Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Removing / Replacing / Copying Hard Drive of HR2* Receiver [Photo Tutorial]


  • Please log in to reply
609 replies to this topic

#441 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 16 December 2011 - 08:53 AM

The process is not really overwriting the drive, it is dumping the data to the appropriate partition. So if there is already data there, it is more of a concatenation process. One of the reasons you have to "prep" the new drive before performing the dump/restore process.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#442 OFFLINE   dazed&confuzed

dazed&confuzed

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 107 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2008

Posted 16 December 2011 - 08:56 AM

The process is not really overwriting the drive, it is dumping the data to the appropriate partition. So if there is already data there, it is more of a concatenation process. One of the reasons you have to "prep" the new drive before performing the dump/restore process.


Cool! Thanks again.

#443 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 16 December 2011 - 09:26 AM

It was process as 'dum&restore' file system ie folders/files/metadata not an image of one partition.

Edited by P Smith, 16 December 2011 - 10:29 AM.


#444 OFFLINE   rigamortis

rigamortis

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2011

Posted 15 January 2012 - 01:26 AM

OK got a little farther and then ran into problems on the xfsdump
Here is the list from Terminal:

ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/fap
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mkdir /mnt/hr20
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sda3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/fap
mount: only root can do that
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sda3 /dev/sda2 /mnt/fap
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo mount -t xfs -o rtdev=/dev/sdb3 /dev/sdb2 /mnt/hr20
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo xfsdump -j - /mnt/hr20 | xfrestore -j - /mnt/fap
sudo: xfsdump: command not found
No command 'xfrestore' found, did you mean:
Command 'xfsrestore' from package 'xfsdump' (main)
xfrestore: command not found
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo xfsdump -j - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -j - /mnt/fap
sudo: xfsdump: command not found
The program 'xfsrestore' is currently not installed. You can install it by typing:
sudo apt-get install xfsdump
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo apt-get install xfsdump
Reading package lists... Done
Building dependency tree
Reading state information... Done
Suggested packages:
attr quota
The following NEW packages will be installed:
xfsdump
0 upgraded, 1 newly installed, 0 to remove and 0 not upgraded.
Need to get 290 kB of archives.
After this operation, 725 kB of additional disk space will be used.
//////removed url from quote because it wouldnt let me post//////////
Fetched 290 kB in 1s (223 kB/s)
Selecting previously deselected package xfsdump.
(Reading database ... 132576 files and directories currently installed.)
Unpacking xfsdump (from .../xfsdump_3.0.5_i386.deb) ...
Processing triggers for man-db ...
Setting up xfsdump (3.0.5) ...
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$ sudo xfsdump -j - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -j - /mnt/fap
xfsrestore: using file dump (drive_simple) strategy
xfsrestore: version 3.0.5 (dump format 3.0) - Running single-threaded
xfsrestore: ERROR: unable to create /mnt/fap/xfsrestorehousekeepingdir: Permission denied
xfsrestore: Restore Status: ERROR
xfsdump: using file dump (drive_simple) strategy
xfsdump: version 3.0.5 (dump format 3.0) - Running single-threaded
xfsdump: level 0 dump of ubuntu:/mnt/hr20
xfsdump: dump date: Tue Dec 13 12:10:18 2011
xfsdump: session id: ea9def75-e239-4952-8aaf-8ac29fbddc1f
xfsdump: session label: ""
xfsdump: ino map phase 1: constructing initial dump list
xfsdump: ino map phase 2: skipping (no pruning necessary)
xfsdump: ino map phase 3: skipping (only one dump stream)
xfsdump: ino map construction complete
xfsdump: estimated dump size: 247326588672 bytes
xfsdump: /var/lib/xfsdump/inventory created
xfsdump: creating dump session media file 0 (media 0, file 0)
xfsdump: dumping ino map
xfsdump: dumping directories
xfsdump: dump size (non-dir files) : 0 bytes
xfsdump: NOTE: dump interrupted: 4 seconds elapsed: may resume later using -R option
xfsdump: Dump Status: INTERRUPT
ubuntu@ubuntu:~$



I know this is an old thread but Ive spent two days working on this and had this same issue with the
xfsrestore: ERROR: unable to create /mnt/fap/xfsrestorehousekeepingdir: Permission denied
part, I was using the most recent version of gparted 0.11.0-7
I ran it with and without the sudo command, with sudo it got farther but still had that permission denied error. finally I did "sudo passwd" and set a password for root and use "su" to login as the root user, issued the command and everything was perfect. hopefully if anyone is having the same problem this will save them some time

#445 OFFLINE   hdtvluvr

hdtvluvr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2008

Posted 15 January 2012 - 11:26 AM

... I was using the most recent version of gparted 0.11.0-7....



Your time would have been better spent reading some of this thread. Version 0.4.6-1 is the only one that seems to work reliably without any special commands, etc.

#446 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 15 January 2012 - 11:33 AM

... I was using the most recent version of gparted 0.11.0-7
I ran it with and without the sudo command, with sudo it got farther but still had that permission denied error. finally I did "sudo passwd" and set a password for root and use "su" to login as the root user, issued the command and everything was perfect. hopefully if anyone is having the same problem this will save them some time

Thanks for your report - that's good news, so ppl can use new version of Gparted.

#447 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 15 January 2012 - 11:33 AM

Agreed, just use the appropriate version of gparted boot disk, as long as you follow the directions, it works flawlessly everytime. no reason to get fancy or try to re-invent the wheel here. Properly prep the source and destination drives in the dvr using graceful shutdown procedures and you're golden.

#448 OFFLINE   ahemsa

ahemsa

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2012

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:05 AM

Thanks for the thread, it is very informative, I did have a question, however. If it has already been asked on this thread, I am sorry. I tried the search but it didn't seem to turn up any results.

