Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

eSATA - DIRECTV recommended list


  • Please log in to reply
3053 replies to this topic

#2481 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,888 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 January 2013 - 09:59 AM

Seagate would be Pipeline HD.2 trim for AV market...

Edited by P Smith, 24 January 2013 - 02:32 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2482 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 24 January 2013 - 01:44 PM

Seagate drives work just as well.


Based on past experiences I wouldn't give you 2 cents for a Seagate drive.

#2483 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,846 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 24 January 2013 - 02:11 PM

Based on past experiences I wouldn't give you 2 cents for a Seagate drive.


I feel the same about WD.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#2484 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 06:46 AM

Is the WD AVGP preferable over the WD20EURS? This is for an HR24 with a thermaltake dock.

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2485 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 25 January 2013 - 08:23 AM

Is the WD AVGP preferable over the WD20EURS? This is for an HR24 with a thermaltake dock.


The EURS model drives are AVGP drives.....

http://www.wdc.com/e...cts.aspx?id=150

#2486 OFFLINE   RoyGBiv

RoyGBiv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 644 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 12:35 PM

I have a 1TB WD EURS drive in an Antec enclosure connected to one HR20-700 and a 2TB WD EURS drive with a TT enclosure for another HR20-700. Both work perfectly well.

SMK

#2487 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 01:54 PM

The EURS model drives are AVGP drives.....

http://www.wdc.com/e...cts.aspx?id=150


Right.

I am not sure why I am getting video stuttering and freezing with this combination.

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2488 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,888 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:20 PM

..
I am not sure why I am getting video stuttering and freezing with this combination.


I would bring the external drive to PC and would run two tests: one as-is; second - after installing bare drive into PC.
The program would be Victoria for Windows, while better get self-bootable CD with MHDD v4.6

#2489 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,688 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:40 PM

Right.

I am not sure why I am getting video stuttering and freezing with this combination.


Which HR are you using it on?

Rich

#2490 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:43 PM

Which HR are you using it on?

Rich


HR24-500.

I just purchased this. I realized that the HD had been used briefly (2 hours) with another DVR so I hooked it up to my computer and deleted all the volumes on it. I just power cycled the HR24 with the drive attached to see if maybe that will clear up the issues.

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2491 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,888 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:51 PM

deleting volumes ? shouldn't affect ... will see what you'll get after this easy "fix" :)

#2492 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 02:55 PM

I just wanted to wipe it clean. That's all.

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2493 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,688 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:04 PM

HR24-500.

I just purchased this. I realized that the HD had been used briefly (2 hours) with another DVR so I hooked it up to my computer and deleted all the volumes on it. I just power cycled the HR24 with the drive attached to see if maybe that will clear up the issues.


Just an opinion, but the 24-500s are a royal PITA when you're trying to put an external device on it.

Rich

#2494 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 25 January 2013 - 03:06 PM

Just an opinion, but the 24-500s are a royal PITA when you're trying to put an external device on it.

Rich


But you have done it successfully, right? One of my other HR-24s is a 500 and the external dock worked fine from the get go.

What did you do to rectify issues?

Since the unit is owned I could just put it inside. Is that been your "fix"?

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#2495 OFFLINE   scubacop1714

scubacop1714

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2013

Posted 13 February 2013 - 07:48 PM

I am considering a G-Technology G-RAID 4 TB Dual External Hard Drive to go with a HR24/100, actually two of them. One for each. With the esata, will it recognize this drive? This may have been covered in a previous post, I apoligize in advance if I missed it. Any insight would be appreciated.

#2496 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 13 February 2013 - 09:03 PM

I am considering a G-Technology G-RAID 4 TB Dual External Hard Drive to go with a HR24/100, actually two of them. One for each. With the esata, will it recognize this drive? This may have been covered in a previous post, I apoligize in advance if I missed it. Any insight would be appreciated.


The HR2x series is only capable of 2TB of space, so as long as its 2TB mirrored and looks like a single 2TB drive, it should work in theory.

#2497 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,846 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 14 February 2013 - 06:56 AM

I am considering a G-Technology G-RAID 4 TB Dual External Hard Drive to go with a HR24/100, actually two of them. One for each. With the esata, will it recognize this drive? This may have been covered in a previous post, I apoligize in advance if I missed it. Any insight would be appreciated.


I haven't heard of anyone trying that enclosure so you'd be the first. As CCarncross said though you're limited to 2TB so you'd need to setup the enclosure to use RAID1.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#2498 OFFLINE   spunkyvision

spunkyvision

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 403 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2006

Posted 23 February 2013 - 02:16 PM

First make sure RAID 1 is in fact selected via the rotary switch on the back. Then put your blank drives in. Hold the reset button in the back while turning on the power. The moment the lights flash blue, red, purple (or whatever order it is) the array is setup. It takes about 5 seconds I think. From that point on the drives start to mirror each other.

If you're going to place the enclosure in view and want to get rid of the annoying lights, like I do, but don't want to go with black electrical tape check out lightdims.com. They make them in silver and they are cheap.


Thanks for the info RunnerFL. Quick question, is there a "graceful" way to shutdown the enclosure? or just simply turn it off with the switch?
thanks

#2499 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,846 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 23 February 2013 - 02:43 PM

Thanks for the info RunnerFL. Quick question, is there a "graceful" way to shutdown the enclosure? or just simply turn it off with the switch?
thanks


The enclosure itself? No, just hit the power switch. If you have it hooked up to a DVR though you should do a menu reset and pull the power when the front panel lights have gone off.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#2500 OFFLINE   spunkyvision

spunkyvision

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 403 posts
Joined: Oct 12, 2006

Posted 23 February 2013 - 02:53 PM

Excellent, what I thought since there doesn't seem to be an option.

I only had 2 identical unopened WD 3 TB Red drives around and used them in the Sans Unit and it will not format I get an error "Diagnostic Code - 75-411" when first booting to my HR-24.

I knew it wouldn't detect all 3TB but I thought it would at least format it to 2 TB. Is that the main reason for the error or something else? I don't want to go through 63 pages of working esata setups so if I were to go to a brick and mortar store what 2 - 2TB drives should I get? Any of the WD Greens?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...