Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

HD Locals Question


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   clk

clk

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2009

Posted 22 October 2009 - 11:59 AM

I was recently notified by DTV that my local channels were changing from San Francisco/Oakland/San Jose to Salinas/Monterrey because the latest zip code update from neilsen had determined my zip code to be Santa Cruz county. I have been getting HD locals every since I bought the place in 2006. DTV says my new locals are not offered in HD and that this will take affect Nov. 18th. So I am thinking what the hell, lets hook this guy up with the HD package, have him buy all the HD boxes and TV's then lets downgrade his service to std def? So I contacted Dish to see if they offer HD locals and they said they do in both SF/Oak/SJ and Salinas/Monterrey. When I talked to the Dish rep she said I would get SF/Oak/SJ HD locals, when I search Dish website for my address it says I get Salinas/Monterrey HD locals. So I don't no what is going on but I don't get why Dish can offer HD locals in either area and DTV can't. What gives? Should I switch? Thanks in advance!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Kheldar

Kheldar

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 773 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2004

Posted 22 October 2009 - 08:25 PM

So I contacted Dish to see if they offer HD locals and they said they do in both SF/Oak/SJ and Salinas/Monterrey. When I talked to the Dish rep she said I would get SF/Oak/SJ HD locals, when I search Dish website for my address it says I get Salinas/Monterrey HD locals. So I don't no what is going on but I don't get why Dish can offer HD locals in either area and DTV can't. What gives? Should I switch? Thanks in advance!


First of all, if DishNet's agent and their website disagree, trust the website.
Second, it's not that "DTV can't", just that DTV doesn't. No one here or at the company will be able to tell you why they don't.
George Bernard Shaw: "We learn from experience that men never learn anything from experience." ;) :D

The 50-50-90 Rule: "Whenever you have a 50-50 chance of getting something right, there is a 90% probability that you will get it wrong." -- Unknown ;)

Heinlein's Razor: Never attribute to malice that which can be adequately explained by stupidity.

#3 OFFLINE   ThomasM

ThomasM

    RF Engineer

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,317 posts
  • LocationMilwaukee, WI
Joined: Jul 20, 2007

Posted 22 October 2009 - 08:34 PM

See if you can weasel free AM-21 OTA tuners for all of your HD boxes. These connect via USB port and allow recording OTA channels in HD with the use of an outside antenna. As a bonus, they also record the subchannels.

If DirecTV doesn't offer any solution at all, I'd be furious and would investigate other providers. But I'm sure DirecTV has a plan in place for other frazzled customers like you in the same situation.

3LNB Phase III Dish * 2-R15-300 * R22-200 * D12-100 * DirecTV Subscriber since Y2K


#4 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,925 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 22 October 2009 - 09:32 PM

I was recently notified by DTV that my local channels were changing from San Francisco/Oakland/San Jose to Salinas/Monterrey because the latest zip code update from neilsen had determined my zip code to be Santa Cruz county. I have been getting HD locals every since I bought the place in 2006. DTV says my new locals are not offered in HD and that this will take affect Nov. 18th. So I am thinking what the hell, lets hook this guy up with the HD package, have him buy all the HD boxes and TV's then lets downgrade his service to std def? So I contacted Dish to see if they offer HD locals and they said they do in both SF/Oak/SJ and Salinas/Monterrey. When I talked to the Dish rep she said I would get SF/Oak/SJ HD locals, when I search Dish website for my address it says I get Salinas/Monterrey HD locals. So I don't no what is going on but I don't get why Dish can offer HD locals in either area and DTV can't. What gives? Should I switch? Thanks in advance!


The changes that are occurring to the DMA boundaries will affect both DirecTV and Dish customers in the same way. The sat companies have no control over this.
I think the suggestion to try to get AM21 tuners is a good one!




spam firewall