Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

No Internet Near D* Box


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TivoTron

TivoTron

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 08 June 2009 - 10:42 PM

Want to get a friends' boxes hooked up to the Internet, but their boxes aren't near their modem.

What is the best option for me to recommend them?

What is the cheapest?

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,661 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 08 June 2009 - 10:59 PM

Best option, pull wire.
Easiest option, wireless adapters.
Least cost option, ??. Depends on cost of pulling wire.

#3 OFFLINE   kymikes

kymikes

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 658 posts
  • LocationKentucky
Joined: Jan 15, 2008

Posted 08 June 2009 - 11:04 PM

Best is Cat6 wired. Depending on physical restrictions (how hard to string the wire), it may also be the cheapest. The easier way is wireless but this can be more expensive and it can be throughput limited. If your friend is just using the internet from the D* box as a replacement for a phone line, throughput is not an issue. If he/she wants high data rate functions like On Demand, you may find wireless has it's limitations. D* also sells boxes that will connect via the household power distribution system but this has some limitations as well as the performance can be limited if all the power outlets utilized are not on the same circuit or, at least, on the same phase of the incoming 220 power line.

Hope this helps.

#4 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,475 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 09 June 2009 - 09:01 AM

IF you cannot pull Cat 6 wire, the easiest option would be power line adapters. They can run 85 mps only if they are located on the same electrical circuit breaker--they will only run 10 to 14 mps if you run them across circuit breakers. Advantage no Software Setup.

If the Electrical distrbution Box is located close to where the current router is - The another option is ID the Circuits Half tap (inside the electrical panel) the circuit breakers (example Living room) and Attach a outlet next to the Router. Plug your adapter into that (new outlet) and the other adapter into the Living room and there you have it on the same circuit breaker. You are now running a 85 MPS. If you can not do this your self-Any Electrician in the yellow pages can preform this task as well as run the CAT6.

Wireless requires software setup Also Security issues and wireless dead spots

Edited by WestDC, 09 June 2009 - 09:09 AM.





spam firewall