Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Removing / Replacing / Copying Hard Drive of HR2* Receiver [Photo Tutorial]


  • Please log in to reply
581 replies to this topic

#281 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,739 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 September 2010 - 11:51 PM

Clean a few first sectors (#0 would be enough) on target drive.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#282 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 10 September 2010 - 11:57 PM

You can delete the partitions on you new drive in the gparted gui, then have the dvr format it again.

#283 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 637 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 11 September 2010 - 12:23 AM

The -p 600 parameter is a godsend. The post on the first page should be modified to reflect it!

#284 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,739 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 September 2010 - 09:07 AM

SRI, are you continue using latest GParted Release (0.6.2-8) ?

#285 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 637 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 11 September 2010 - 10:48 AM

SRI, are you continue using latest GParted Release (0.6.2-8) ?


I did use the 0.6.2-8 and it did NOT work, as others have also reported. After roughly 4 hours when I did a control c, it reported only 20 Meg had been copied.

The -p 600 (or whatever seconds you chose) is a godsend as I would have spotted the issue hours earlier otherwise.

Went back and used the 0.4.6-1 release others have used successfully and the OEM Drive with roughly 3%-5% free copied over in roughly 100 minutes.

#286 OFFLINE   SomeRandomIdiot

SomeRandomIdiot

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 637 posts
Joined: Jan 06, 2009

Posted 11 September 2010 - 10:54 AM

Now, after I successfully copied, first time I booted the HR21 with the new drive, I got a Blue Screen with a Hard Drive error on the startup sequence. It said it could be nothing - or something....only way to tell was to reboot and see if it went away - and if it did not to call Customer Service.

Second start, no issues.

Wondering if the drive was somehow "dirty" after the clone/copy process, or if I have any reason to be concerned.

#287 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,739 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 September 2010 - 01:26 PM

Now no reason, I would, just in case, reboot and press Select -> use those utilities for run both short and long DST.

That mishap with new Gparted seems to me we're just missing small thing ...Need run some experiments to understand what's wrong with it. It should works.

#288 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 16 September 2010 - 04:42 AM

Update 5/2/2011 - It appears xfsdump works again with kernel 2.6.39 based on some testing with ubuntu

I did some testing to see why newer version of gparted live don't work:
Live Distribution | gparted ver. | linux ver. | xfsdump ver. | xfsprogs ver. | Result
gparted-live-0.3.7-7 | 0.3.7-1 | 2.6.24-1-486 | 2.2.48-1 | 2.9.8-1 | worked!
gparted-live-0.4.6-1 | 0.4.6-1 | 2.6.30-backports.1-486 | 2.2.48-1 | 2.9.8-1lenny1 | worked!
gparted-live-0.4.8-6 | 0.4.8-1drbl-1 | 2.6.31-1-486 | 3.0.2 | 3.0.4 | worked!
gparted-live-0.4.8-6 (upgrade) | 0.4.8-1drbl-1 | 2.6.31-1-486 | 3.0.4 (upgrade) | 3.1.3 (upgrade) | worked!
gparted-live-0.5.1-1 | 0.5.1-1drbl-1 | 2.6.32-trunk-486 | 3.0.4 | 3.1.0 | didn't work
gparted-live-0.5.1-1 (downgrade) | 0.5.1-1drbl-1 | 2.6.32-trunk-486 | 2.2.48-1 (downgrade) | 2.9.8-1lenny1 (downgrade) | didn't work
gparted-live-0.6.2-8 | 0.6.2-1.1drbl | 2.6.32-5-486 | 3.0.4 | 3.1.3 | didn't work
gparted-live-0.6.2-8 (downgrade) | 0.6.2-1.1drbl | 2.6.32-5-486 | 2.2.48-1 (downgrade) | 2.9.8-1lenny1 (downgrade) | didn't work
gparted-live-0.7.0-4 | 0.7.0-1.drbl1 | 2.6.32-5-486 | 3.0.4 | 3.1.3 | didn't work
| | | | |
ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386 | 0.4.5-2ubuntu1 | 2.6.31-14-generic | 3.0.2 | 3.0.2 | worked!
ubuntu-9.10-desktop-i386 (upgrade) | 0.4.5-2ubuntu1 | 2.6.32-02063201-generic (upgrade) | 3.0.2 | 3.0.2 | didn't work
ubuntu-10.04.1-desktop-i386 | 0.5.1-1ubuntu3 | 2.6.32-24-generic | 3.0.4 | 3.1.0ubuntu1 | didn't work
ubuntu-10.10 Daily 20100912 | 0.6.2-1ubuntu1 | 2.6.35-20-generic | 3.0.4 | 3.1.2ubuntu1 | didn't work
ubuntu-10.10 Daily 20100912 (upgrade) | 0.6.2-1ubuntu1 | 2.6.36-020636rc4-generic (upgrade) | 3.0.4 | 3.1.2ubuntu1 | didn't work
ubuntu-11.04 | 0.7.0-1ubuntu1 | 2.6.38-8-generic | 3.0.4 | 3.1.4ubuntu2 | didn't work
ubuntu-11.04 (upgrade) | 0.7.0-1ubuntu1 | 2.6.39-020639rc4-generic (upgrade) | 3.0.4 | 3.1.4ubuntu2 | worked!

