Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can I control 3 HR2x with a single remote?


  • Please log in to reply
22 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 24 July 2009 - 10:37 AM

Folks,

My apologies if this post appears to be a duplicate. I posted a version of this earlier, but it vanished into the ether.

(1) I'm currently controlling 2 HR2x from a single remote control (and with a Harmony 880). I'm adding a 3rd HR2x, and want to know whether it's possible to control 3 HR2x boxes with the standard-issue DirecTV RC-32 remote control.

(2) I currently control all my AV components with a Harmony 880. How do I go about adding the third HR2x? (IIRC, I had to get assistance at Harmony's level-2 support to add my second HR2x).

If there are already FAQs for these topics, a link would be appreciated.

..
Joe
Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,755 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 24 July 2009 - 10:59 AM

They now have 8 IR codesets available, even though the rc32 is older remote, it has all IR codesets from 00001-00008 on board.

To switch the rc32 remote and receivers, see this thread:


http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=154302
aka Tivoburkee

#3 OFFLINE   dishrich

dishrich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,541 posts
Joined: Apr 22, 2002

Posted 24 July 2009 - 11:11 AM

I'm adding a 3rd HR2x, and want to know whether it's possible to control 3 HR2x boxes with the standard-issue DirecTV RC-32 remote control.


Yes, have done it several times w/clients - you just can't use the TV position for one of the DVR's.

#4 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 24 July 2009 - 11:25 AM

This thread should help.
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=154302

Sorry I missed Edmund's post (because I didn't refresh the page before posting). :)

I assume these instructions will also work with the RC64R remote.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#5 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 24 July 2009 - 04:32 PM

Yes, have done it several times w/clients - you just can't use the TV position for one of the DVR's.


Thanks.

Any experience with the Harmony 880? I already have an HR20 and an HR21 installed--but I don't recall how the 880 handles the IR code during setup.


Joe
Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

#6 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 24 July 2009 - 07:13 PM

I believe that Harmony has the two code sets in their database. You'll need to use the learning mode of the 880 to create the third code set.
I need to re-visit this myself since I just added the HR23 to my system.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#7 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 26 July 2009 - 01:05 PM

I believe that Harmony has the two code sets in their database. You'll need to use the learning mode of the 880 to create the third code set.
I need to re-visit this myself since I just added the HR23 to my system.


Could you confirm that on the D* remote, the four-position switch at the top selects, left-to-right, channels 1-4?

If so, this greatly simplifies things.
Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

#8 OFFLINE   MartyS

MartyS

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,104 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2006

Posted 26 July 2009 - 01:20 PM

Could you confirm that on the D* remote, the four-position switch at the top selects, left-to-right, channels 1-4?

If so, this greatly simplifies things.

NO, it selects receiver 1, AV1, AV2 and TV. Receiver 1 is set for the default DirecTV receiver. AV1, AV2 and TV can be programmed to control what you want, but I believe that they need to be set. All the instructions for setting them are here:

http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=154302
Marty

My Setup

Life is in HD and 3D -- be sure to enjoy it!!

Never argue with an idiot.
He will drag you down to his level and beat you with experience.

#9 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 27 July 2009 - 07:15 AM

I went around in circles trying to get my 880 to work the way I wanted using the DirecTV for my HR20 and AV1 for the HR23. But, the DirecTV mode ended up controlling both on the white remote. So instead of fiddling too much longer I ended up using AV1 for the HR23 and AV2 for the HR20. Then, using the IR learn capability of the 880, I taught it both sets of commands.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#10 OFFLINE   GirkMonster

GirkMonster

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 252 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2007

Posted 27 July 2009 - 09:27 AM

I went around in circles trying to get my 880 to work the way I wanted using the DirecTV for my HR20 and AV1 for the HR23. But, the DirecTV mode ended up controlling both on the white remote. So instead of fiddling too much longer I ended up using AV1 for the HR23 and AV2 for the HR20. Then, using the IR learn capability of the 880, I taught it both sets of commands.


