Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

eSATA - DIRECTV recommended list


  • Please log in to reply
3164 replies to this topic

#226 OFFLINE   xandor

xandor

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 05 November 2009 - 07:53 PM

Quick question -- I have to replace my HR20-700 and just got the replacement today -- I know that I'm going to lose the recordings on my external drive, but I don't remember seeing (or my search-fu skills are lacking).

Do I need to format my hard drive from my computer before connecting it to the new DVR in order to use it?

1 HR20-700 connected via HDMI to a Sharp 52" LCD/LED TV (Bedroom)
1 HR20-700 connected via HDMI to a Samsung 46" LCD/LED TV (Living Room)
1 H21-200 connected via HDMI to a 19" Samsung TV (Kitchen)
1 HR24-500 connected via HDMI to a 32" Vizio TV (Basement)

All connected to a splitter to an AU9 dish with SWM-5 LNB and to DECA


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#227 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 05 November 2009 - 10:24 PM

Nope, like you saw all the recordings will be toast. but your SL's will still be intact. No need to format...

#228 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,355 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 06 November 2009 - 08:00 AM

O.K....seriously guys..."unofficial" meaning not the web page directly off of DTV website. That would be the "official" web page with FOUR hard drives on it. I can't even find those exact drives online anyway. They probably have some slightly different model number at this point.

Original question posted again...

Is there an "UNOFFICIAL" list of hard drives that work as DVR expanders. Not to belittle the previous post, but seriously you guys...;)


I use Seagate Barracuda drives in three Antecs and as internal drives in the three 20-700s that I own. All are 1.5TB HDDs. All work perfectly and come with five year replacement warranties.

Rich

#229 OFFLINE   herbmm

herbmm

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2009

Posted 07 November 2009 - 11:11 AM

Is there a list of "unofficially" approved hard drives. There are so many drives, not sure which ones to try. I can easily put together the enclosure and drive.


Just go with this: ANTEC MX-1 with a WD Green drive installed.

I tried various other off the shelf options with no luck because I did not want to have to put something together. Finally, after reading every post in this thread, I did what the majority of people were saying. It took 10 minutes. I put in in over a month ago, and it worked perfectly the first time.

I put in a 1.5 TB drive. I have 60 HD movies recorded and and various other shows, and still have 62% free.

I do not know any reason to try anything else.

#230 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,355 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 November 2009 - 11:19 AM

Just go with this: ANTEC MX-1 with a WD Green drive installed.

I tried various other off the shelf options with no luck because I did not want to have to put something together. Finally, after reading every post in this thread, I did what the majority of people were saying. It took 10 minutes. I put in in over a month ago, and it worked perfectly the first time.

I put in a 1.5 TB drive. I have 60 HD movies recorded and and various other shows, and still have 62% free.

I do not know any reason to try anything else.


Agreed, either the Seagate Barracudas or the WD Green Caviars seem to work well with any HR when placed in an Antec MX-1 enclosure. With just one HR or a couple HRs, I'd suggest the 2TB WD drive, with many HRs I'd go with the 1.5TBs. I have seen the 2TB WDs for $179 recently.

Rich

#231 OFFLINE   jwp767

jwp767

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2009

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:07 AM

Rich-

I have been reading all the posts and want to upgrade my HR20-700 to 1.5TB. I think my HR20-700 came from DirecTV as part of a free promotion when I changed out my old round non HD dish to the new HD dish. I have since added a $169 Costco DirecTV HD receiver which I believe is an HR22 series....black case vs. older silver case on the HR20-700.....I use it in a cabin in the mountains running off my same subscription from home where the HR20-700 operates and needs more recording space.

What I'm unclear about is whether I have to or should use the external MX-1 or whether I can simply change out the hard drive in the HR20-700 with the WD Green 1.5 or the Seagate Barracuda 1.5? Does the HR20-700 have a fan for cooling or is this the reason to go external with the MX-1 and its own fan?

The WD 1.5 is only $110 shipped from Amazon or $119 for the Barracuda. Adding the MX-1 from Amazon is another $51.

There is a seller on eBay selling the 1.5TB Barracuda "ready to go" for $197. Tried to post the link but it won't let me do that until I have posted 5 times to this site.......?
Is there anything he's doing to the drive that I can't do myself? It appears from this seller that you don't need the additional cooling from the external MX-1 enclosure??

Thanks-Wes

#232 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:19 AM

What I'm unclear about is whether I have to or should use the external MX-1 or whether I can simply change out the hard drive in the HR20-700 with the WD Green 1.5 or the Seagate Barracuda 1.5?


Changing out the internal HDD on your receiver is at your own peril and should only be done if you own your receiver (not a lease) .. other than that, you are on your own with your decision.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#233 OFFLINE   jwp767

jwp767

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2009

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:31 AM

Doug-

As I understand it....you never really own your receiver. When I bought the $169 HR22 at Costco the terms for registering it still said that it was a lease from DirecTV....so is there really any difference or importance about where the receiver came from? If it failed and DirecTV wanted it back....I would exchange out the 1.5 hard disk back to their 300Gb original one.

