Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Removing / Replacing / Copying Hard Drive of HR2* Receiver [Photo Tutorial]


  • Please log in to reply
614 replies to this topic

#151 OFFLINE   hdtvluvr

hdtvluvr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2008

Posted 01 April 2010 - 09:30 PM

Ok, so using a 2 bay dock connected by 1 eSata cable to laptop would be fine?

Or 2 docks and the 2 port card?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#152 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,213 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 01 April 2010 - 09:33 PM

Last variant would be right one. By eSATA.

#153 OFFLINE   Sim-X

Sim-X

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2009

Posted 01 April 2010 - 10:39 PM

Thanks for the guide, was my first time doing this. I want to post a few things that may help some other people and save them the frustration I did. Here are some tips from my own experience.

- My HR22-100 did NOT need the front face plate removed in order to remove the hard drive enclosure. There were 2 screws on the board and 2 on the top just after the plastic front.

- Don't remove cables from the board unless you have to. I actually broke the plastic on one of the ribbon cables (I think it's the cable that lights up the box on the front) The cable was fine, but this plastic insert help keep the cable in place. I ended up getting it snug again with it broken but it was not as good as before. Be very careful with the cables and things that connect to the board. I also pulled on the fan power connector on the board too hard and when I put it all back together it wasn't coming on. Ended up pushing it back into the board and it works fine now.

- Don't use the latest version of Gparted - 0.5.2-1 is garbage and gave me a massive headache. I didn't find out till later other people were having problems to. Use 0.4.6-1 worked fine. Pay very careful attention to the commands - I kept typing in the commands wrong and took me a while to figure out I was missing a space or whatever. Copy and paste it from the board to word or something and blow it up. For example I was having a hell of a time with the copy command xfsdump -J - /mnt/hr20 | xfsrestore -J - /mnt/fap - I was actually typing -(space)J(space) when actually it was -J(space) - and a few other minor errors. So pay close attention to that.

- Make sure to disconnect you external usb hard drives (maybe flash drives 2?) otherwise they come up in gparted and could mess up the drive order. This one took me a while to figure out, my external drive is actually 500 like the dtv drive so the sizes were showing up exactly the same so I thought something was wrong, then I checked my external hd drive was connected.

-Be careful with the void sticker, I ended up ripping mine, oh well, lol

-There is no progress bar when copying, it took it almost 4 hours to copy, I ended up falling asleep. So make sure you have something else to go do while it's copying. You will drive yourself bonkers wondering when it could get done and you just won't know. Better to go do something else come back and it's done.

So those are my tips and would have saved me A LOT of time, I spent so much time just messin around with gparted and re-burning the old version and the commands.

Here is the sucky part, I bought one of those new EARS drives off amazon (goldbox deal of day on mon for $85 bucks 1.5TB 64cach) I should have done more research. The drive formatted just fine in the dtv box, game up in gparted and copied just fine. ( after I figured out I was using the wrong version of gparted and typing in wrong commands) I was messing with it for so long it got late and ended up falling asleep. Put everything back together tonight and it did copy just fine, all my programs came up and it played back no problem. I instantly started noting problems on live tv it would kinda break up - I tested multiple channels - same thing. There isn't a whole lot of info on this drive. The model I got is WD15EARS - so I guess technically I got it all working but obviously it's not working good. So I ended up taking it out and putting the stock drive back in till I figure out my next plan. So don't get an EARS drive for your dvr - not saying it's a bad drive or anything, just doesn't work well. I will prob end up keeping it and putting it in my windows 7 dell desktop. I am waiting for the hr24 to come out in my market so I might just wait to buy another drive till I get that box. So after all that, messing with it for hours, falling asleep after it copied, breaking stuff inside the box I am back to square one. At least everything still works

I hope this can save people some frustration that I had. I was able to swap back to the stock drive pretty quickly since I knew how to take it out so at least I know now.

