Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

D12-100 vs D12-300


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   vacations4ever

vacations4ever

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2009

Posted 21 August 2009 - 03:37 PM

I bought off of ebay a D12-100 I got a D12-300?? My card that came out of the old D12-100 Will not work ?? Why? What can I DO!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 21 August 2009 - 03:46 PM

Model number has nothing to do with it. Have you called DirecTV?

#3 OFFLINE   RobertE

RobertE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 8,024 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2006

Posted 21 August 2009 - 03:49 PM

Access cards are married to the receiver. In other words, it's unlikely that DirecTv will activate your card on your ebay receiver.

On to ebay.

I hope you verified with DirecTv that the receiver in question was in fact owned and not leased. If it was leased, your odds of being able to activate it on your account are next to zero.
Have an Error or Diagnostic code? Find out what it means and how to fix it here: Click Me
Having issues with your HD locals? Report them here: Click Me
Is your receiver compatible with MRV? Check Here

#4 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,232 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 21 August 2009 - 08:13 PM

As noted, the dash number (100, 300) indicates the manufacturer and does not differntiate features or capabilities.

As to activating the unit, you do need to call DirecTV. If the D12 was in fact owned (by the seller), then you should also own it and should be able to activate it. If the D12 was a leased unit, then you won't be able to activate it and will have to deal with the seller for recourse.

If you can activate it, then the next question is with what access card. If the D12 was new, and came with an access card, then you simply call DirecTV and activate it with that card. If the D12 did not have a card, then you *might* be able to move a card from another receiver to the new unit and activate it (and deactivate the other receiver). More likely though, is you will have to purchase a new access card (about $20) for the new D12 in order to activate it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...