Simple question, just how big a hard drive can you use in say an HR22-100? I noticed that there are now 4TB drives in existence. I don't really have need for that much storage, but I'd hate to find a good deal on a large drive some day only to find out that the DVR doesn't support the full capacity of the drive.

#449 OFFLINE   DogLover

DogLover

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,510 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:18 AM

Thanks for the thread, it is very informative, I did have a question, however. If it has already been asked on this thread, I am sorry. I tried the search but it didn't seem to turn up any results.

Simple question, just how big a hard drive can you use in say an HR22-100? I noticed that there are now 4TB drives in existence. I don't really have need for that much storage, but I'd hate to find a good deal on a large drive some day only to find out that the DVR doesn't support the full capacity of the drive.



2TB
DogLover

My Setup

#450 OFFLINE   ahemsa

ahemsa

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2012

Posted 18 January 2012 - 09:19 AM

Simple question with a simple answer. Thanks! Now if hard drive prices hadn't gotten ridiculous.... stupid flooding.

#451 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 January 2012 - 11:02 AM

Thanks for the thread, it is very informative, I did have a question, however. If it has already been asked on this thread, I am sorry. I tried the search but it didn't seem to turn up any results.

Simple question, just how big a hard drive can you use in say an HR22-100? I noticed that there are now 4TB drives in existence. I don't really have need for that much storage, but I'd hate to find a good deal on a large drive some day only to find out that the DVR doesn't support the full capacity of the drive.


So far only Hitachi announced one model 5K4000 in December, but no one store selling those.

#452 OFFLINE   ahemsa

ahemsa

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2012

Posted 18 January 2012 - 11:07 AM

Newegg has them, item#N82E16822145563

Not that I have $400 to spend on one.

#453 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 18 January 2012 - 03:40 PM

Umm, I'm waiting for 7200 RPM model :).

#454 OFFLINE   ahemsa

ahemsa

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jan 18, 2012

Posted 18 January 2012 - 03:43 PM

Yeah the 5400 certainly wouldn't win any speed awards.

Currently I've got 3 HR22-100's set up for MRV so I'm not hurting for space, just curious. I do own the IRDS so its good to know its an easy fix if one of the drives fails!

#455 OFFLINE   mocarob

mocarob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 223 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:59 AM

Do you see any issues with these 2 SMART snapshots?
The one marked 'new' iis another ears model i'm having problems with copying.
Dump/Restore is successful but numerous recordings play for a couple of minutes then start over from 0:00

Attached Thumbnails

  • new.JPG
  • old.JPG


#456 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 January 2012 - 12:10 PM

I did mention to run Scan with Remap=ON for old drive (and for new drive if it came not 'virgin') and posting its result. Without the log I wouldn't judge now.
As a suggestion - are those recordings did play without hiccups from old drive ?

#457 OFFLINE   mocarob

mocarob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 223 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 21 January 2012 - 04:08 PM

I did mention to run Scan with Remap=ON for old drive (and for new drive if it came not 'virgin') and posting its result. Without the log I wouldn't judge now.
As a suggestion - are those recordings did play without hiccups from old drive ?


The recordings play fine on the old drive.
Using victoria, There are 4 choices for the scan.
Ignore, remap, erase, restore.
I assume I need to stay away from erase & restore.

Doesn't remap move data to good sectors if bad? Is there a chance that it will make some data/recordings unplayable?

Scanning with 'ignore' should tell us the health of the drive without changing anything ~ correct?

#458 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 21 January 2012 - 04:58 PM

The recordings play fine on the old drive.
Using victoria, There are 4 choices for the scan.
Ignore, remap, erase, restore.
I assume I need to stay away from erase & restore.

Doesn't remap move data to good sectors if bad? - Yes.
Is there a chance that it will make some data/recordings unplayable? - Yes, if it cannot be readed without errors, but that means any program will have same trouble with access to DATA.

Scanning with 'ignore' should tell us the health of the drive without changing anything ~ correct? - Yes.

See above for answers.

I'm using for reading/testing bootable CD with MHDD as it single [mono] thread program, what is monopolizing all resources of your PC to do its job more accurate.

#459 OFFLINE   mocarob

mocarob

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 223 posts
Joined: Jul 26, 2007

Posted 22 January 2012 - 10:33 PM

I did mention to run Scan with Remap=ON for old drive (and for new drive if it came not 'virgin') and posting its result. Without the log I wouldn't judge now.
As a suggestion - are those recordings did play without hiccups from old drive ?


Ran a scan on the old drive using the 'ignore' setting and no errors were found.
Scanned the new drive with 'remap' on and it had one error at 600. Nothing else over 50. (are they millisecond readings?)

Now do you see anything going on with the SMART results?
The log doesn't save that much info. Here it is for the new drive.
1:52:16 : Model: WDC WD7500AAKS-00RBA; Capacity: 1465149168 LBAs
1:52:28 : Get S.M.A.R.T. command... Error reading S.M.A.R.T!
1:52:42 : SMART ON command
1:52:42 : Get passport... OK
1:52:42 : Starting Off-line routine SMART Test (0)
1:52:42 : Non-ATA device unsupport SMART test's
3:32:08 : Get passport... OK
3:32:08 : Recallibration... OK
3:32:08 : Starting Reading, LBA=0..1465149167, sequential access, timeout 10000ms

Don't freak out over the SMART error in Victoria. I read online that vista and my chipset doesn't allow it to be read unless in DOS.

#460 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,045 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 January 2012 - 12:40 AM

That's why I'm putting MHDD first, then Victoria. It would be much less concern if you will burn CD with MHDD ISO and run tests by it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...