It seems the problem is not limited to gparted live distributions as seen from the testing of ubuntu distros. The problem occurs with any of the xfsdump versions on Linux kernels version 2.6.32 or greater (even very recent ones like 2.6.36-rc4). Here is where it stalls on kernels 2.6.32 or later:

Update 5/2/2011 - It appears xfsdump works again with kernel 2.6.39 based on some testing with ubuntu

xfsrestore: searching media for dump
xfsdump: ino map phase 2: skipping (no pruning necessary)
xfsdump: ino map phase 3: skipping (only one dump stream)
xfsdump: ino map construction complete
xfsdump: estimated dump size: 249165268416 bytes
xfsdump: creating dump session media file 0 (media 0, file 0)
xfsdump: dumping ino map
xfsdump: dumping directories
xfsrestore: examining media file 0
xfsrestore: dump description: 
xfsrestore: hostname: michael-desktop
xfsrestore: mount point: /mnt/hr20
xfsrestore: volume: /dev/sdd2
xfsrestore: session time: Wed Sep 15 22:38:21 2010
xfsrestore: level: 0
xfsrestore: session label: ""
xfsrestore: media label: ""
xfsrestore: file system id: def1a48a-e183-4371-b814-317bd7154611
xfsrestore: session id: ca19ec79-c4c9-41e1-9b8b-b70c4538131a
xfsrestore: media id: c130629b-ff0f-4acf-92a8-fa7174833814
xfsrestore: searching media for directory dump
xfsrestore: reading directories
xfsdump: dumping non-directory files
xfsrestore: 568 directories and 37729 entries processed
xfsrestore: directory post-processing
xfsrestore: restoring non-directory files

Here is what progress reports look like when using a kernel version lower than 2.6.32:
xfsrestore: 568 directories and 37729 entries processed
xfsrestore: directory post-processing
xfsrestore: restoring non-directory files
xfsdump: status at 20:38:53: 1910/37107 files dumped, 10.7% data dumped, 600 seconds elapsed
xfsrestore: status at 20:38:53: 1902/37107 files restored, 10.7% complete, 600 seconds elapsed
xfsdump: status at 20:48:53: 4141/37107 files dumped, 21.3% data dumped, 1200 seconds elapsed
xfsrestore: status at 20:48:53: 4133/37107 files restored, 21.3% complete, 1200 seconds elapsed

Edited by ntrance, 02 May 2011 - 04:17 AM.
added ubuntu-11.04


#289 OFFLINE   Joe Schmuck

Joe Schmuck

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 76 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2007

Posted 29 September 2010 - 07:37 PM

Well the hard drive didn't last that long, only a few months before stuttering started up. I have purchased an HR24 already to make my wife a happier person and I just recieved a new WD 10EVDS drive I will be installing tomorrow. Apparently the Samsung drive was just not capable of handling the continuious use without throwing up a few hard drive error corrections which really slow down the playback, but they do make fantastic data drives.

So, I would not recommend a regular data drive, only AV drives like so many others are using already. This will make my third DVR on the network so I can load it up with the program I don't care if I lose or I'll use it for programs while I'm on work travel. And the whole home sharing thing, that is well worth it. Now if they can only find a way to view what the other DVRs are recording from a single location, I would be all set.

-Joe
Engineer by day, Rocket Scientist by night... Or do I got that backwards #$@! :)

#290 OFFLINE   miakica

miakica

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2010

Posted 30 September 2010 - 02:39 PM

OK, so I did my first DVR succesfully and I'm trying the other one, but for sme reason it wont do it...

First two commands are
mkdir /mnt/fap
and
mkdir /mnt/hr20
That would be mkdir[space]/mnt/fap(or hr20)

Third command is
mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sda3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/fap
That would be (mount[space]-t[space]xfs[space]-[lower case letter o]o[space]rtdev=/dev/sda3[space]/dev/sda2[space]/mnt/fap)

This is when it gives me an error "Can't read superblock"

What am I doing wrong?

Thanks

Edited by miakica, 30 September 2010 - 02:48 PM.


