Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Need a remote code for a Yamaha A/V receiver

swm

  • Please log in to reply
19 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 02 June 2009 - 11:33 PM

2 of the codes listed for Yamaha will turn the receiver off...none of the ones listed will turn it on. The Yamaha remote has one button for off and another button for on. I tried some codes for other brands, but nothing worked. Any remote codes to get the RC64R to control the A/V receiver?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 03 June 2009 - 05:42 AM

Nope..any device that has discrete on and off codes/buttons cannot be completely controlled since the D* remotes do not have on and off buttons to use.

#3 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 03 June 2009 - 05:48 AM

OK...thanks for the reply. I'll either do a universal or stay with two remotes.

#4 OFFLINE   Dolfid

Dolfid

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2007

Posted 03 June 2009 - 01:51 PM

Have you tried this resource?
http://www.ezremote....ctSelection.php

#5 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,288 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 03 June 2009 - 04:55 PM

Some devices have both a code for power toggle, and a pair of separate on/off codes. The Directv remotes expect a power toggle.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#6 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 03 June 2009 - 07:48 PM

Have you tried this resource?
http://www.ezremote.....tSelection.php

No but I will.

Some devices have both a code for power toggle, and a pair of separate on/off codes. The Directv remotes expect a power toggle.

The Directv remote has and on and off button in the top right corner. Is this not the same thing.

#7 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 03 June 2009 - 08:48 PM

Have you tried this resource?
The Directv remote has and on and off button in the top right corner. Is this not the same thing.


No, it isn't. Those are the combo buttons (turns receiver and TV on, or off, simultaneously), but they do NOTHING for AV receivers. Only the main power button, in the center under the slider, works on anything but the receiver or the TV set, and there's only one button and only one code, so you can either have an ON button or an OFF button, not both. That's due to Yamaha breaking with tradition and designing their equipment with discrete codes for On and Off.

#8 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,532 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 07 June 2009 - 11:27 PM

Forum member Edmund seems to always have the answer to every remote question, and is the preeminent guru on the internet in that regard. He usually lurks here a lot, as he normally pops up with a relevant answer to remote questions in short order. Not to speak for him, but if he does not pipe up soon here I think he would probably graciously accept a PM.

In my limited experience, Yamaha codes are some of the least-available or guarded codes out there. Virtually no off-the-shelf universal has them (and you can believe me--I've tried them all). My solution was to get a Karma remote from RatShack, which allows you to call an 800 number and request a code for virtually any piece of gear, which they can upload for free within the very same phone call to an acoustic coupler built in to the Karma. Works pretty slick, but there are other solutions to get the code you want into a different remote, such as your DVR remote. Try remote-central.com.

#9 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 08 June 2009 - 04:04 AM

Just checked the remotecentral.com forums. Edmund had answered a post about a Directv remote and Yamaha receiver 5740. I have the 5740 and will try the code he recommended. This receiver is at a different location, so I will try it later today. Thanks for the info on Edmund and remote central.

#10 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 08 June 2009 - 01:01 PM

I tried the 30176 code Edmund referred to, and all the other ones listed. None would control the volume of the receiver. Thanks for trying.

#11 OFFLINE   jaguar325

jaguar325

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2006

Posted 08 June 2009 - 03:35 PM

I am not familiar with the 5740 - how old is it? Do you know which "RX-V" model it is closest to? Chances are it's a digital receiver if it's got separate on/off (standby) buttons).

I have had good success getting the D* remote to work with Yamaha receivers (older analog versions and newer digital versions - all in the "RX-V" line) but there are limitations. You can't get "on" to work with newer/digital receivers, nor have I gotten the input selector to work. Volume and off will work. Interestingly, I did get power on/off and input selector to work on a YSP800 (which is digital but does not have a separate on/standby button).