Sorry, if I'm too late. I've been out of town. That's exactly what you have to do. You can use the Directv (RC32 or higher) remote to learn up to three different codes (0 - 8) and control up to 3 different directv boxes. You then have to teach the harmony what the codes are for your receivers. You can have the logitech folks "clone" your programming if that would help you! Since I have my receivers interconnected on a video distribution system, I programmed 1 remote and cloned my efforts onto the other 2, then, all I had to do was customize for the different tv/stereo combinations in the remote locations.

It's a bit tedious, but once you've got it done, you never have to worry about it again.
HR20, HR21, HR22, H21
11 TVs (6 HD, 5 SD)
3 Harmony 880s
ChannelPlus 3025 AV Distribution Modulator & IR system
SlingBox Pro
Linksys WRT610N Gateway and WRT310N, Gigabit wired LAN, couple of 8-port gigabit switches and a 5-port 10/100, NAS and some other stuff

#11 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 27 July 2009 - 01:06 PM

To save yourself a little trouble, codes 1 and 3 are in the harmony database already, so you only have to learn one additional code set. Code 3 is model HR20-700S3 in the harmony database. To teach your harmony any code set, temporarily program that set onto any switch position you like (mute/select 00001, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, or 8) on the D* remote, teach all the buttons to your harmony, then mute/select and enter the original code to put it back the way it was. The D position defaults to code 00001. When you're done, set your HR2x receiver number to match.

Everything you need to know is already in the original thread you posted in, which is the same one that's been linked in this thread several times. I can't determine what part of the process is confusing you, but you seem to be making this much harder than it is.

#12 OFFLINE   jdspencer

jdspencer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,565 posts
Joined: Nov 07, 2003

Posted 27 July 2009 - 01:22 PM

I got wrapped up in the fact that the Advance setup talked about 3 or more receivers so I tried the other method where one receiver would stay in DirecTV mode and the second would be AV1. Anyway, the advanced setup works just fine and the 880 is set to control the 2 DVRs, a Sony AV receiver, the Mits RP HDTV and a LiteOn DVD recorder.
DirecTV since '96, Waivers for ABC, CBS, NBC, & Fox, HR23-700 & HR24-500/AM21, using ethernet based MRV.

#13 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 28 July 2009 - 09:54 AM

I went around in circles trying to get my 880 to work the way I wanted using the DirecTV for my HR20 and AV1 for the HR23. But, the DirecTV mode ended up controlling both on the white remote. So instead of fiddling too much longer I ended up using AV1 for the HR23 and AV2 for the HR20. Then, using the IR learn capability of the 880, I taught it both sets of commands.


Is there any way to get an HR2x to reveal which codeset (0001, etc) it's configured for?
Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

#14 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 10,864 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 28 July 2009 - 09:58 AM

Menu, setup, setup, remote, receiver mode. It will show you what it is set to (DTV, AV1, AV2). If it is set to DTV, it is 00001. If it is set to AV1/AV2 it is 00003.

Advanced Setup to use a code above 00003.

#15 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 28 July 2009 - 12:44 PM

Menu, setup, setup, remote, receiver mode. It will show you what it is set to (DTV, AV1, AV2). If it is set to DTV, it is 00001. If it is set to AV1/AV2 it is 00003.

Advanced Setup to use a code above 00003.


I'm confused. I have a brand new HR20-700 I'd like to install in addition to the HR20-100 and HR21-700.

Following your directions, I see the following

Remote switch---Receiver Mode shown in Setup--- Model #
D* icon------------DIRECTV ------------------------- HR20-100
AV1--------------- AVI1/AVI2 ----------------------- HR21-700

Nowhere do I see the actual number for the code sets already in use for the HR20-100 and HR21-700. How am I supposed to choose an "unused" code set if I can't see

Later, I need to set up my Harmony 880. Any suggestions on how I should proceed?

Edited by TigerDriver, 28 July 2009 - 01:28 PM.

Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

#16 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 28 July 2009 - 01:49 PM

3rd screenshot HERE. Your current code is in yellow. Receiver 1 = 00001, Receiver 2 = 00002, etc. Exit out to avoid making any changes.

On the harmony add a new device and follow the wizard. Learn all the buttons from your D* remote (which you've already programmed for the new code with mute/select 0000x, where x = receiver number) when you get to that point.

