Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Lightning strike and weird issues now


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jvmjr

jvmjr

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 30 July 2009 - 09:24 AM

Ok, long time listener, first time caller (maybe not first time, but it's been a while). :lol: So lightning either hit my house or very close. No visible damage to the house but lots of issues. One issue is it seems both receivers are working but I am getting strange channels and my HD DVR (directv 20 version) keeps searching for sat 2. My locals seem to be the channels that don't work. For example, channel 9 is CBS but on both dvrs, it is now some pay per view. Very weird. I have a service call but wondered if there is anything I can do now?? I looked around on the forums but couldn't find much on this. Maybe an LNB is out or my multiswitch is funky??
Thanks
Jay

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 July 2009 - 09:41 AM

Some people have stated that a full power off of the DVR's and a flush of the Guide data has resolved issues like that. Unplug your DVR for 30 minutes and then plug it back in and boot up. Once booted up, perform an RBR, let it boot up and perform an RBR again. The two RBR's within a few minutes of each other will cause the Guide data to flush and reload.

HTH,
Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 30 July 2009 - 09:48 AM

Mr. Merg is right, those are good diagnostic steps. If they don't work, try refreshing your services by following this link (must have a login @ DIRECTV.com):

https://www.directv....thorization.jsp

...and I'm moving this to the HD DVR forum.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 July 2009 - 09:51 AM

Mr. Merg is right, those are good diagnostic steps. If they don't work, try refreshing your services by following this link (must have a login @ DIRECTV.com):

https://www.directv....thorization.jsp

...and I'm moving this to the HD DVR forum.


Ooops... Forgot about that possible solution...

And Mr. Merg, huh? Who do you think I am? My father? :lol:

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   jvmjr

jvmjr

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Feb 12, 2008

Posted 30 July 2009 - 11:56 AM

Sorry, wasn't sure what thread. I have brought the dvr to my work to try it here. I only have one line here but it is working on the sat 1 in. Interesting though, here at the office it says not to use the bbc converter. I took it off and it seems to be working fine. Now I am going to hook up sat 2 and see if that works. Do you guys think the half hour no power thing would help the Tivo HD DVR too?

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,267 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 July 2009 - 01:29 PM

If your receiver works fine at your work, there could be an issue with your multi-switch at home. I've also heard reports that if it is incorrectly grounded or the cabling into the multi-switch is not up to par, it can also cause issues like the cross-over channels.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...