Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
* * * * * 1 votes

eSATA - DIRECTV recommended list


  • Please log in to reply
3164 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 10 September 2009 - 02:26 PM

Rich:

Will the drive show up anywhere in the menu of a 20-700?


Assuming you mean the HDD model number, no. There is no means of viewing the capacity of the HDD in use by the HR except for the "Available" meter at the bottom of the Playlist. At least that I know of.

Rich

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   ljg1118

ljg1118

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 63 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 10 September 2009 - 02:41 PM

No actually I was reffering to the HD capacity showing up in the menu...

#153 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 September 2009 - 10:43 AM

No actually I was reffering to the HD capacity showing up in the menu...


No.

Rich

#154 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 11 September 2009 - 10:52 AM

No actually I was reffering to the HD capacity showing up in the menu...


none of the current receivers show how large the HD is, they only show aprox free space available for recordings...I don't even remember if the Tivo's showed that info if they were running the stock software...

#155 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 11 September 2009 - 11:12 AM

none of the current receivers show how large the HD is, they only show aprox free space available for recordings...I don't even remember if the Tivo's showed that info if they were running the stock software...


TiVos showed the total capacity of the HDD, but I don't remember anything like the meter that the HRs have. Personally, I'd rather have the meter.

Rich

#156 OFFLINE   nuspieds

nuspieds

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2008

Posted 11 September 2009 - 04:12 PM

Personally, I'd rather have the meter.Rich


Me, too! What I really like is that it includes the utilization for recordings marked as "Keep Until I Delete." Definitely very informative.

Like what was suggested, I did the same thing when I hooked up my WD 2TB drive: After several recordings, especially HD, I definitely saw the difference in the meter.

#157 OFFLINE   jchester

jchester

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2006

Posted 14 September 2009 - 09:07 PM

Hey all, long time lurker, first time poster....

I found a lot of useful info about esata external drive upgrades on this site, thanks. Thought I'd share my experience, I have an HR-21/200 and I bought a 2TB Seagate ST320005N4A1AS-RK and put it in an Antec MX-1 enclosure. The first time booting it wasn't recognized but the second time it worked. It's been a week, no problems at all.

I picked up the drive at Fry's on sale for $179 and the Antec box for $49.

#158 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 14 September 2009 - 09:11 PM

I promptly returned it the next day in exchange for the Antec MX-1 and the 2TB WD Caviar Green.

I am now a very happy camper with 2TBs of storage for my HR20-700!! :joy:)!


Is this still working for you? I have the same set-up the only difference is that my 2 TB WD Caviar is the "black" version, which I thought was supposed to be better for video.

It worked OK for about a week but now I'm having audio dropouts (like really bad, unwatchable stuttering just in the soundtrack) and picture freezes/jumps.

I love the idea of having this much storage but does this set-up actually work with the HR20-700?

#159 OFFLINE   nuspieds

nuspieds

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2008

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:14 AM

Is this still working for you?...I love the idea of having this much storage but does this set-up actually work with the HR20-700?


Yes it is...I have had absolutely ZERO issues.

Perhaps there is something wrong with that drive. Is it possible for you to take it back and exchange it (for another black)?

#160 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:28 AM

Is it possible for you to take it back and exchange it (for another black)?


Yes, I just wanted to double check it wasn't because I was using the "black" versus the "green" version before I did that. I had the green in my hand, but the black said better for video and was only $25 more so I went with it. Maybe a bad idea?

#161 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 15 September 2009 - 11:28 AM

There's a problem with the Black Caviars for some reason. Not the first post that I've read about this and I've read a few reviews that reported the same problems. Take it back and get the Green Caviar with "eads" in the model number.

That HDD should give you no problems.

Rich


Thanks I was afraid of that! That's what I get for "upgrading" and not listening to exact expert advice in the first place, eh? I think I might be stuck with the black too since it's open and I think they will only do even exchange. (I'll try though.)

#162 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 15 September 2009 - 01:47 PM

Thanks I was afraid of that! That's what I get for "upgrading" and not listening to exact expert advice in the first place, eh? I think I might be stuck with the black too since it's open and I think they will only do even exchange. (I'll try though.)


