Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

eSATA - DIRECTV recommended list


  • Please log in to reply
3164 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   bearklaws

bearklaws

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 10 July 2009 - 08:47 AM

The FAPs do not work with the 21s, that includes the 22s and 23s. They do work very well with the 20-700s.

Rich


I am one of those people that need to try for them self...I was not let down when it did not work,Thanks to all the info in here... and this is a good place for info...Every time i have had a problem for the last couple of years, I have came here....:):)

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 10 July 2009 - 09:07 AM

For the record the the HR's use the xfs file system. Your issue is FAP's do not work with that model as rich84 said. I highly recommend returning that piece of ^%(* and getting an MX-1 and a WD Green model. These seem to work no matter which HR2x you have.

#28 OFFLINE   bearklaws

bearklaws

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 10 July 2009 - 09:39 AM

For the record the the HR's use the xfs file system. Your issue is FAP's do not work with that model as rich84 said. I highly recommend returning that piece of ^%(* and getting an MX-1 and a WD Green model. These seem to work no matter which HR2x you have.


As I said before, I did some reading, knew about the problems...
I did not make myself clear...That was a hard drive i had for about 6 months... Why not try to see if it would work...

Thank's for letting me know the file system....

Edited by bearklaws, 10 July 2009 - 09:44 AM.
thanks


#29 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,048 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 July 2009 - 11:33 AM

I am one of those people that need to try for them self...I was not let down when it did not work,Thanks to all the info in here... and this is a good place for info...Every time i have had a problem for the last couple of years, I have came here....:):)

Thanks


Yeah, I did the same thing. I was positive I could get an FAP to work with a 21 and it did at first. I actually got it to record one program, but I went to the guide and pushed the record button on something and it did record it, but that was it. Nothing else would record.

Rich

#30 OFFLINE   bearklaws

bearklaws

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2007

Posted 10 July 2009 - 01:46 PM

Just wanted to add. Tried all formats to try to get it to recognize the hard drive with no luck... Never hurts to try...

Thank you for all the help:):)

#31 OFFLINE   Villager

Villager

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 10 July 2009 - 11:01 PM

I reported in another thread-- not sure which one-- that I have a Seagate Baracuda 1.5 TB mounted in the Antec MX-1 which does record when connected to the HR21/100 BUT on almost every reboot the external drive (the eSATA drive) is reformatted on the bootup which renders it useless. Just to doublecheck on this, I reinstalled it last night and it recorded the programming that I wanted, and tonight I watched the programming. All was well until I forced a reboot on the system and the eSATA drive was once again reformatted erasing all the settings and programming.

There are many reports that FAP's will not work with the HR21/100. What will work?

Edited by Villager, 10 July 2009 - 11:02 PM.
Correct typo


#32 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 July 2009 - 11:51 PM

There are many reports that FAP's will not work with the HR21/100. What will work?


The first post points to the ones that DIRECTV recommends.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#33 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,048 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 July 2009 - 10:40 AM

I reported in another thread-- not sure which one-- that I have a Seagate Baracuda 1.5 TB mounted in the Antec MX-1 which does record when connected to the HR21/100 BUT on almost every reboot the external drive (the eSATA drive) is reformatted on the bootup which renders it useless. Just to doublecheck on this, I reinstalled it last night and it recorded the programming that I wanted, and tonight I watched the programming. All was well until I forced a reboot on the system and the eSATA drive was once again reformatted erasing all the settings and programming.

There are many reports that FAP's will not work with the HR21/100. What will work?


Have another HR? If you do, try the Antec on that. If it works on one, it should work on the other. That leaves the 21-100 as the problem. I do know that the Antec MX-1 will work with 21-700s, I have two 21-700s with 1TB Seagate Cuda drives in the MX-1 enclosures and they work perfectly. Seems as if the 100 series of HRs has this problem, especially the 22s.

Not many people report problems with the Antec enclosure. I would suspect the 21-100.