My concern is whether the 1.5TB puts out more heat then the HR22-700 can handle and if that's the reason to go with an MX-1 enclosure and external operation?

I've changed out hard drives in computers before and they were simply a matter of unscrewing retaining enclosures and then unplugging/replugging in the new one.

Is there more to the story than this?

Wes

#234 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,177 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:39 AM

Doug-

As I understand it....you never really own your receiver. When I bought the $169 HR22 at Costco the terms for registering it still said that it was a lease from DirecTV....so is there really any difference or importance about where the receiver came from? If it failed and DirecTV wanted it back....I would exchange out the 1.5 hard disk back to their 300Gb original one.

My concern is whether the 1.5TB puts out more heat then the HR22-700 can handle and if that's the reason to go with an MX-1 enclosure and external operation?

I've changed out hard drives in computers before and they were simply a matter of unscrewing retaining enclosures and then unplugging/replugging in the new one.

Is there more to the story than this?

Wes


The cases of the HR2x require a Torx security bit to open, for one thing, and they are not as easy to work on internally as a computer (smaller space, less accessible, shorter cables, etc.) .

That said, though I do own an HR21 whose drive died on me last month, I decided not to bother opening up the case. I didn't use an MX1 enclosure either though. I got a Thermaltake drive dock instead: you literally plug the drive in vertically like an oversized cartridge of an old game console. Works like a charm, and if (when!) the new drive fails in a few years, I can easily just plug in a new one without any fuss.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#235 OFFLINE   mobandit

mobandit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,142 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:40 AM

Doug-

As I understand it....you never really own your receiver. When I bought the $169 HR22 at Costco the terms for registering it still said that it was a lease from DirecTV....so is there really any difference or importance about where the receiver came from? If it failed and DirecTV wanted it back....I would exchange out the 1.5 hard disk back to their 300Gb original one.

My concern is whether the 1.5TB puts out more heat then the HR22-700 can handle and if that's the reason to go with an MX-1 enclosure and external operation?

I've changed out hard drives in computers before and they were simply a matter of unscrewing retaining enclosures and then unplugging/replugging in the new one.

Is there more to the story than this?

Wes


You didn't "buy" your receiver from Costco...you paid a lease fee. You can truly own a receiver...but not by paying $169 from Costco.

ETCM (SS/SW), USN (RET)
22 years, 4 months, 9 days


#236 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 November 2009 - 10:43 AM

Doug-

Is there more to the story than this?

Wes


Yes, its against the TOS to open a box you don't own, so if you are leasing them its much safer to add the eSATA solution by using an MX-1 setup....personally I think they run much cooler in the MX-1 than they do internally, so the drive could last much longer as well...

#237 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 10 November 2009 - 11:21 AM

Does this mean that the service weaknees offers for "shipping us your HD DVR and we'll install a larger internal drive for you" (unless it is meant only for true owners of their DVRs--about which weaknees says nothing) is also problematic?

#238 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 November 2009 - 11:37 AM

Does this mean that the service weaknees offers for "shipping us your HD DVR and we'll install a larger internal drive for you" (unless it is meant only for true owners of their DVRs--about which weaknees says nothing) is also problematic?


Its possible, the people at weeknees would be much better equipped to handle that type of question.

#239 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 11 November 2009 - 01:39 PM

So, I just installed a Seagate 1.5 TB external drive, and wanted to check in to make sure the signs are good that it "took". Receiver is plugged back in, I'm getting all channels, etc. Button response seems a little slower, but that could be just my imagination, or normal variance. I'm apparently spoiled, since this is my first foray into DirecTV receivers, and I got the 0368 NR from the beginning, and button response seemed certainly acceptable, if not lightning fast, before hooking up the external drive.

Anyway, I no longer have anything in my playlist, or any series in my series manager. So...do I just start rebuilding my series, and see whether the thing records when it is supposed to?

#240 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,177 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 11 November 2009 - 01:48 PM

So, I just installed a Seagate 1.5 TB external drive, and wanted to check in to make sure the signs are good that it "took". Receiver is plugged back in, I'm getting all channels, etc. Button response seems a little slower, but that could be just my imagination, or normal variance. I'm apparently spoiled, since this is my first foray into DirecTV receivers, and I got the 0368 NR from the beginning, and button response seemed certainly acceptable, if not lightning fast, before hooking up the external drive.

Anyway, I no longer have anything in my playlist, or any series in my series manager. So...do I just start rebuilding my series, and see whether the thing records when it is supposed to?


It "took." The fact that your series links are gone and old recordings are not accessible is the sign. Just setup your series links again and use the box as normal.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#241 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:25 PM

Great. Thanks. Will let guide rebuild and give it a whack later.

#242 OFFLINE   cptpez

cptpez

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 11 November 2009 - 02:28 PM

I reccomend using the antec mx-1 with the WD gree 2 TB.

as for opening the receiver to replace the internal drive and the issues with the TOS, one thing to consider is how old the receiver is. I have owned boxes adn I have leased them. I have replaced at least one leased box and when I asked directv how to ship it back they told me to just keep it due to its age.

Has anyone actually had to return a "leased" box. If so, how old was it.