Big K
- HR22-100 & HR20-100 to: Mitsubishi 52244 LCD and 52249 LCD shared w/ HDMI splitters
- H21-100 (2) to: Sony KDL46XBR2 LCD (HDMI), Sony KDL46W3000 LCD (HDMI)
- HR20-700 to: Mitsubishi HD 60" Rear-Projection (component)
- 3LNB Slimline with Zinwell WB616 and WB68
- Gefen 2-way HDMI 1.3 splitters on HR20-100 and HR22-100
- Yamaha RX-V2065/V800/V2090/V1070, YSP800
- Thunder provided by M&K, Def Tech subs

#12 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 08 June 2009 - 04:54 PM

It's about 4 to 5 yrs old. I believe the model is HTR-5740. 2 of the codes would power the unit off, but not control the volume. 1 of the codes would bring up the sound field option. I tried all the codes listed, then checked the volume and none changed it. I don't really care about off and on, I can push the button. It would be nice to be able to adjust volume while sitting back and watching. It's not a huge deal for me, as I have been using multiple remotes for a long time. It's when other people (wife, kids, grandkids) pick up the remote to do something.

#13 OFFLINE   jaguar325

jaguar325

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2006

Posted 08 June 2009 - 05:38 PM

You should be able to get volume control at a minimum... some of the codes listed in the paper instructions that came with my 64rb are not included in the on-screen menu - I don't remember which ones but if you haven't tried 31476 or 31376, I would start there.

Good luck!
- HR22-100 & HR20-100 to: Mitsubishi 52244 LCD and 52249 LCD shared w/ HDMI splitters
- H21-100 (2) to: Sony KDL46XBR2 LCD (HDMI), Sony KDL46W3000 LCD (HDMI)
- HR20-700 to: Mitsubishi HD 60" Rear-Projection (component)
- 3LNB Slimline with Zinwell WB616 and WB68
- Gefen 2-way HDMI 1.3 splitters on HR20-100 and HR22-100
- Yamaha RX-V2065/V800/V2090/V1070, YSP800
- Thunder provided by M&K, Def Tech subs

#14 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,755 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 08 June 2009 - 05:51 PM

The volume keys NEVER work initially with ANY audio code, reason is the volume keys won't work at all without a tv code programmed to the tv device. Once there is a tv code, its volume is now in the way, to remedy that, so with yamaha code 30176 and a tv code in:


1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
aka Tivoburkee

#15 OFFLINE   jaguar325

jaguar325

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2006

Posted 10 June 2009 - 09:00 AM

Responding to this thread made me curious about which codes work with my various Yamaha receivers so I just tested the two I use the most:

31476 works with my RX-V800 (approx. 4 year old digital receiver). It controls; power off (not on), volume, mute AND input. Just touch the number keys on the D* remote: 2 = Cable/Sat, 9 = DTV (the two I use for both HR2Xs).

31331
works with YSP800 (sound bar). It controls; power on and off, volume, mute and input selection. Number key 6 = TV, 7 = AUX. Sometimes, with this machine, I have to hit the power button twice (about 1 sec apart) to turn it off - can't explain why, just happy it works.
- HR22-100 & HR20-100 to: Mitsubishi 52244 LCD and 52249 LCD shared w/ HDMI splitters
- H21-100 (2) to: Sony KDL46XBR2 LCD (HDMI), Sony KDL46W3000 LCD (HDMI)
- HR20-700 to: Mitsubishi HD 60" Rear-Projection (component)
- 3LNB Slimline with Zinwell WB616 and WB68
- Gefen 2-way HDMI 1.3 splitters on HR20-100 and HR22-100
- Yamaha RX-V2065/V800/V2090/V1070, YSP800
- Thunder provided by M&K, Def Tech subs

#16 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 10 June 2009 - 09:10 AM

[quote name='Edmund']The volume keys NEVER work initially with ANY audio code, reason is the volume keys won't work at all without a tv code programmed to the tv device. Once there is a tv code, its volume is now in the way, to remedy that, so with yamaha code 30176 and a tv code in:


Edmund, I have the TV code programmed to my TV and it works the volume, input, and power on the TV. I am trying to programm AV1 to the receiver and the 30176 code does not work. I have a Sony and a Denon receiver programmed on other Directv receivers, so I do understand the procedure. I just can't get it to work on the Yamaha. Thanks for you input.

