Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Help 00Prgramming Remote...


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   LinkNuc

LinkNuc

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 227 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 22 July 2009 - 05:12 PM

I have a HR23-700 and my A/V receiver is a Yamaha RX-V863, I can get the remote to turn it off with a few of the codes, but cannot get the volume to work...I have tried everything....anyone out there got similar issues and/or solutions. Thanks!
HR23-700, AM21, 360 Elite, HD-DVD, Sony KDS-60A3000..."Blu-Ray Player, heck, I have to use my PS3 for something, it sure as heck isn't a video game console"..audio:Yamaha RX-V863, Bose Acoustimass 10

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 July 2009 - 06:49 PM

Once you've programmed to amp under AV1 or 2, have you tried:
select mode AV1 or AV2,
Press and hold Mute & Select keys until green light flashes twice.
Enter 993, green light flashes twice,
Press select, green light flashes twice.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   LinkNuc

LinkNuc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 227 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 22 July 2009 - 07:02 PM

Yes, I have done that for each code that worked it still won't control the volume on the receiver.
HR23-700, AM21, 360 Elite, HD-DVD, Sony KDS-60A3000..."Blu-Ray Player, heck, I have to use my PS3 for something, it sure as heck isn't a video game console"..audio:Yamaha RX-V863, Bose Acoustimass 10

#4 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,990 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 July 2009 - 07:06 PM

You might need to wait for Edmund [our Remote Master here], or send him a PM.
A.K.A VOS

#5 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,759 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 July 2009 - 07:57 PM

The volume keys won't work at all without a tv code programmed to the tv device, once done, its volume i now in the way, to remedy that do the 993 procedure.

So try code 30176 for the yamaha, and ANY tv code it doesn't have be yours.

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press VOL DOWN

If you want the yamaha volume in ALL devices do the following instead:

1. av1 or av2
2. press and hold MUTE & SELECT for two blinks
3. enter 9 9 3
4. press SELECT
aka Tivoburkee

#6 OFFLINE   johnp37

johnp37

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 537 posts
  • LocationCentral NJ
Joined: Sep 14, 2006

Posted 22 July 2009 - 08:58 PM

If all else fails, get a Harmony remote. If you have multiple components to program it's the way to go.

#7 OFFLINE   LinkNuc

LinkNuc

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 227 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 23 July 2009 - 03:09 PM

I am an idiot, this is an ultimate DUUURRRRR! I was trying to program my YAMAHA receiver with ONKYO codes (My old receiver)...that deserves the Picard/Riker Double Face Palm FAIL, everything working fine now.
HR23-700, AM21, 360 Elite, HD-DVD, Sony KDS-60A3000..."Blu-Ray Player, heck, I have to use my PS3 for something, it sure as heck isn't a video game console"..audio:Yamaha RX-V863, Bose Acoustimass 10




Protected By... spam firewall...And...