#243 OFFLINE   ColdShot

ColdShot

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 26 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2007

Posted 11 November 2009 - 03:08 PM

So I have been to hell and back with adding external HDD's for my HR21's. I bought a Seagate Showcase 1TB unit many months back for my HR21 upstairs. Hooked up the Showcase and it has worked flawlessly since day 1.

So I went ahead a few weeks ago and got another one for the downstairs HR21. Setup went fine and I expected a similiar experience as upstairs. Nope. The unit has not gone more than 4 days without a auto-reboot and total wipe, stuttering live/recorded TV and non-responsive remote issues.

I upgraded the eSATA cable, did manual resets and reboots, ran diags...no joy.

Reading here I noticed a lot of angst towards the HR21-100 units, so I checked both of my rigs to see what I had. Sure enough, good unit is a -700, bad is a -100.

Upset about the trouble I always have to go through with these boxes, I called retention to see if I could get a replacement unit, but specify that it be a -700 or an HR22 or HR23 under my protection plan. Again, no joy. They stated they cannot specify a unit to the people who box and ship them.

They did offer me another option, which I took. Go get a new HR23 on my own for about $200, and they will credit me the $200 on my bill. Done. Ordered a unit from Weaknees that will arrive tomorrow.

The Seagate Showcase is a nice, quiet unit in an attractive package with HR2X matching blue LED lights. The internal 1GB drive is on DTV's recommended list and the whole deal is not that bad at $199 direct from Seagate. It comes with a long eSATA cable as well. Just don't try to mate it up with one of those craptastic HR21-100 units.
"Like a Cold Shot, baby" - Stevie Ray Vaughan
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
60" Pioneer Elite PRO-150FD | 32" Sony KDL-V32XBR1
D* HR23-700 | HR21-700 | HR10-250
Sony ES Series Components & Separates
Pioneer Elite LD & DVD | Xbox 360 MW2 Elite w/HD-DVD
Oppo BDP-83 Blu-ray & SACD Player
Klipsch Reference Loudspeakers

#244 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,177 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 11 November 2009 - 03:16 PM

Has anyone actually had to return a "leased" box. If so, how old was it.


Yes, an R15 that I'd had for over two years, and that was a refurb when I got it. The return box arrived about two weeks after the box I replaced it with was activated.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#245 OFFLINE   jwp767

jwp767

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2009

Posted 11 November 2009 - 07:00 PM

Rich-

Got your PM but need 5 posts in order to reply......!!

On the Seagate Barracuda model....I found 2 on Amazon that are both $119 shipped/no tax and look like the same drive....?

ST31500341AS

ST31500541AS

Thanks-Wes

#246 OFFLINE   jwp767

jwp767

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2009

Posted 11 November 2009 - 07:02 PM

I reccomend using the antec mx-1 with the WD gree 2 TB.

as for opening the receiver to replace the internal drive and the issues with the TOS, one thing to consider is how old the receiver is. I have owned boxes adn I have leased them. I have replaced at least one leased box and when I asked directv how to ship it back they told me to just keep it due to its age.

Has anyone actually had to return a "leased" box. If so, how old was it.

That has been my experience too since my first DirecTV box in 1994. In subsequent years and upgrade boxes....they always let me keep the old box and never wanted it back.....

#247 OFFLINE   jwp767

jwp767

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Nov 10, 2009

Posted 11 November 2009 - 07:05 PM

So, I just installed a Seagate 1.5 TB external drive, and wanted to check in to make sure the signs are good that it "took". Receiver is plugged back in, I'm getting all channels, etc. Button response seems a little slower, but that could be just my imagination, or normal variance. I'm apparently spoiled, since this is my first foray into DirecTV receivers, and I got the 0368 NR from the beginning, and button response seemed certainly acceptable, if not lightning fast, before hooking up the external drive.

Anyway, I no longer have anything in my playlist, or any series in my series manager. So...do I just start rebuilding my series, and see whether the thing records when it is supposed to?

Bruce-

Did you use the Antec MX-1 box for the Seagate drive? Which Barracuda 1.5TB model # Seagate did you use?

Wes

#248 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 12 November 2009 - 01:55 AM

Well, I'm embarrassed to say I just bought one of these, and the blurb did not disclose the model number of the Seagate 1.5 TB drive, nor did it name the "external case".

But it seems to be working flawlessly now. On a HR 21-100, no less.

http://cgi.ebay.com/...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT

#249 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,355 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 November 2009 - 07:19 AM

Well, I'm embarrassed to say I just bought one of these, and the blurb did not disclose the model number of the Seagate 1.5 TB drive, nor did it name the "external case".

But it seems to be working flawlessly now. On a HR 21-100, no less.

http://cgi.ebay.com/...e=STRK:MEWNX:IT


Well, you could have save about $90 by doing it yourself. To all you guys who are considering buying those eSATAs on eBay, they are way overpriced. But if you're not handy and want it right away...

Rich

#250 OFFLINE   Bruce M.

Bruce M.

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Oct 31, 2009

Posted 12 November 2009 - 09:38 AM

Add "lazy" and you've got me pegged ;)




Protected By... spam firewall...And...