Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

eSATA - DIRECTV recommended list


  • Please log in to reply
3164 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 28 August 2009 - 10:57 AM

Anyone tried the Seagate Showcase drive (http://www.seagate.c...ment/showcase)? Any benefit to getting it, since it's about $80 more than a comparable brand X eSATA 1TB drive?

I ask because it looks like my current external eSATA drive is dying (http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=163832).


All I can tell you is that the drives recommended by DIRECTV were not randomly chosen. If you look at the specs you'll notice both the Seagate and WD recommendations mention DVRs .. that's gotta mean something. Brand X is probably geared for computer use rather than DVR use.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 28 August 2009 - 11:33 AM

Anyone tried the Seagate Showcase drive (http://www.seagate.c...ment/showcase)? Any benefit to getting it, since it's about $80 more than a comparable brand X eSATA 1TB drive?

I ask because it looks like my current external eSATA drive is dying (http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=163832).


Best bet is to either stick with one of the specifically recommended recommended models at the beginning of this thread, or go the ANTEC MX-1 route with a suitable WD or Seagate drive installed in it.

#128 OFFLINE   nuspieds

nuspieds

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 207 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2008

Posted 29 August 2009 - 12:03 AM

My Books are not supported...the WD solution is called the my dvr extender. its so much less hassle to order a bare bones WD 1-2TB green drive, and put it in an ANTEC MX-1. this combo works with all current HR2x models....


I purchased a 2TB My Book and was getting ready to install it the following day. Thankfully, I kept on reading the messages in this thread and stumbled upon yours! :)

I never even opened up the box, so I promptly returned it the next day in exchange for the Antec MX-1 and the 2TB WD Caviar Green.

I am now a very happy camper with 2TBs of storage for my HR20-700!! :joy:

Thanks for not only pointing me in the right direction, but also for helping me avoid some misery (had I tried the My Book)!

#129 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,337 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 August 2009 - 10:54 AM

I purchased a 2TB My Book and was getting ready to install it the following day. Thankfully, I kept on reading the messages in this thread and stumbled upon yours! :)

I never even opened up the box, so I promptly returned it the next day in exchange for the Antec MX-1 and the 2TB WD Caviar Green.

I am now a very happy camper with 2TBs of storage for my HR20-700!! :joy:

Thanks for not only pointing me in the right direction, but also for helping me avoid some misery (had I tried the My Book)!


Yup. Would have never worked on the 20-700. That includes the whole My Book series.

Rich

#130 OFFLINE   IndioinHD

IndioinHD

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2008

Posted 03 September 2009 - 01:09 AM

Finally got my Seagate 1TB up and running along side the HR20-700, so far so good.

#131 OFFLINE   ke5ckp

ke5ckp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2009

Posted 06 September 2009 - 02:35 PM

I have a hr21-700 and I would like to add a 1tb hd to the unit I bought a wd mybook model wd1000his-00. This is a eSATA unit. I unpluged the dtv and turned on the hd and let get up to speed. then turned the dtv on. It saw the hard drive but would not load. Is there any thing that I can do???

#132 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,337 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 06 September 2009 - 02:45 PM

I have a hr21-700 and I would like to add a 1tb hd to the unit I bought a wd mybook model wd1000his-00. This is a eSATA unit. I unpluged the dtv and turned on the hd and let get up to speed. then turned the dtv on. It saw the hard drive but would not load. Is there any thing that I can do???


You did have the eSATA to eSATA jumper cable connected before you powered up the eSATA, right?

The 21-700s are kind of finicky about eSATAs. Some members have reported that the My Book works with their 21-700s.

If all you care about is a 1TB eSATA, I'd suggest the recommended WD eSATA. There's a couple eSATA threads running. The other one has information about other eSATAs that work.

Rich

#133 OFFLINE   ke5ckp

ke5ckp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2009

Posted 06 September 2009 - 02:53 PM

Yes I have a eSATA cable connected to he DTV and WD

#134 OFFLINE   ke5ckp

ke5ckp

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2009

Posted 06 September 2009 - 02:55 PM

Is there anything special you have to do the the Mybook to make them work??
Rick

#135 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 06 September 2009 - 10:35 PM

Is there anything special you have to do the the Mybook to make them work??

In most cases the solution is to replace it with a known compatible model.

From Western Digital, the recommended model is the My DVR Expander.

Edited by harsh, 06 September 2009 - 10:41 PM.


#136 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 07 September 2009 - 12:28 AM

Is there anything special you have to do the the Mybook to make them work??
Rick


The MyBook is not one of the drives that works. You need to replace it with something else, preferably one of the ones that is on DIRECTV's recommended list.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#137 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 07 September 2009 - 07:21 AM

I could have sworn I said that.

