Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Dish Movers


  • Please log in to reply
18 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 736 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 20 August 2009 - 04:17 PM

I'm changing apt and will NOT be using dish movers. The reason being the dish is installed on a cement bucket and it will be moved there as well. I know an independent installer who will do it for me for a charge. He was the same person who installed it in my current apt.

Will dish give some $$ credit if i call them and say this?

I will be spending 50-75 bucks for this move but will not be using the company's time and efforts. Will i get atleast 25-30 bucks in credit if not the actual 50-75 that i will be spending?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 20 August 2009 - 04:26 PM

The only way to really find out is to call and find out.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#3 OFFLINE   Richard King

Richard King

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 21,331 posts
Joined: Mar 25, 2002

Posted 20 August 2009 - 04:44 PM

I doubt it. The main reason for the movers program is they want to leave the dish behind so the new person in the space will sign up
The Pump Don't Work 'cause the Vandals Took the Handles.

#4 OFFLINE   Mr-Rick

Mr-Rick

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 20 August 2009 - 05:01 PM

I'm changing apt and will NOT be using dish movers. The reason being the dish is installed on a cement bucket and it will be moved there as well. I know an independent installer who will do it for me for a charge. He was the same person who installed it in my current apt.

Will dish give some $$ credit if i call them and say this?

I will be spending 50-75 bucks for this move but will not be using the company's time and efforts. Will i get atleast 25-30 bucks in credit if not the actual 50-75 that i will be spending?

Thanks


Also a MOVER requires a new 24-month commitment.

#5 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 20 August 2009 - 05:11 PM

Also a MOVER requires a new 24-month commitment.


Not necesarilly true. You also get one free per year if you have the Digital Home Protection Plan. Couple other ways as well.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#6 OFFLINE   dbrakob

dbrakob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2006

Posted 20 August 2009 - 06:18 PM

I just did a Dishmove. Sign up the day before with DHPP, cancel DHPP a day later and the move costs you about a dollar or two with NO committment. Plus it is guaranteed for 30 days I think. Not sure why you would pay somebody else to do it when Dish will do it for a few dollars.

#7 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 736 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:11 PM

I'm going to call them tomorrow and find out. Thanks

My only peeve is that a friend of mine has directv. The move was free irrespective of DHPP and they also give all movie channels free for 3 months.

#8 OFFLINE   Mertzen

Mertzen

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,682 posts
Joined: Dec 08, 2006

Posted 20 August 2009 - 07:16 PM

I doubt it. The main reason for the movers program is they want to leave the dish behind so the new person in the space will sign up


I highly doubt that is their motive. Keeping a customer is the main reason.
No longer doing DBS work, but missing every moment of it.

#9 OFFLINE   dbrakob

dbrakob

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Apr 25, 2006

Posted 21 August 2009 - 09:19 AM

I doubt it. The main reason for the movers program is they want to leave the dish behind so the new person in the space will sign up.

I actually totally agree with this. When I was taking my marketing class getting my MBA we actually studied Dish vs. Direct and this was the primary reason for leaving the Dish. A free move usually keeps the current customer and most people do not care if they bgring their Dish or leave it. People in general do the "easy" thing and if you move into a house that already has Dish wired for use you are more inclined to just let it ride and at least give it a try. Great marketing to snag new customers IMHO.

#10 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 736 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 21 August 2009 - 10:46 AM

Is there a "good" phone number where i can talk to someone who can take decisions (preferably based out of US) than the generic 1888dish number which is handled offshore?

#11 OFFLINE   BattleZone

BattleZone

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,969 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2007

Posted 21 August 2009 - 02:49 PM

Is there a "good" phone number where i can talk to someone who can take decisions (preferably based out of US) than the generic 1888dish number which is handled offshore?


No. In fact, internal numbers are changed on a regular basis to prevent people from bypassing the front-line CSRs.

Also, most of Dish's call centers are in the US, and the bulk of the calls are handled here.

#12 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 21 August 2009 - 03:40 PM

Is there a "good" phone number where i can talk to someone who can take decisions (preferably based out of US) than the generic 1888dish number which is handled offshore?

1-800-333-3474 has been DISH's phone number since it started business, just look at the info screen on your receiver.:):):)

#13 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 736 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 21 August 2009 - 10:01 PM

1-800-333-3474 has been DISH's phone number since it started business, just look at the info screen on your receiver.:):):)


I thought this number by default gets answered from the phillipines or india.

#14 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 21 August 2009 - 11:19 PM

I thought this number by default gets answered from the phillipines or india.


Didn't you want a number that was "(preferably based out of US)"? :D
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#15 OFFLINE   oxipital

oxipital

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 22, 2009

Posted 22 August 2009 - 01:21 AM

You're calling a local guy to have him move a bucket and run some cable...
and you expect Dish network to somehow give you some kind of a credit for
it? Is this a serious question?

Say this to yourself and see if it makes sense:

"I'm having work done on my car by my own volition and I would like you to help subsidize it, auto manufacturer."

Only call if you're going to have Dish set up the move. Otherwise, save yourself the hold and the trouble of the call.

#16 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 736 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 22 August 2009 - 11:16 AM

Didn't you want a number that was "(preferably based out of US)"? :D


Yes. The common 1800DISH number always goes to india or phillipines.

#17 OFFLINE   quizzer

quizzer

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 736 posts
Joined: Aug 29, 2006

Posted 22 August 2009 - 11:18 AM

You're calling a local guy to have him move a bucket and run some cable...
and you expect Dish network to somehow give you some kind of a credit for
it? Is this a serious question?

Say this to yourself and see if it makes sense:

"I'm having work done on my car by my own volition and I would like you to help subsidize it, auto manufacturer."

Only call if you're going to have Dish set up the move. Otherwise, save yourself the hold and the trouble of the call.



The reason being dish network installers dont do custom installations. Even if they do they charge like 100-150. I have experienced it b4.

The independent ones can do better quality for 50-60.

My friend got 3 months free on all movie channels when he moved --- Directv.

I was hoping something similar.

#18 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 22 August 2009 - 11:28 AM

Yes. The common 1800DISH number always goes to india or phillipines.


um...no, not always.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#19 OFFLINE   Grampa67

Grampa67

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 117 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2005

Posted 22 August 2009 - 02:06 PM

Yes. The common 1800DISH number always goes to india or phillipines.


Their is a sighn in front of Dish Headquarters

" Customer reps wanted $10.50/hour" so not all calls go over seas.




spam firewall