I know folks don't want to hear this, but the ones that DIRECTV recommend are really the right eSATAs. Anything else is simply hit or miss. The recommendations were selected for a reason and that should not be overlooked.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#163 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 15 September 2009 - 04:01 PM

I know folks don't want to hear this, but the ones that DIRECTV recommend are really the right eSATAs. Anything else is simply hit or miss. The recommendations were selected for a reason and that should not be overlooked.


So you think the green model won't work right either?

#164 OFFLINE   nuspieds

nuspieds

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 210 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2008

Posted 15 September 2009 - 05:45 PM

So you think the green model won't work right either?

I have a green and it does work.

My configuration was based on the following member's specific experiences:

My Books are not supported...the WD solution is called the my dvr extender. its so much less hassle to order a bare bones WD 1-2TB green drive, and put it in an ANTEC MX-1. this combo works with all current HR2x models....


I already had good experiences with WD green drives, so that wasn't an issue. But when I got to Fry's, I saw all sorts of other enclosures. However, I was not in the mood for trial-and-error (even though I figured that the enclosure shouldn't matter), so I stuck with the exact recommendations and got the MX-1.

The end result was a quick and first-time successful installation.

#165 OFFLINE   imfletcher

imfletcher

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2009

Posted 15 September 2009 - 08:56 PM

I reported in another thread-- not sure which one-- that I have a Seagate Baracuda 1.5 TB mounted in the Antec MX-1 which does record when connected to the HR21/100 BUT on almost every reboot the external drive (the eSATA drive) is reformatted on the bootup which renders it useless. Just to doublecheck on this, I reinstalled it last night and it recorded the programming that I wanted, and tonight I watched the programming. All was well until I forced a reboot on the system and the eSATA drive was once again reformatted erasing all the settings and programming.
?


I have a WD MyBook TiVo Expander edition that i used with my TiVoHD for at least a year with no issues. I swapped out its WD Green 500gb drive for the same Seagate Baracuda 1.5TB drive, and hooked it up to my new HR22-100. I am also seeing the erasing issue. crazy annoying, it took forever to get all my season passes in and now its all gone. appears it will always be wiped. yay

#166 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 16 September 2009 - 12:54 PM

I have a WD MyBook TiVo Expander edition that i used with my TiVoHD for at least a year with no issues. I swapped out its WD Green 500gb drive for the same Seagate Baracuda 1.5TB drive, and hooked it up to my new HR22-100. I am also seeing the erasing issue. crazy annoying, it took forever to get all my season passes in and now its all gone. appears it will always be wiped. yay


Seagate and 21s don't get along well. The 21s include the 22s, and 23s.

Rich

#167 OFFLINE   imfletcher

imfletcher

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2009

Posted 16 September 2009 - 07:45 PM

Hmph.. i got through a few restarts without erasing it. still, hard to trust it. i think i'll go sans external rather than gather a bunch of stuff only to randomly lose it

#168 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 17 September 2009 - 09:10 AM

Hmph.. i got through a few restarts without erasing it. still, hard to trust it. i think i'll go sans external rather than gather a bunch of stuff only to randomly lose it


Or you could try a WD HDD. They work with the 22s.

Rich

#169 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 17 September 2009 - 09:49 AM

Folks .. I'd like to remind everyone that this thread is started to point out the 4 different eSATAs that DIRECTV recommends which are:

  • Western Digital 500GB (model WDG1S5000)
  • Seagate 500GB (model ST30500SCA109-RK)
  • Western Digital 1TB (model WDG1S10000)
  • Seagate 1TB (model ST31000SCA109-RK)
Anything other than those 4 models are not only untested, they are don't include the "special sauce" that helps keep the drive more reliable. If you choose to go with a different model, caveat emptor. The four drives on this list were not randomly selected. They are recommended for a reason.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#170 OFFLINE   imfletcher

imfletcher

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2009

Posted 17 September 2009 - 05:21 PM

Anything other than those 4 models are not only untested, they are don't include the "special sauce" that helps keep the drive more reliable. If you choose to go with a different model, caveat emptor. The four drives on this list were not randomly selected. They are recommended for a reason.


fair enough, can't argue with that :) how often do you suppose new drives will be added to the safe list (i.e. 1.5 and 2TB drives)?

