn't listed in the guide.
5. Now use the Quicktune feature to mark the channel for easy recall.

Again there is no video showing now but all last week there was...


Hadn't tried that before, but tonight I did and on my H21-200 it goes black then back to the channel I was on before...

On my HR21-700 it goes to a black screen with *KOSA - 7 for CBS and goes to NBCWHD for NBC then says I did not purchase it.

Interestingly, the receive site for D* is supposedly in KOSA's studios so it seems funny to me that they don't have a contract to air KOSA.

#8 OFFLINE   micster5

micster5

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2008

Posted 27 May 2009 - 07:27 PM

Incidentally I get KOSA beautifully over the air on one of my TVs, just can't DVR off of it. KWES gets a 0 reading at my house.




spam firewall