Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

why is hd first to go?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   satguy22

satguy22

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 120 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 25 May 2009 - 12:50 PM

Anyone know why is hd channels the first to go during a rain strom? I can switch to a dt channel and it is working just fine. The dish is set in the mid 90's.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   PCampbell

PCampbell

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 1,250 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2006

Posted 25 May 2009 - 12:58 PM

SD is 12GHZ and HD is 18GHZ. The higher the frequency the more rain can block it.

DirecTV since 1996

Slimline 5
HR24-100
HR24-500
HR24-500

H24-700
ATT uverse internet


#3 OFFLINE   tnsprin

tnsprin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,129 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2003

Posted 25 May 2009 - 04:19 PM

SD is 12GHZ and HD is 18GHZ. The higher the frequency the more rain can block it.


???? not sure what you are referring to. Similar frequencies are used by DIsh for both SD and HD transponders. The difference being how many channels they squeeze into each transponders.

Actually I do not see what the Original posters is referring to. But it must be remembered that most HD comes from different satellites than most of the sd. 61.5 for many customers including all eastern ARC. 129 for the other customers.

Because I use 61.5 and 110/119 sometime my HD's stay and the SD are lost, and vice versa.
Ex Dish subscriber
Fios TV subscriber on 3/8/10

#4 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,785 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 25 May 2009 - 04:21 PM

He's a D* user, where HD is on Ka band, and looks like he didn't notice the post in in the Dish forums.

See post My Setup for configuration info.





spam firewall