#171 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 20,951 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 18 September 2009 - 12:57 AM

fair enough, can't argue with that :) how often do you suppose new drives will be added to the safe list (i.e. 1.5 and 2TB drives)?

The eSATA feature has been enabled for just under three years and the first "official" list came out about two and a half months ago.

Please understand that eSATA remains a "not officially supported by DIRECTV" feature.

#172 OFFLINE   susanandmark

susanandmark

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 430 posts
Joined: Feb 15, 2007

Posted 18 September 2009 - 07:51 AM

I have a green and it does work.

My configuration was based on the following member's specific experiences:

I already had good experiences with WD green drives, so that wasn't an issue. But when I got to Fry's, I saw all sorts of other enclosures. However, I was not in the mood for trial-and-error (even though I figured that the enclosure shouldn't matter), so I stuck with the exact recommendations and got the MX-1.

The end result was a quick and first-time successful installation.


I traded the 2TB WD black for 2TB WD green and, so far, it's working for me. Fingers crossed that it stays that way. I previously used a 750 GB Seagate Freeagent Pro (not on the list) for a bit more than two years before it failed on this HR20-700. I'm using a 1TB version on another HR20-700 with no issues and, finally, an Accomdata (sp?) 1 TB eSATA external on another. Both have been in use for about a year at this point; again with no problems. It seems pretty hit or miss. (For instance, I started with the same brand/model of 750GB drives on all three and I replaced one, three different times in the first year or so, while the other two, on different units, lasted and lasted with zero problems.)

With this replacement, I've replaced all my external hard drives (three units have them) at least once now, at one point or another, which is a PITA, but better than the old TiVo way of taking the unit apart to replace the internal drive (which had to be specifically formatted) or, in some cases, the entire unit. Yikes!

I LOVE the 2TB of storage. I've downloaded 2 full seasons worth of Dexter and a full season of Weeds IN HD, plus some other HD recordings, and it's only taking up 2 percent of my hard drive. As someone notorious for leaving things on the DVR for a year before I get around to watching it, with things often just going away before I get to them, all that storage is nice.

Now, if only we could get rid of that pesky 50-season-pass limit ...

My son is growing up in a world where he has no idea what channel, or when, anything is on. What he wants to watch is just always available, any time. This is a problem when we're in, say, a hotel. I dare you to try and explain the DVR concept to a 2-1/2 year old who just wants to watch his daily dose of Curious George the instant he wakes up, like he does every other morning.

#173 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 23,031 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 September 2009 - 09:23 AM

The eSATA feature has been enabled for just under three years and the first "official" list came out about two and a half months ago.

Please understand that eSATA remains a "not officially supported by DIRECTV" feature.


That's "official" according to D*, not Seagate. They don't recommend any hard drives or enclosures for DVRs. I've talked to them several times and they're always interested in the DVR market, but they still refuse to recommend any HDDs or eSATAs for DVRs. Is it really possible that D* knows more about HDDs than Seagate?

Rich

#174 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 September 2009 - 10:27 AM

That's "official" according to D*, not Seagate. They don't recommend any hard drives or enclosures for DVRs. I've talked to them several times and they're always interested in the DVR market, but they still refuse to recommend any HDDs or eSATAs for DVRs. Is it really possible that D* knows more about HDDs than Seagate?

Rich


The list is a recommendation for a feature that is technically unsupported .. "official" in any capacity can be debated, but care is taken to make it so the supported drives are on the "safe list" (that's a good name, imfletcher)
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#175 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,932 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 18 September 2009 - 10:28 AM

fair enough, can't argue with that :) how often do you suppose new drives will be added to the safe list (i.e. 1.5 and 2TB drives)?


I do not know the answer to this question.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




Protected By... spam firewall...And...