I have tried all the codes that are listed for Yamaha, and randomly tried codes for other brands of receivers, with no luck.

Edited by wildbc, 10 June 2009 - 09:19 AM.


#17 OFFLINE   jaguar325

jaguar325

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jan 02, 2006

Posted 10 June 2009 - 09:30 AM

[quote name='wildbc'][quote name='Edmund']The volume keys NEVER work initially with ANY audio code, reason is the volume keys won't work at all without a tv code programmed to the tv device. Once there is a tv code, its volume is now in the way, to remedy that, so with yamaha code 30176 and a tv code in:


Edmund, I have the TV code programmed to my TV and it works the volume, input, and power on the TV. I am trying to programm AV1 to the receiver and the 30176 code does not work. I have a Sony and a Denon receiver programmed on other Directv receivers, so I do understand the procedure. I just can't get it to work on the Yamaha. Thanks for you input.

I have tried all the codes that are listed for Yamaha, and randomly tried codes for other brands of receivers, with no luck.[/QUOTE]

Did you happen to see the D* menu selection on the initial Yamaha AV1 screen that says "more codes" - it looks like they've added some since the last time I did this so if you haven't tried them yet, it may be worth a shot. As mentioned in my previous post, I have always been able to get at least one code to work - not sure if the non-RX-V receiver line uses a different IR code scheme. I wouldn't think so, but who knows?
- HR22-100 & HR20-100 to: Mitsubishi 52244 LCD and 52249 LCD shared w/ HDMI splitters
- H21-100 (2) to: Sony KDL46XBR2 LCD (HDMI), Sony KDL46W3000 LCD (HDMI)
- HR20-700 to: Mitsubishi HD 60" Rear-Projection (component)
- 3LNB Slimline with Zinwell WB616 and WB68
- Gefen 2-way HDMI 1.3 splitters on HR20-100 and HR22-100
- Yamaha RX-V2065/V800/V2090/V1070, YSP800
- Thunder provided by M&K, Def Tech subs

#18 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 10 June 2009 - 09:37 AM

Yes, I tried all the "more codes" as well.

#19 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,755 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 10 June 2009 - 10:59 AM

[quote name='wildbc'][quote name='Edmund']The volume keys NEVER work initially with ANY audio code, reason is the volume keys won't work at all without a tv code programmed to the tv device. Once there is a tv code, its volume is now in the way, to remedy that, so with yamaha code 30176 and a tv code in:


Edmund, I have the TV code programmed to my TV and it works the volume, input, and power on the TV. I am trying to programm AV1 to the receiver and the 30176 code does not work. I have a Sony and a Denon receiver programmed on other Directv receivers, so I do understand the procedure. I just can't get it to work on the Yamaha. Thanks for you input.

I have tried all the codes that are listed for Yamaha, and randomly tried codes for other brands of receivers, with no luck.[/QUOTE]

Next I suggest a codesearch by volume:

With yamaha receiver on and muted, do the following:

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 1
4. enter 3
5. press and release VOL UP
6. point the remote at the stereo and keep pressiung & releasing CH UP, if and when the volume changes
7. press SELECT to lock in code

to set the volume in just that device:

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press VOL DOWN
aka Tivoburkee

#20 OFFLINE   wildbc

wildbc

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: May 15, 2006

Posted 10 June 2009 - 04:25 PM

Edmund, thanks for the info. I will give that a try. This receiver is at a different location, so I won't be able to try it until tomorrow.





Also tagged with one or more of these keywords: swm

spam firewall