The FAPs definitely do not work with the 21s. The Seagate Xtreme is kinda iffy on the 21s. Both work very well on the 20-700s. I have never tried a My Book eSATA on a 21, but I do know that they do not work on the 20-700s. I have seen posts that stated that the poster had My Books working on 21s. A Cavalry eSATA will also work on the 21s, I've had one on a 21-700 for well over a year without any problems.

The few 100s that I've gotten as replacements and been able to activate would not work with any eSATAs, not even the Cavs.

Rich

#34 OFFLINE   Villager

Villager

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 189 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2007

Posted 11 July 2009 - 05:00 PM

I have an HR-20/700 at another location and I plan to recheck the Seagate 1.5TB/MX-1 combo on that unit sometime next week. I expect it to work just fine. I also have a WD 500GB in a non-descript enclosure (actually an Eagle, if I remember correctly) which has not worked on the HR21-100 but does work on the HR20-700. Summarizing, I have 3 eSATA drives (a 500, a 750 FAP and a 1.5) and two enclosures. It seems that no matter how I mix/match, all work with the HR20-700 and none correctly work on the HR21-100. So, I come to the conclusion that there is an issue with the HR21-100. Unfortunately, I do not have either of the two specific units that DirecTV reports to be compatible with this particular DVR unit.

#35 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,048 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 12 July 2009 - 07:55 AM

I have an HR-20/700 at another location and I plan to recheck the Seagate 1.5TB/MX-1 combo on that unit sometime next week. I expect it to work just fine. I also have a WD 500GB in a non-descript enclosure (actually an Eagle, if I remember correctly) which has not worked on the HR21-100 but does work on the HR20-700. Summarizing, I have 3 eSATA drives (a 500, a 750 FAP and a 1.5) and two enclosures. It seems that no matter how I mix/match, all work with the HR20-700 and none correctly work on the HR21-100. So, I come to the conclusion that there is an issue with the HR21-100. Unfortunately, I do not have either of the two specific units that DirecTV reports to be compatible with this particular DVR unit.


The units that D* recommends have only 1TB recording capacity. Seagate has started selling it's 2TB drive, I saw a 2TB Xtreme in BB's flyer today for $269. Haven't seen the bare drive for sale yet. I'd look for the Seagate Showcase series to get larger quickly. Unfortunately they are quite expensive compared to a bare drive and an Antec MX-1 enclosure.

Doesn't surprise me that the 21-100 doesn't work with any of your eSATAs. I won't go any further, ever body knows what I think of the 100 series of HRs. Also doesn't surprise me that the best of the HRs, the 20-700, does work with each of your eSATA setups.

Rich

#36 OFFLINE   Jaytee946

Jaytee946

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jan 29, 2008

Posted 14 July 2009 - 08:11 PM

I see the Seagate 1TB (model ST31000SCA109-RK) is on Sale on Seagate's website for $164.99, I haven't seen it cheaper anywhere else?

#37 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 July 2009 - 07:50 AM

The units that D* recommends have only 1TB recording capacity. Seagate has started selling it's 2TB drive, I saw a 2TB Xtreme in BB's flyer today for $269. Haven't seen the bare drive for sale yet. I'd look for the Seagate Showcase series to get larger quickly. Unfortunately they are quite expensive compared to a bare drive and an Antec MX-1 enclosure.


Not every HDD works the same .. If you'd check the specs on the ones above, you'd find that they are tuned for better performance with DVRs. I wouldn't be surprised to learn that DIRECTV makes use of features specific to those models.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#38 OFFLINE   DRod

DRod

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2007

Posted 15 July 2009 - 08:01 AM

The DIRECTV recommendations are all for pre-assembled off-the-shelf eSATA drives, that is, they are drives within enclosures so they just have to be unboxed and then are plug-and-play and would work best for the novice user. DBSTalk has some more advanced users, so there have been recommendations here for parts to-be-assembled as well as off-the-shelf eSATA drives. The whole thing is even though it's still not officially supported, DIRECTV still wants it to be as easy as possible for the users...