#291 OFFLINE   miakica

miakica

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2010

Posted 30 September 2010 - 02:54 PM

what would the command be for
xfsdump -J -p 600 - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J -p 600 - /mnt/fap

Would it be
xfsdump[space]-J[space]-p[space]600[space]-[space]/mnt/hr20[space]|xfsrestore[space]-J[space]-p[space]600[space]-[space]/mnt/fap

Thanks

#292 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,739 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 30 September 2010 - 03:12 PM

did you search for 'superblock' error here ? - dirty shutdown
-p 600 described recently - scroll a few pages back

[hmm, Canada ? you will be warned soon !]

#293 OFFLINE   miakica

miakica

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2010

Posted 30 September 2010 - 03:39 PM

hmm, Canada ? you will be warned soon !


Well, I am paying for it....

#294 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 01 October 2010 - 06:23 AM

Well, I am paying for it....


Completely irrelevant. Regulations are regulations

#295 OFFLINE   GordonT

GordonT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 05 October 2010 - 11:07 AM

I have been using a 1.5 TB Seagate Freeagent Xtreme external ESATA for about 1 1/2 years (connected to my HR20-100). The last few days, I have gotten a few unsolicited reboots and I'm thinking that it may be getting ready to go. As I'm typing this, I am running an advanced surface scan that is about 75% complete with no errors being found yet (knock wood). The drive was down to about 6% free space, so I am hoping that maybe the quirky behavior was due to it being near capacity. If the surface scan doesn't find any problems, I am going to delete or archive enough programs to get it to at least 15-20% free space to see if that helps. Am I reasonable in hoping that it's just a free space issue (especially if the scan doesn't turn anything up)?

However, if it turns out that the drive IS going bad, I plan to use the Linux-based copy technique described in this thread. My preference is to go with another external drive. Most of the recent recommendations in this thread have been for internal drives (like the Cinemastars). I haven't seen much in the way of recommendations for 1.5 to 2 TB external drives. Admittedly, I'm not too sure I understand the concept of enclosures, although I think their purpose is to take an internal hard drive and, using an enclosure, effectively allow it to act as an external drive and not have to crack open the DVR. I definitely would like to avoid opening up the DVR because a) it's leased and B) I am not handy with that sort of thing.

Any help/recommendations are welcome and appreciated.

TV's:
Samsung HL-R5078W
Mitsubishi VS-50805
Vizio E371VA
Satellite Dish:
Slimline-3S(SWM)
Receivers:
2 HR24-500 0x6bd
H24-100 0x66d
H21-100 0x466d


#296 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,739 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 October 2010 - 11:22 AM

EHD also remove burden to provide a power to the drive, especially for big or old models.
There is a thread about recommended HDD, common wisdom - take WD EVDS line for best suitability [AV type] or cheaper EADS.

#297 OFFLINE   GordonT

GordonT

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 133 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2007

Posted 05 October 2010 - 12:42 PM

EHD also remove burden to provide a power to the drive, especially for big or old models.
There is a thread about recommended HDD, common wisdom - take WD EVDS line for best suitability [AV type] or cheaper EADS.


Thanks for the quick response. A few additional questions:
  • EHD I presume stands for External Hard Drives?
  • Even if the answer to 1 is yes, it looks like the drives you mentioned are internal. Can take it that you would suggest that I go the route of an internal drive mounted in an enclosure over a true external hard drive?
  • And if the answer to 2 is also yes, is that because the AV type drives (i.e. EVDS) are more suited to the DVR application than the true external drives? I have done a small amount of searching and have not found any external drives that are designated for AV applications.


TV's:
Samsung HL-R5078W
Mitsubishi VS-50805
Vizio E371VA
Satellite Dish:
Slimline-3S(SWM)
Receivers:
2 HR24-500 0x6bd
H24-100 0x66d
H21-100 0x466d


#298 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,739 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 October 2010 - 01:02 PM

1 yes
2 no difference in HDD itself: put it into DVR or into external enclosure with own power supply

#299 OFFLINE   crendall

crendall

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2006

Posted 22 October 2010 - 07:45 PM

I'm using gparted 0.4.6-1 and when I try to mount the new drive to /mnt/fap I get an error "/dev/sda2 already mounted or /mnt/fap busy". I can mount the old drive from the DVR just fine. Any ideas on what could be wrong?

#300 OFFLINE   ntrance

ntrance

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2006

Posted 22 October 2010 - 08:35 PM

Are you trying to mount both the old and new drives as /mnt/fap? Check your drive letters with fdisk -l. See this post:

http://www.dbstalk.c...782#post2305782




spam firewall