Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV2PC v5708 - Issues & Discussion


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
130 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 10:33 AM

Important Note:

Please, DO NOT CALL CUSTOMER SUPPORT about this version.
Your cooperation in this matter is greatly appreciated.

The Contents of this Download: (Differences based on last National Release)

Download v5708
Download DIRECTV2PC Playback Advisor

New features
  • No new features since last version

Improved/Updated
  • Parental locking (lost in some situations)
  • TrickPlay on XP/SP3

Notes
  • Please use your existing DIRECTV2PC key .. If you do not have one, please complete the Beta Download process @ http://www.directv.com/directv2pc
  • New Codecs may be download & installed as part of the setup/activation process after installation.

DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,029 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 09 September 2009 - 11:43 AM

Installed on my Vista 64 desktop, that went OK. Started it up, got the activating and codec's installed and found my DVR's. Selected a program, it started playing and I hit 30sec skip, program stopped, got a popup from Vista saying that DireTV2PC had stopped and did it want me to find more info. That hung since my internet access also hung up when DirecTV2PC hung, couldn't even ping anything. Below is from the event log.

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          9/9/2009 12:33:54 PM
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      Quad
Description:
Faulting application DIRECTV2PC(TM).exe, version 2.0.0.5708, time stamp 0x4a23d8d0, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 6.0.6002.18005, time stamp 0x49e03824, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00038e7c, process id 0x1898, application start time 0x01ca31738800f7e2.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-09-09T17:33:54.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>14332</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Quad</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>DIRECTV2PC(TM).exe</Data>
    <Data>2.0.0.5708</Data>
    <Data>4a23d8d0</Data>
    <Data>ntdll.dll</Data>
    <Data>6.0.6002.18005</Data>
    <Data>49e03824</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>00038e7c</Data>
    <Data>1898</Data>
    <Data>01ca31738800f7e2</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>

Second event

Log Name:      Application
Source:        Application Error
Date:          9/9/2009 12:34:10 PM
Event ID:      1000
Task Category: (100)
Level:         Error
Keywords:      Classic
User:          N/A
Computer:      Quad
Description:
Faulting application DIRECTV2PC(TM).exe, version 2.0.0.5708, time stamp 0x4a23d8d0, faulting module ntdll.dll, version 6.0.6002.18005, time stamp 0x49e03824, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x00061cb2, process id 0x1898, application start time 0x01ca31738800f7e2.
Event Xml:
<Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
  <System>
    <Provider Name="Application Error" />
    <EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
    <Level>2</Level>
    <Task>100</Task>
    <Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
    <TimeCreated SystemTime="2009-09-09T17:34:10.000Z" />
    <EventRecordID>14333</EventRecordID>
    <Channel>Application</Channel>
    <Computer>Quad</Computer>
    <Security />
  </System>
  <EventData>
    <Data>DIRECTV2PC(TM).exe</Data>
    <Data>2.0.0.5708</Data>
    <Data>4a23d8d0</Data>
    <Data>ntdll.dll</Data>
    <Data>6.0.6002.18005</Data>
    <Data>49e03824</Data>
    <Data>c0000005</Data>
    <Data>00061cb2</Data>
    <Data>1898</Data>
    <Data>01ca31738800f7e2</Data>
  </EventData>
</Event>

Update, tried this again after the reboot and it failed the same way again.

Edited by RAD, 09 September 2009 - 11:53 AM.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 11:51 AM

Installed/activated fine.
MPEG-2 doesn't seemed to have changed.
SD recording will still stall/jump ahead while audio is continuous.
Played same recordinf off my HR21 and didn't have these problems.
Discovery Planet Earth [MPEG-2] also has these, though they're slight and one needs to look close to see them. CPU ~ 30% with peaks ~45%.
MPEG-4 HD doesn't show these stalls/jumps and CPU usage is < 10%
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 530 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 09 September 2009 - 12:04 PM

This was a mistake, now the program starts to play and then a few seconds later it goes to a purple screen and throws up the content/HDCP blah, blah banner. Definitely something wrong there.

#5 OFFLINE   MikeW

MikeW

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,542 posts
Joined: May 16, 2002

Posted 09 September 2009 - 12:34 PM

HR20-700 running v. 350

I can play anything from the DVR with the exception of one local OTA channel. When I start a program from OTA 4 (KVOA-Tucson) I get the attached message.

The application closes and I am no longer able to browse the internet. I must restart the computer to regain internet access.

Attached Thumbnails

  • error.JPG


#6 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,407 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 09 September 2009 - 12:41 PM

Installation and activation went fine, I was concerned because the program appeared to lock up the system downloading it's initial updates.

Also, I was finally able to playback VOD content on my PC.

However, playback of content freshly downloaded from channel 1889 hesitated and the screen froze multiple times during playback. The server was a R22-200. I will continue to test and post observations as needed.

#7 OFFLINE   wjanowski

wjanowski

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 35 posts
Joined: Jan 15, 2008

Posted 09 September 2009 - 03:49 PM

Seems to work with a dual-monitor setup in Windows 7 RC now.