Sorry to be so newb...can I assume that eSATA is the underlying characteristic for external hard drive choices? CostCo has a WD MyBook 1TB drive for $129.99.

Funny thing is if you go to Amazon, the WD drive recommended by D* says "My DVR Expander" (link)...unsure if there's anyting special about that.
DERRICH.com
Follow me on Twitter at @Derrich

#39 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 July 2009 - 08:04 AM

Funny thing is if you go to Amazon, the WD drive recommended by D* says "My DVR Expander" (link)...unsure if there's anyting special about that.


Yes, there is something special about that .. the "DVR" part of the name is important. Yes, other drives will work, but it is my understanding that for reliability it should be one of the models listed above.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#40 OFFLINE   DRod

DRod

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2007

Posted 15 July 2009 - 08:07 AM

Makes sense. Thanks for the prompt reply.

One other scenario...let's say I record some movies onto my external drive. Could I bring that with me on a trip and watch those movies on my laptop?

Edited by DRod, 15 July 2009 - 08:54 AM.

DERRICH.com
Follow me on Twitter at @Derrich

#41 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 15 July 2009 - 09:24 AM

Makes sense. Thanks for the prompt reply.

One other scenario...let's say I record some movies onto my external drive. Could I bring that with me on a trip and watch those movies on my laptop?


No, whats on that external drive is only viewable while connected to the DVR it was recorded on, you can't even attach it to another HD DVR. The recordings are married to the dvr they were recorded on.

#42 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,048 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 15 July 2009 - 12:36 PM

I see the Seagate 1TB (model ST31000SCA109-RK) is on Sale on Seagate's website for $164.99, I haven't seen it cheaper anywhere else?


If that's a Showcase model that's a good price. Just a bit more than you'd pay for an Antec enclosure and a bare drive. But only a 1TB? They will get larger soon.

Rich

#43 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 July 2009 - 01:55 PM

If that's a Showcase model that's a good price. Just a bit more than you'd pay for an Antec enclosure and a bare drive. But only a 1TB? They will get larger soon.

Rich


DIRECTV doesn't currently recommend drives over 1TB ..
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#44 OFFLINE   wafi

wafi

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Jul 15, 2009

Posted 15 July 2009 - 02:45 PM

Doesn't surprise me that the 21-100 doesn't work with any of your eSATAs. I won't go any further, ever body knows what I think of the 100 series of HRs. Also doesn't surprise me that the best of the HRs, the 20-700, does work with each of your eSATA setups.

Rich


Crap so the one HD-DVR that I have turns out to be the worst of all the DirecTV HD-DVRs that came out huh! Just great!
Pioneer Elite PRO PDP-111FD + Pioneer BDP-320
Sony Bravia KDL-40V4100 + Sony BDP-S300
Samsung LNT3253H + Pioneer BDP-51FD
Sony Wega KV-27FS13 + Pioneer DV-525

#45 OFFLINE   mep916

mep916

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2009

Posted 16 July 2009 - 12:32 PM

I've a HR21-700. Yesterday, I successfully paired it with a Seagate 1.5TB drive, enclosed in an Antec MX-1. The drive seemed to format and startup correctly, however, there is a bit of an issue when viewing recorded content.

Every few minutes, the video freezes for a brief moment, about a second or two. It'll run fine, then do it again. It's a constant pattern and I've noticed this with every recorded show. The drive is new as well as the enclosure, and I don't suspect any problems with the drive, although I suppose it's possible.

Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks!

EDIT: I prolly should've put this in the issues thread. Sorry about that. :o

Edited by mep916, 16 July 2009 - 12:42 PM.


#46 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,048 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 July 2009 - 01:42 PM

I've a HR21-700. Yesterday, I successfully paired it with a Seagate 1.5TB drive, enclosed in an Antec MX-1. The drive seemed to format and startup correctly, however, there is a bit of an issue when viewing recorded content.

