Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Would you use your R15 more if it had On Demand?


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

Poll: Would you use an R15 with Ethernet? (89 member(s) have cast votes)

Would you use an R15 with Ethernet?

  1. Yes (55 votes [61.80%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 61.80%

  2. No (12 votes [13.48%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 13.48%

  3. I have an HR2x or R22 and don't need that (22 votes [24.72%] - View)

    Percentage of vote: 24.72%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#1 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,833 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 16 July 2009 - 07:40 AM

Just curious here... how many of you with R15s would use them more if they had the same ethernet connectivity as R22s?

Personally I've never had an R15 and actually don't use the ethernet connectivity on my HR2x's very much. I'm curious if there's a large demand for it.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Car1181

Car1181

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 244 posts
Joined: Mar 30, 2006

Posted 16 July 2009 - 08:49 AM

I use DOD often when in my living room or family room where I have HD. My basement and bedroom have SD TV's and R15's and I do find it frustrating when out of habit I attempt to go to DOD and can't.

(1)HR21-200
(1)HR22-500
(5)HR24-500
All HR's connected via HDMI
SWiM/DECA/MRV
Verizon FiOS Internet 20/5
XM Radio SkyFi & MyFi

#3 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 16 July 2009 - 09:46 AM

My R15 provides occasional service in my garage.... If it would do all the neat stuff my R22 does I'd put it to use in my house... I know it will never get my locals (MPEG4) but that's OK....

(Do I smell something cooking for the USB port?)

#4 OFFLINE   LOCODUDE

LOCODUDE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,649 posts
  • LocationNew York
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 16 July 2009 - 10:44 AM

For sure..... :D That feature is sorely lacking on the R15.

Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it.

Confucius

#5 OFFLINE   dmurphy

dmurphy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,673 posts
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 16 July 2009 - 10:45 AM

Yes, yes, and DEFINITELY YES!

I'd LOVE to have OnDemand on my SD receivers ... that's where my little guy watches his Sesame Street and such, and having OnDemand would be great!

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 16 July 2009 - 01:50 PM

I would love to have an R15 with networking capabilities. The thought of being able to possibly have MRV in the future without having to upgrade to an HD-DVR since I would not be able to get another R22 would be a huge advantage for me. We currently have the R15 in our bedroom and it basically only gets watched by me when I am going to bed and can't fall asleep. My wife has watched one show on it in the past year.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   Getteau

Getteau

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 808 posts
  • LocationHouston
Joined: Dec 19, 2007

Posted 17 July 2009 - 02:06 PM

If the R15 had Ethernet and could do On-Demand/MRV, I'd trade in my slooooowwww, gray bar, R22 in a second. Now that MRV is coming, the e-SATA feature of the R22 isn't that compelling in a house with 4 other DVR's.

Thanks,
Rich

HR44-500 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR24-100 - HDMI to Panasonic TC-50S1 50" Plasma
HR23-700 - HDMI to Insignia 42" Plasma
HR22-100 - HDMI to LG 32" LCD
HR21-700 - WD 1T Green Power drive - HDMI to Toshiba 65HM167 65" rear projection

R22-200 - Component to Insignia 42" Plasma
R15 - svideo to Toshiba 32" tube tv


#8 OFFLINE   MountainMan10

MountainMan10

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 606 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 18 July 2009 - 06:24 AM

I voted no because the question asked about On Demand. I have not found much On Demand to watch on my HR. If there were more on demand movies available that were not pay per view I would use it.

I would replace my R15 with an R22 for MRV, but not for On Demand.

#9 OFFLINE   fluffybear

fluffybear

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,116 posts
  • LocationPeachtree City, GA.
Joined: Jun 19, 2004

Posted 18 July 2009 - 07:17 AM

I do not have an R15 but my folks do and after having the chance to use DOD, I know they would be in hog heaven if the R15 would work with DOD.

Proud DirecTV customer since July, 1994

My Q3 2014 Set-Up


#10 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 18 July 2009 - 07:22 PM

I don't have always-on internet access so VOD is a non-issue.

Even if it were possible, I doubt if I'd network my DVR's with each other. Each one has it's own function in my house, and my prioritizer entries on each DVR are different depending on the type of shows I watch on each DVR.

