Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Acoustic Research XSight: Discussion Thread


  • Please log in to reply
305 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   Lee L

Lee L

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,134 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2002

Posted 02 September 2009 - 07:37 AM

I know I'm a novice compared to most of you. However, I'm having difficulty understanding why would you need this device to operate more than one D* receiver? My remote stays in my home theater room.

Well, lots of people have more than one DirecTV receiver in one room.


DirecTV, please don't make me have to go back to watching March Madness in standard Def! Oh, and the usual begging for AMC and BBC America. You are so close to actually being the HD Leader.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 07:39 AM

Well, I was at Best Buy last night and I saw the beast. I picked it up, shook my head sadly, and put it back down. :(


Beast is the right word. I'll give them this much, it's very well made. It's has some weight to it. It's made of thick plastic and doesn't feel like a toy, like most Harmony remotes do. It's not very ergonomic in comparison to others but it's well balanced and sits comfortably in your hand.

If you have a ton of stuff and only one DirecTV receiver it may be the right remote for you. But in most of our cases it won't work because of multiple receivers.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#153 OFFLINE   John Buckingham

John Buckingham

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Sep 15, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 07:40 AM

Well, lots of people have more than one DirecTV receiver in one room.


What are the advantages of having multiple receivers?

#154 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 37,060 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 07:43 AM

Being able to record more than two things for watching on the same TV
Being able to watch/buffer more than two things at the same time
Organizing recordings (his/hers/kids DVRs)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#155 OFFLINE   TheRatPatrol

TheRatPatrol

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,942 posts
  • LocationPhoenix, AZ
Joined: Oct 01, 2003

Posted 02 September 2009 - 07:43 AM

What are the advantages of having multiple receivers?

So you can record more then 2 things at once.

#156 OFFLINE   anubys

anubys

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 432 posts
Joined: Jan 19, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 07:46 AM

What are the advantages of having multiple receivers?


in additions to what others have said: being able to watch two things at once (e.g. Red Zone Channel on one TV and a football game on the other)...

I might also watch a game on one TV (on mute) while the second TV has something playing for the kids...
DVR Equipment:
1 HR20-100
2 HR21-100 (each upgraded to 1 TB)
2 HR22-100 (each upgraded to 1 TB)
AM21 hooked up to one HR21

#157 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:07 AM

Since I could care less about RF and would get the 15/color model instead anyway I'd guess this RF limitation doesn't effect me at all. I can still control multiple DirecTV receivers via IR just fine I'd guess.


You can. I have. I'm a bit wary of assuming that one user has managed to eliminate all possibilities of RF as well. The IR setup is a bit odd for multiple boxes, so it would not shock me if the RF method is odd as well. I am especially wary when he reports you cannot do something that I have already managed to do (IR control of two boxes).

For IR, one has to use the advanced mode to select specific device codes (S1388 for the AV1 position), or both "devices" will control the original unit. For RF I'd suggest setting two boxes up in IR, getting them to work separately, THEN converting each to RF. I'd also suggest calling their support folks.

At the very least, this is something a software update will fix. Since my unit re-flashed itself coming out of the box, such updates are possible. Contact their support.

Edited by gully_foyle, 02 September 2009 - 08:14 AM.

DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#158 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:10 AM

If I'm not mistaken this is a Harmony device?

It is NOT a Harmony device. It is designed by One4All and marketed in the USA by Acoustic Research. Harmony is owned by Logitech.

Edited by gully_foyle, 02 September 2009 - 08:17 AM.

DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#159 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:16 AM

When setting up these remotes I STRONGLY recommend that one set up all the devices before setting up activites. This is not a Harmony and is at its base, device and macro based. "Activities" are just wizard-generated macros. The problems people are having may be because they are trying to set up activities first.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#160 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 37,060 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:16 AM

To be more precise, it's designed by Universal Electronics, makers of the One-For-All products.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#161 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:44 AM

For RF I'd suggest setting two boxes up in IR, getting them to work separately, THEN converting each to RF. I'd also suggest calling their support folks.


I tried it, it doesn't work. Trust me if you go to turn on DirecTV RF you can only use it on ONE unit and it assigns that RF code to EVERY DirecTV device so that you can't even use one RF and one IR. Please don't assume what I did and did not try and make me out to be some sort of liar. I tried everything possible with the remote to get RF to work on more than one unit and RF to work with another unit in IR, it's not possible.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#162 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:45 AM

It is NOT a Harmony device. It is designed by One4All and marketed in the USA by Acoustic Research. Harmony is owned by Logitech.


He wasn't referring to the AR remotes, he was referring to the Bluetooth to IR adapter that spartanstew was offering to him.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#163 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:46 AM

When setting up these remotes I STRONGLY recommend that one set up all the devices before setting up activites. This is not a Harmony and is at its base, device and macro based. "Activities" are just wizard-generated macros. The problems people are having may be because they are trying to set up activities first.


I setup all the devices first.

Again, please do not assume what I did or did not do...

Oh, and btw, you can't setup activities without setting up the devices for them first.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#164 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 08:47 AM

What are the advantages of having multiple receivers?


Less of a chance of recording conflicts. There are times when I'm recording a show on NBC, ABC, CBS and FOX all at the same time.

And I use the H21, for now, to watch NASCAR races so I can flip between the network feed and the Hotpass channel without disturbing recordings.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#165 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 10:39 AM

Let me see if I've got this straight.

It won't allow for more then on DirecTV receiver in a room in both IR and RF.
It doesn't track TOAD power states.
Can I trick it into thinking I have two of the exact same TVs, each connected to a different DirecTV DVR? Then again why would I want to?

