Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR22 Ethernet Ports


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   am3211

am3211

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2008

Posted 17 September 2009 - 03:17 PM

I have searched this forum and cannot seem to find a definitive answer, so I apologize in advance if this has been asked and answered.

Are both ethernet ports on my HR22-100 active? Is it possible to daisy chain it to a co-located HR20-100 using one port and use the other port with a wireless N switch to connect to other DVR's located in another room?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   jodyguercio

jodyguercio

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,793 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2007

Posted 17 September 2009 - 03:19 PM

I have searched this forum and cannot seem to find a definitive answer, so I apologize in advance if this has been asked and answered.

Are both ethernet ports on my HR22-100 active? Is it possible to daisy chain it to a co-located HR20-100 using one port and use the other port with a wireless N switch to connect to other DVR's located in another room?


Yes they are. IIRC the bottom port is a pass through.
A veteran - whether active duty, retired, national guard or reserve - is someone who, at one point in his life, wrote a blank check made payable to "The United States of America", for an amount of "up to and including my life." That is honor, and there are way too many people in this country who no longer understand it. -- Author Unknown

LIVE SIMPLE, LOVE GENEROUSLY , CARE DEEPLY, SPEAK KINDLY AND LEAVE THE REST TO GOD

#3 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 17 September 2009 - 03:25 PM

They are both active, but it's not the true hardware pass-thru that you would get on a switch. It's software controlled and may slow down your receiver as well as other "strange" occurences. You can try it, but I'd recommend a switch...
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100




spam firewall