#138 OFFLINE   Steveknj

Steveknj

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 926 posts
Joined: Nov 14, 2006

Posted 07 September 2009 - 09:45 AM

OK, I bought a Phantom 1TB drive and it seems to work fine with my HR21-100. But i have a question. I am not sure if this is related to using the external drive or if this is related to the new update, but I have horrible lag time. I push remote buttons and nothing happens, it takes a moment to go from screen to screen. Trick play seems to work ok when I push those buttons.

#139 OFFLINE   tcusta00

tcusta00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,911 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2007

Posted 07 September 2009 - 10:17 AM

I could have sworn I said that.


Call me crazy (and why you don't understand this by now I'll never know) but I think it means more coming from a DirecTV Forums Moderator than a Dish subscriber. :shrug:

#140 OFFLINE   smiddy

smiddy

    Tain't ogre til its ogre

  • Registered
  • 15,618 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 07 September 2009 - 12:07 PM

Call me crazy (and why you don't understand this by now I'll never know) but I think it means more coming from a DirecTV Forums Moderator than a Dish subscriber. :shrug:

harsh is a DiSH spy, didn't you know that? :lol:
Aaron 'smiddy' Smith

#141 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,337 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 07 September 2009 - 12:07 PM

Is there anything special you have to do the the Mybook to make them work??
Rick


No, if it was gonna work, it would have according to what you have posted. All eSATAs use the same short procedure for activation. Unplug both the eSATA and the HR, plug in the jumper cable to both, then plug in the eSATA and then plug in the HR. Simple. If you followed that procedure and the My Book doesn't work, return it.

Rich

#142 OFFLINE   ljg1118

ljg1118

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 10:02 PM

I have an HR20-100 is there a place in the menu that shows details of the additional hard drive space when a working E-Sara drive is connected?

#143 OFFLINE   Drew2k

Drew2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,314 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 10:26 PM

I have an HR20-100 is there a place in the menu that shows details of the additional hard drive space when a working E-Sara drive is connected?

No. The Playlist shows the free space as a a percentage of the user's recording area on the drive, but the only way you could compare is to do it "before and after". For example, start with an empty playlist and record 5 hours from channel 202 on the internal drive. Look at the free space. Let's say it's 90%. Then plug in a new larger eSATA drive and look at your playlist. It's empty, so record 5 hours on channel 202 and look at the free space now. Let's say it's 95%. That's about all you'll be able to see in terms of capacity ...

#144 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,238 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 10 September 2009 - 07:35 AM

I have an HR20-100 is there a place in the menu that shows details of the additional hard drive space when a working E-Sara drive is connected?

Note that an external drive doesn't add "additional hard drive space" -- it completely replaces the internal storage.

#145 OFFLINE   ljg1118

ljg1118

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 10 September 2009 - 08:27 AM

Hi, yes I am aware the e-sata replaces the internal drive.

This is my problem I have had the Seagate Freeagent Pro installed for over a year and all of a sudden my HR20-100 will not recognize it, the Seagate spins, lights up but the hr20-100 is seeing the internal drive only. I have unplugged the HR20, unplugged the free agent, plugged the free agent sata connection, powered up the free agent and then powered up the HR20, and nothing...

Any way to easily test the Freeagent?

#146 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 September 2009 - 09:45 AM

Hi, yes I am aware the e-sata replaces the internal drive.

This is my problem I have had the Seagate Freeagent Pro installed for over a year and all of a sudden my HR20-100 will not recognize it, the Seagate spins, lights up but the hr20-100 is seeing the internal drive only. I have unplugged the HR20, unplugged the free agent, plugged the free agent sata connection, powered up the free agent and then powered up the HR20, and nothing...

Any way to easily test the Freeagent?


The best you can do is try it out on a PC to see if it can even be recognized. However, I'm guessing things will likely turn out in the negative on this one.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#147 OFFLINE   ljg1118

ljg1118

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 10 September 2009 - 09:47 AM

Meaning the Freeagent HD is the culprit?

#148 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 10 September 2009 - 10:54 AM

Meaning the Freeagent HD is the culprit?


That would be my guess based on the limited information that I have, yes.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#149 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 22,337 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 September 2009 - 01:19 PM

Hi, yes I am aware the e-sata replaces the internal drive.

This is my problem I have had the Seagate Freeagent Pro installed for over a year and all of a sudden my HR20-100 will not recognize it, the Seagate spins, lights up but the hr20-100 is seeing the internal drive only. I have unplugged the HR20, unplugged the free agent, plugged the free agent sata connection, powered up the free agent and then powered up the HR20, and nothing...

Any way to easily test the Freeagent?


Put it on a 20-700.

Rich

#150 OFFLINE   ljg1118

ljg1118

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 10 September 2009 - 01:51 PM

Rich:

Will the drive show up anywhere in the menu of a 20-700?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...