#8 OFFLINE   bearcatzack

bearcatzack

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 24 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2007

Posted 09 September 2009 - 05:50 PM

DirecTV cannot display this video because your graphics card does not currently support screen capture protection for protected content. Try updating your graphics card driver or modify your driver settings.

This has always been an issue. On a Dell Latitude D630. Intel Express GM965 chipset. Intel drivers don't work on the Dell computer, Dell won't release new driver.

#9 OFFLINE   neoh74

neoh74

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2009

Posted 09 September 2009 - 06:03 PM

last night the updated version downloaded fine but was choppy video and audio. Every time i try to install these new versions today i get an error when the codecs are installing! says it has a bad cab file!

#10 OFFLINE   neoh74

neoh74

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Sep 09, 2009

Posted 09 September 2009 - 06:10 PM

I keep getting error 1334. The file '_AA66EE46596A41878663EBD10F0C8ADF' cannot be installed because the file cannot be found in cabinet file 'Data1.cab' This could indicate a netwrk error, an error reading from the cd rom, or a problem with this package.

#11 OFFLINE   dettxw

dettxw

    MRVing

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,034 posts
  • LocationChoctaw, OK
Joined: Nov 21, 2007

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:03 PM

Downloaded, installed, and activated on the desktop with no problem.

Played HD mpeg4, HD mpeg2 (sat) & HD mpeg2 (OTA) with no problems.

-Steve- Subscriber since Sept 1998  My Complete Setup 

SWM16 / HR44-500 (2TB & AM21) / HR34-700 (3TB & AM21) / HR24-500 (2TB eSATA) / C31 via WCCK / C41 x2 / C41W / H25-700


#12 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 839 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:06 PM

I can't seem to get my screen shot. But it says I cannot playback video because my monitor or computer does not support the playback of protected content.

#13 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,659 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:13 PM

I keep getting activation failed on the last Key that I got. . . I'm running out of downloads and email addresses and activation keys. . . HELP!

And unfortunately, it was working before I upgraded!

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#14 OFFLINE   dodge boy

dodge boy

    R.I.P. Chris Henry

  • Banned User
  • 4,231 posts
Joined: Mar 31, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:21 PM

I lost my old code and can not get a new one emailed to me and yeah I created a new email address...

#15 OFFLINE   Jasqid

Jasqid

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Oct 26, 2008

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:22 PM

Alright. I got an Asus VH202 LCD (HDCP Compliant) and an ATI Radeo HD 2400 Pro (HDCP Compliant). The playback advisor gave me a greenlight on everything.

Trying to play a 3:10 Yuma recorded from showtimeHD and getting:

"Cannot play video content on output device because it cant apply hardware protection mechanism."

Am I missing something?

Edit: It's happening on everything.

Edited by Jasqid, 09 September 2009 - 07:24 PM.
Add

=================================
HR44-500 (HDMI) -> Samsung 56" DLP (HL56A650)
C41 (HDMI) -> LG 42" & GenieGo2


#16 OFFLINE   keenan

keenan

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 530 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2005

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:23 PM

I just tried to reload 5628 to see if that would work and now it starts to play and goes to a purple screen, and says an error has occurred. I don't know what this latest version has done(5708), but the program doesn't work at anymore, after working just fine for several months. [i]Nothing]/i] has changed with my setup, I think I'm done playing with this app, when the folks at DirecTV can figure out how to put out a robust application then maybe I'll take another look at it.

#17 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,029 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 09 September 2009 - 07:31 PM

I just tried to reload 5628 to see if that would work and now it starts to play and goes to a purple screen, and says an error has occurred. I don't know what this latest version has done(5708), but the program doesn't work at anymore, after working just fine for several months. [i]Nothing]/i] has changed with my setup, I think I'm done playing with this app, when the folks at DirecTV can figure out how to put out a robust application then maybe I'll take another look at it.


I also tried going back to the prior level and now that level is also failing the same way. Guess we'll wait for the next release to see if they've fixed this issue.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#18 OFFLINE   Milkman

Milkman

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,055 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 08:13 PM

Here we go again. Can't play anything:

http://www.dbstalk.c...=1&d=1252548798

Attached Thumbnails

  • d2pc.JPG

Gator fan for LIFE!!!!
My current setup can be found here!


#19 OFFLINE   woj027

woj027

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 839 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR
Joined: Sep 03, 2007

Posted 09 September 2009 - 08:39 PM

So are there more failures with this update than successes?

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,864 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 09 September 2009 - 09:19 PM

So are there more failures with this update than successes?

Not here.
I loaded it on a PC that I'd had to do a clean install of Windows 7. I copied the DirecTV folder over from the old Vista install and then installed this version and it activated fine with my old Vista key.
The video cards are the old nVidia 6600 with only 128 megs of RAM, so HD MPEG-2 "isn't bad", but HD MPEG-4 stutters, which doesn't happen on the PC with an ATI 3650 and 512 megs of RAM.
"Overall" MPEG-2 still needs work, but it did in the last version too.
A.K.A VOS




Protected By... spam firewall...And...