#17 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 28 July 2009 - 02:59 PM

3rd screenshot HERE. Your current code is in yellow. Receiver 1 = 00001, Receiver 2 = 00002, etc. Exit out to avoid making any changes.


I assume when you use the word 'yellow' you mean 'highlighted.'

So upon reaching this screen the Continue button is highlighted, not the This is: Reciever X, where X is the receiver number.

If I left-arrow over to the This is: box, it shows Receiver 1 for both the HR20 and HR21--although these receivers are currently working on independent codesets (although I don't which ones).

So, so far as I can tell, there's no way to identify which codeset a receiver is currently using--short of cycling through all the possibilities until I find the one that works.

Still confused :confused:

Edited by TigerDriver, 28 July 2009 - 03:13 PM.

Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator

#18 OFFLINE   Edmund

Edmund

    Remote Master

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,755 posts
  • LocationSouthern Ca
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 28 July 2009 - 03:21 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...408&postcount=3
aka Tivoburkee

#19 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 28 July 2009 - 06:51 PM

The 3rd screenshot shows your current Receiver mode, I swear. You may THINK they're using independent codesets, but if they both show Receiver 1, then they're both receiver 1.

Don't believe me? Then here's another way:

...Menu>System Setup>Info&Test>MoreSystemInfo>

Scroll down about a quarter of the way to Receiver Mode:

You'll see Receiver 1, 2, 3, etc.

(Same as GirkMonster said in the very first response to your question HERE)

If that's not proof enough, you'll have to go through Edmund's procedure and change it and look at the results. Even if you remain unconvinced, the only possibilities for your current setup are 1 and/or 3 anyway. So just pick any code besides those (2 or 4 thru 8) for your new DVR and forget about the existing ones.

#20 OFFLINE   TigerDriver

TigerDriver

    Electronics Engineer

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 570 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2007

Posted 29 July 2009 - 09:26 AM

The 3rd screenshot shows your current Receiver mode, I swear. You may THINK they're using independent codesets, but if they both show Receiver 1, then they're both receiver 1.

Don't believe me? Then here's another way:

...Menu>System Setup>Info&Test>MoreSystemInfo>

Scroll down about a quarter of the way to Receiver Mode:

You'll see Receiver 1, 2, 3, etc.

(Same as GirkMonster said in the very first response to your question HERE)

If that's not proof enough, you'll have to go through Edmund's procedure and change it and look at the results. Even if you remain unconvinced, the only possibilities for your current setup are 1 and/or 3 anyway. So just pick any code besides those (2 or 4 thru 8) for your new DVR and forget about the existing ones.



Thanks for your patience. But, forgive me, it's not a matter of my not believing you; indeed, it's a matter of your not believing me--even as I'm look right at the DVRs' screens. Both DVRs' 'Receiver Mode' screens showed Receiver 1--even though both the RC32 remote and my Harmony 880, as always, operated their respective DVRs independently and correctly.

However, the screen at Menu>System Setup>Info&Test>MoreSystemInfo gave the correct information. It showed my HR20 as Receiver 1 and my HR21 as Receiver 3. (Sorry, I didn't understand Girkmonster's abbreviated reference to 'Info'.)

As a test, I set my HR21 up to operate temporarily at codeset 5 using AV2 on the remote, confirmed it via >MoreSystemInfo, and verified that it operated the HR21 correctly. Now I went back to the the HR21's 'Receiver Mode' screen--which still identified the HR21 as Receiver 1.

Annoyed by the discrepancy between the HR21's 'Receiver Mode' and its >MoreSystemInfo, I awoke this morning and rebooted my HR21. Lo, the 'Receiver Mode' screen now agrees with >MoreSystemInfo. My conclusion: the HR21 (to use a technical term) had its head wedged.

Now the entire process makes sense to me and I can proceed to set up my new HR20-700 and teach Harmony 880 about it as Receiver 2.

Thanks again for all your help and patience.
Joe

HR20-100, HR24NC-100, HR21-700
Samsung HLS5687WX 56" DLP
Onkyo TX-SR705 A/V receiver
Samsung Blue-Ray/DVD player
4-channel NTSC modulator




spam firewall