Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

My SWM8 issue - 'Errors found on Both Tuners'


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mitgrad

mitgrad

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 05, 2007

Posted 23 June 2009 - 10:09 PM

I set up my SWM8 this weekend, and everything seems to be working fine. All three of my DVRs (two HR20s and one HR22) all appear to be working fine.

However, I forgot to change over my HR-22 from SINGLE tuner mode to DUAL. When I went to do that tonight and went back through Satellite setup, I got an error I didn't see on any of my DVRs when I first set up the SWM-8...it read "Errors found on both tuners. Check your installation and re-test." There's also a table that basically indicates that the 99 and 103 satellites can't be seen.

I've attached a picture of exactly what I'm seeing to this thread.

Just making sure I had my HR22 set up correctly, I went to the two HR20 boxes I also have connected to the SWM8. I re-ran Satellite Setup on both of these and, on both, I got the exact same warning message.

The weird part of all of this is that, despite this warning, everything *seems* to be working correctly on all three of these DVRs.

So, I guess my question is: Does this warning message necessarily indicate a failure condition? My guess is that it does (otherwise they wouldn't be displaying it, and potentially causing someone to call tech support). If so, any idea what could be wrong with my setup?

So, as for my setup, I have:
- Slimline 5LNB
- SWM8
- One 1x2 splitter attached to the SWM-1 port
- One 1x2 splitter attached to the SWM-2 port

On the splitter connected to the SWM-1 port, I have two HR20 systems connected. On the splitter connected to the SWM-2 port, I have one HR22 connected, and a 75-ohm terminator on the empty port. Both splitters are 2-2150MHz splitters.

I also have all three Legacy ports attached to older, "legacy" boxes.

Anyway...any insight into this warning message (and its implications) are greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
-Sonny

Attached Thumbnails

  • swm8 error.jpg

Edited by mitgrad, 23 June 2009 - 10:15 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,647 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 23 June 2009 - 11:59 PM

What are your signal readings on each satellite?

Please post back with your signal readings for each satellite's transponders (and both tuners if applicable). You'll find these readings under "Menu" -> "Setup" -> "System Setup" -> Satellite -> "View Signal Strength".

Fill in your readings for each satellite and tuner using these examples. A properly aligned dish will show 80-90s on most of the relevant transponders (although some will be low or zero):


Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
25-32 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[A few HD channels, also beamed from 99 & 103º until 2009]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA #
9-16 NA # NA # NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA # # #
25-32 # # # # # # # #

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s)) [or 99º(b)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 # # # # # # NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©) [or 99º(a)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s)) [or 103º(a)]
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 # # # # # # NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA # #
17-24 # # # # # # # #
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º©) [or 103º(b)]
[National HD channels]
1-8 # # # # # # # #
9-16 # # # # # # NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#3 OFFLINE   mitgrad

mitgrad

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 05, 2007

Posted 24 June 2009 - 12:32 AM

Here are the signal strengths I'm seeing:

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
[Most of your standard definition channels are beamed from 101ºW]
1-8 96 93 95 0 93 97 91 98
9-16 92 94 90 100 91 98 92 98
17-24 95 0 92 100 92 98 95 97
25-32 95 96 95 87 95 98 94 99

Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
[A few HD channels, also beamed from 99 & 103º until 2009]
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA 92
9-16 NA 88 NA 92 NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
[Local SD channels for some cities, Spanish package]
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA 100 0 98
25-32 50 100 100 100 0 100 0 100

Satellite transponders (16 total at 99º(s))
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 0
17-24 84 96 0 0 0 0 0 0
[Note: these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º©)
[National HD channels]
1-8 67 77 68 79 64 76 68 78
9-16 64 76 67 77 63 77 NA NA
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s))
[Local HD channels for some cities]
1-8 0 0 0 0 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 82 33
17-24 83 74 0 50 46 72 82 81
[Note, these can be very slow to appear]

Satellite transponders (14 total at 103º©)
[National HD channels]
1-8 74 73 74 71 73 71 73 69
9-16 73 71 72 70 71 72 NA NA
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

Satellite transponders (9 total at SWM)
[National HD channels]
1-8 99 99 98 0 100 94 99 95
9-16 95 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA

#4 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,913 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 24 June 2009 - 03:05 AM

Have tried removing the splitter and sending SWM-2 directly to the HR22?

Your 103° levels seem low. It may indicate an alingment is needed.

This might help.

http://forums.direct...uleTraining.pdf

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#5 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,099 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 24 June 2009 - 06:21 AM

Indeed, your 99© and 103© levels are both pretty low - you'll get signal and be able to watch in clear weather but you're likely to suffer a high degree of rain fade. A tweak to your dish alignment (provided you know what you're doing) should fix that pretty easily. I bet that will make that error screen in Satellite Setup go away too.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#6 OFFLINE   evan_s

evan_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,136 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 24 June 2009 - 08:29 AM

Where do you have the Power inserter hooked up? Assuming it's past one of the splitters make sure it's on a power passing leg if they are only single power passing splitters.

#7 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 13,913 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 24 June 2009 - 11:38 AM

Where do you have the Power inserter hooked up? Assuming it's past one of the splitters make sure it's on a power passing leg if they are only single power passing splitters.

IIRC, for an SWM8 it also must be on SWM1.

Mike

µß
Since it costs 2.4¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 4.8¢ worth.  That 4.8¢ is my own and not the 4.8¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#8 OFFLINE   mitgrad

mitgrad

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 05, 2007

Posted 24 June 2009 - 01:06 PM

I'll definitely have to look at re-aligning my dish. I haven't messed with it since Directv installed it last year, but we've had some serious wind since then...so, it wouldn't surprise me if it's been blown out of alignment.

To answer the question about the location of the splitter & PI: I have the power output of the power inserter connected directly to the SMW1/PWR port of the SWM8. The 1x2 splitter is then connected to the IRD port of the power inserter. My setup looks pretty much identical to the one depicted here: swm8.com/3-4DVR-SWM12-2SPLIT.pdf (sorry, I had to truncate the URL since I have fewer than 5 posts...).

The only difference is that I also have all three of my Legacy ports connected to Legacy tuners.

#9 OFFLINE   mitgrad

mitgrad

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Nov 05, 2007

Posted 28 June 2009 - 03:21 PM

Just wanted to give an update on this: It looks like the original error message I was getting was definitely the result of bad alignment. After spending about 20 minutes fine-tuning my dish (and facing my fear of heights), I got all of the satellites showing a 90+ signal.

Thanks for all of the help (especially the suggestions on how to properly align my dish)!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...