Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

New Local Off-Air Channel...


  • Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 694 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 18 October 2009 - 08:05 AM

I posted on here earlier and was told that the local station should notify Tribune (?) of their new local off air channel so it can be added to the Channel Guide on DirecTV. How do I do that? I did tell the engineer of that station to do so but as of now, it's still not listed on DirecTV guide. What avenue should I pursue now?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   bonscott87

bonscott87

    Cutting Edge: ECHELON '07

  • Registered
  • 9,809 posts
Joined: Jan 21, 2003

Posted 18 October 2009 - 08:08 AM

Frankly it's about all you can do. Your next step might be the station manager and tell them to get their guide data to Tribune or else cable, sat and Tivo won't know their channel exists and people won't be able to tune to it. That might light a fire under him.

Other then that without an OTA scan there isn't much you can do. But even with an OTA scan there would be no guide data and it would make knowing what is even on the channel pretty hard. I'd think a new channel would want that corrected ASAP to get more viewers.

#3 OFFLINE   HDTVFreak07

HDTVFreak07

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 694 posts
Joined: Sep 12, 2007

Posted 18 October 2009 - 08:14 AM

Thanks. Might as well contact the station manager. My HR20 is not picking this up but the H20 is without programming info. I'd like to make use of the local Fox station to watch football and Fringe in the living room even though I've got the waiver for the DNS (got it when the Fox was just a standard definition subchannel to the main CBS affiliated channel).




spam firewall