For example, an R15 connected to my kitchen TV records the local news for viewing in the morning. An R15 connected to my living room TV records entertainment shows for viewing in the evening. The R22 doesn't do much of anything. ;)

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#11 OFFLINE   LOCODUDE

LOCODUDE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,649 posts
  • LocationNew York
Joined: Aug 07, 2007

Posted 18 July 2009 - 07:35 PM

I don't have always-on internet access so VOD is a non-issue.

Even if it were possible, I doubt if I'd network my DVR's with each other. Each one has it's own function in my house, and my prioritizer entries on each DVR are different depending on the type of shows I watch on each DVR.

For example, an R15 connected to my kitchen TV records the local news for viewing in the morning. An R15 connected to my living room TV records entertainment shows for viewing in the evening. The R22 doesn't do much of anything. ;)


Too bad....a waste of an excellent receiver..... :)

Everything has its beauty, but not everyone sees it.

Confucius

#12 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 18 July 2009 - 07:41 PM

Too bad....a waste of an excellent receiver..... :)


No, I occasionally turn it on to see the original air date of a program...then I set the show up for recording on one of my R15's. ;)

I do listen to XM on the R22. It continuously gives the title/artist of what's playing on an XM channel via it's fancy screen-saver (but you can't record the music like you can on an R15, of course).

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#13 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,813 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 18 July 2009 - 08:06 PM

I have an inactive R15 and an inactive R16. So I had to think about whether or not I would consider re-activating either if networking were enabled. My answer is no, mostly because I have sufficient HR2x products for every tv location.

If I were SD only and had no HR units, then networking for the availability of potential future features would be of interest.

#14 OFFLINE   Syzygy

Syzygy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,306 posts
Joined: Dec 05, 2005

Posted 21 July 2009 - 02:16 PM

My IP won't allow me to download large files unless I (a) pay much more, or (B) do it between 1am and 5am. So, no.
Frank TiVangelist since Aug 1999, HD since Dec 2002, DirecTV since Aug 2004, DECA/MRV since Nov 2010
HR24-100 > HDMI > Pio 5020FD plasma
HR24-100 > HDMI > Sony KV30HS420 tube

DirecTV & Dish HD Channel Spreadsheet
DirecTV & Dish HD Channels Listed by Package

#15 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 22 July 2009 - 08:58 AM

My IP won't allow me to download large files unless I (a) pay much more, or (B) do it between 1am and 5am. So, no.


I have a feeling that unlimited broadband internet will be coming to an end very soon since there are more and more people using it for HUGE Video-On-Demand downloads not only from DirecTV but from Netflix (RoKu box) and other providers. And the first ISP's that will probably implement this are the big cable companies and phone companies that offer subscription TV service since this directly competes with their own Video On Demand.

Time-Warner Cable is already testing usage-based internet access in some Texas markets so the writing is on the wall...

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#16 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 36,833 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 22 July 2009 - 09:00 AM

Let's hope not. This is something people really want and will find a way to get. If you drive them underground, you create a whole new level of problem.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#17 OFFLINE   kevinwmsn

kevinwmsn

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,345 posts
Joined: Aug 19, 2006

Posted 22 July 2009 - 02:37 PM

If the R16 and a R15 with a usb nic could do MRV, I could see the network port being used by more folks than those that do ondemand.
my setup here

#18 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,538 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 22 July 2009 - 02:53 PM

My R15 is in my home office. I'd like to do MRV/DOD and Music streams. I have alot of favorites in TVersity that I'd like to play through the R15. I'm thinking about swapping it out with an HR2x just to get the network stuff in my office.

#19 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,902 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 22 July 2009 - 03:40 PM

I have an R15 AND an R22. I've I'd love to beable to share my shows and access VOD Media Share etc
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#20 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,247 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 July 2009 - 03:46 PM

I have an R15 AND an R22. I've I'd love to beable to share my shows and access VOD Media Share etc


I have the exact same setup. I would love to have VOD, Media Share, and potentially down the road MRV available on my R15 if it was able to be networked (which I assume is how you would be able to get access to VOD).

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





spam firewall