It sounds much easier to stick with my MX-810. :grin:

I'm majorly Bummed. :(

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#166 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 10:40 AM

What are the advantages of having multiple receivers?

We have two in our living room for Monday & Friday night recording conflicts...no we have none :D

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#167 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 11:10 AM

Let me see if I've got this straight.

It won't allow for more then on DirecTV receiver in a room in both IR and RF.


kcmurphy88 says he was able to do this with the Xsight Color, I wasn't able to with the Xsight Touch.

It doesn't track TOAD power states.


No, it does not. And for units without discrete power on/off it can be a pain.

Can I trick it into thinking I have two of the exact same TVs, each connected to a different DirecTV DVR? Then again why would I want to?


Odds are you couldn't.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#168 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 11:14 AM

kcmurphy88 says he was able to do this with the Xsight Color, I wasn't able to with the Xsight Touch.



No, it does not. And for units without discrete power on/off it can be a pain.



Odds are you couldn't.

Odds are, ok IMHO this is a poorly thought out implementation.

Potential fixes could have been the reason for the delays. Just pondering out loud but maybe the fixes got pretty complicated and spawned a new remote. It's a theory....I hope. :grin:

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#169 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 11:27 AM

Odds are, ok IMHO this is a poorly thought out implementation.

Potential fixes could have been the reason for the delays. Just pondering out loud but maybe the fixes got pretty complicated and spawned a new remote. It's a theory....I hope. :grin:

Mike


Quite possibly. If I find out 6 months from now that things have been fixed and the remote will work as you'd think it should then I'd get another one. Right now though it just doesn't fit my needs since I have 3 receivers in 1 room and it will only let me control 1.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#170 OFFLINE   Mike Bertelson

Mike Bertelson

    6EQUJ5 WOW!

  • Moderators
  • 14,004 posts
Joined: Jan 24, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 11:52 AM

Quite possibly. If I find out 6 months from now that things have been fixed and the remote will work as you'd think it should then I'd get another one. Right now though it just doesn't fit my needs since I have 3 receivers in 1 room and it will only let me control 1.

I'm with you. As much as I loved the idea of this remote in the beginning, it is now apparent that it doesn't meet the hype.

I might get an MX-880. ;)

Mike

µß
Since it costs 1.66¢ to produce a penny, my 2¢ worth is really 3.32¢ worth.  That 3.32¢ is my own and not the 3.32¢ of DIRECTV, Dish, or anyone else for that matter.


#171 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 02:37 PM

I tried it, it doesn't work. Trust me if you go to turn on DirecTV RF you can only use it on ONE unit and it assigns that RF code to EVERY DirecTV device so that you can't even use one RF and one IR. Please don't assume what I did and did not try and make me out to be some sort of liar. I tried everything possible with the remote to get RF to work on more than one unit and RF to work with another unit in IR, it's not possible.


I'm not "making you out to be some sort of liar", but I note that you said that you cannot have 2 DirecTV boxes controlled by _IR_ AND IN THAT YOU ARE MISTAKEN. You just cannot do it with the normal wizard sequence.

GIven that you were mistaken in this, I suggest that maybe you are mistaken in the other, and there is some sequence that will work not based on the wizards.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#172 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 02:40 PM

I setup all the devices first.

Again, please do not assume what I did or did not do...

Oh, and btw, you can't setup activities without setting up the devices for them first.


You set upt the first box (the one on the normal unit number) with the wizard. When you set up the second one (the one on AV1), you select DirecTV, but instead of putting in the model number or remote model number, you select ADVANCED and select code S1388, test, and then write to flash.

You will now be able to control both boxes independently in IR.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here

#173 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 03:08 PM

I'm not "making you out to be some sort of liar", but I note that you said that you cannot have 2 DirecTV boxes controlled by _IR_ AND IN THAT YOU ARE MISTAKEN. You just cannot do it with the normal wizard sequence.

GIven that you were mistaken in this, I suggest that maybe you are mistaken in the other, and there is some sequence that will work not based on the wizards.


This may be a difference between the touch and the color but you CANNOT have 2 in IR with the Touch... Again, don't assume...
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#174 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,360 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 02 September 2009 - 03:09 PM

You set upt the first box (the one on the normal unit number) with the wizard. When you set up the second one (the one on AV1), you select DirecTV, but instead of putting in the model number or remote model number, you select ADVANCED and select code S1388, test, and then write to flash.

You will now be able to control both boxes independently in IR.


And that's EXACTLY what I tried... Again, didn't work on the Touch.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#175 OFFLINE   gully_foyle

gully_foyle

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,300 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jan 17, 2007

Posted 02 September 2009 - 03:10 PM

Odds are, ok IMHO this is a poorly thought out implementation.

Potential fixes could have been the reason for the delays. Just pondering out loud but maybe the fixes got pretty complicated and spawned a new remote. It's a theory....I hope. :grin:

Mike


So far I have found some issues with the wizards, and had to try a few codes before I found the right one for the second HR2x (IR). I would think that the _IR_ firmware is the same between the 15G and 18G, but who knows?

But, the One4All wizard aside, I very much like the way the remote works and find it very well designed for someone coming from the One4All/JP1 community. But then I am a big fan of stateless logic in a remote. It may be rather badly designed for someone expecting it to work in a state-based structure like a Harmony.

I do get annoyed when one user looks at one function, and declares the entire device to be trash as a result. Especially when some of the things he reports behave differently here. Maybe I just need to be a bit more tolerant.
DirecTV since 1994 // 2014Q2 Setup here




Protected By... spam firewall...And...