Every few minutes, the video freezes for a brief moment, about a second or two. It'll run fine, then do it again. It's a constant pattern and I've noticed this with every recorded show. The drive is new as well as the enclosure, and I don't suspect any problems with the drive, although I suppose it's possible.

Does anyone have any ideas? Thanks!

EDIT: I prolly should've put this in the issues thread. Sorry about that. :o


Nah, you're in the right thread. You might have one of the hard drives that Seagate was having a problem with a few months ago. I'd suggest writing down the model number of the drive and calling Seagate tech service. Here's Seagate's number, 1-800-732-4283, it's one of the automated phones, just press the number for tech service. They might be able to fix it over the phone with a software download. Or, they will send you a replacement drive. If you bought it from someplace local, take it back and get another one.

Rich

#47 OFFLINE   mep916

mep916

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Jun 05, 2009

Posted 16 July 2009 - 05:51 PM

Nah, you're in the right thread. You might have one of the hard drives that Seagate was having a problem with a few months ago. I'd suggest writing down the model number of the drive and calling Seagate tech service. Here's Seagate's number, 1-800-732-4283, it's one of the automated phones, just press the number for tech service. They might be able to fix it over the phone with a software download. Or, they will send you a replacement drive. If you bought it from someplace local, take it back and get another one.

Rich


So, I'm assuming this freezing issue is usually related to a faulty hard drive. Perhaps a firmware issue? Thanks for the number. I'll give them a call. I've another 1.5TB drive I'll try out tonight. Same model.

#48 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,048 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 July 2009 - 10:13 AM

So, I'm assuming this freezing issue is usually related to a faulty hard drive. Perhaps a firmware issue? Thanks for the number. I'll give them a call. I've another 1.5TB drive I'll try out tonight. Same model.


I really doubt it is the MX-1 causing the problem. Never seen a post reporting that. I put a Seagate 1.5 in my "owned" 20-700 and it did freeze up a few times, but the problem seemed to heal itself. Doesn't do it anymore. I have five Seagate drives that are on the "problem" list and yet I have had no problems with them, except for the brief problem with freeze ups on the internal drive, so it is not every drive on that list.

I'd still give Seagate a call and see if they can download a fix for you.

To get back to your original question, many things cause freeze ups. I think of freeze ups as something that can be fixed with a click of the remote and lock ups as something that can only be fixed by a reboot. And I never use the red button to reboot. Never.

Anyhow, the freeze ups can be caused by software, bad HDDs, HDMI switches, etc. No way to really answer your question. Same thing with lock ups. The lock ups are a lot more serious. They can be caused by all kinds of things.

I do think your problem is the HDD, but if you still have problems with the other 1.5, it might (probably) be the MX-1.

Rich

#49 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 17 July 2009 - 02:52 PM

I've a HR21-700. Yesterday, I successfully paired it with a Seagate 1.5TB drive, enclosed in an Antec MX-1. The drive seemed to format and startup correctly, however, there is a bit of an issue when viewing recorded content.


If the HDD is not specifically for DVRs, then it simply may not work the way you expect. All drives are not created equal. Also, since it's 1.5TB, it's definitely not on the list of drives that are recommended by DIRECTV.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#50 OFFLINE   Just Ask

Just Ask

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 51 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2008

Posted 18 July 2009 - 08:46 AM

Seems like the HR-21-100 is a problem child with these external drives and that is the one I have in our main viewing area. Given that, that would be the one I would want to improve the capacity on.

So, just to be sure.....The Seagate St31000sca109-rk 1tb unit listed in post # 1 should work with the HR21-100, right? Has anyone actually installed the 1 TB unit with the HR21-100?

Thanks in advance!

Edited by Just Ask, 19 July 2009 - 03:03 PM.

HR24-200 AM21 Networked Den
HR21-100 DECA Master Bedroom
HR20-700 DECA Theater
HR20-100 DECA Kitchen
R22-200 DECA Bedroom 1
R22-100 DECA Bedroom 2
R22-200 DECA Exercise Room
16 Port SWiM




Protected By... spam firewall...And...