Also I went to harbor freight per the advice in the 1st page since I know those t10 sec bits are hard to find. They had them but they didn't have a $4 set. They had a $10 set which is still pretty cheap in my opinion but it came with a whole bunch of bits I didn't want. Ended up going to Menards (I know some of you don't know what that is or have one close by) but they are all over here. They had it in a yellow individual irwin package for a few bucks. Just the bit will fit in your standard universal screwdriver. So that was nice to know, I didn't they they would have them.

Overall the guide was still very helpful but just make sure to look over your box since they are different and see what needs to be removed and what doesn't. You can figure it out fairly easy by taking a min and looking at it.

Hope you guys have better luck than I did, at least I'm still watching tv!

#154 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,131 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 02 April 2010 - 08:17 AM

Don't use the latest version of Gparted - 0.5.2-1 is garbage and gave me a massive headache. I didn't find out till later other people were having problems to. Use 0.4.6-1 worked fine.


Same here. Maybe we should make it a bit more clear.

Dont use 0.5.2-1. Use 0.4.6-1 :)

The model I got is WD15EARS - so I guess technically I got it all working but obviously it's not working good. So I ended up taking it out and putting the stock drive back in till I figure out my next plan. So don't get an EARS drive for your dvr - not saying it's a bad drive or anything, just doesn't work well.


This is WD's DVR centric drive. I have one and works great.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136495

#155 OFFLINE   Sim-X

Sim-X

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2009

Posted 02 April 2010 - 10:37 AM

Thanks for making that big

This is WD's DVR centric drive. I have one and works great.

http://www.newegg.co...N82E16822136495


So does anyone know why the EARS drives don't work well? So how does this HD compare to the stock one? As long as I have to do all this over again I would like to buy the absolute best drive I can for the DVR.

#156 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,213 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 02 April 2010 - 10:39 AM

Thanks for making that big



So does anyone know why the EARS drives don't work well? So how does this HD compare to the stock one? As long as I have to do all this over again I would like to buy the absolute best drive I can for the DVR.


Yes, someone dissected and posted here.

#157 OFFLINE   Herdfan

Herdfan

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,131 posts
  • LocationTeays Valley, WV
Joined: Mar 18, 2006

Posted 02 April 2010 - 11:10 AM

Yes, someone dissected and posted here.


Here is something about it: http://www.dbstalk.c...&postcount=1124

#158 OFFLINE   Sim-X

Sim-X

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2009

Posted 02 April 2010 - 11:56 AM

I was gonna try messing with the WD Align software but I want a good reliable garage so gonna chalk this one up as a loss.

#159 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 02 April 2010 - 01:21 PM

I was gonna try messing with the WD Align software but I want a good reliable garage so gonna chalk this one up as a loss.


The best thing to take from this is if buying WD drives, buy the EADS or the newer EVDS drives, they are proven to work very well as can be seen all over this forum. Use gparted 0.4.6.1 and nothing newer, and there are minor differences through the HR model line but the process is pretty easy to follow as outlined here.

#160 OFFLINE   hdtvluvr

hdtvluvr

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Mar 01, 2008

Posted 02 April 2010 - 04:52 PM

Would it be ok to leave the hard drives in docks and use them as externals? Would they run cooler than enclosed with a fan?

I haven't decided whether to put them in the DVRs after I copy them or put the original ones back and use the new ones as externals.

One of the DVR's is in the niche above the fireplace so it can be hidden well and an enclosure or dock wouldn't matter. The other would be in my component rack in our theater room. Space is limited. I looked at the Startech SATADOCKU2E dock and see the dimensions as Height 2.17 in Length 5.51 in but can't find the measurement for depth.

If I got an enclosure, I'm looking at the Rosewill RX-358-S BLK. Does it have to lay flat or can it be used standing on its side?

So enclosure or dock?

#161 OFFLINE   Matt L

Matt L

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 08 April 2010 - 01:21 AM

Ok, got an odd problem. Thought my Hd was failing in my HR21, bought a WD 1T green drive and copied my original drive to it. Dropped it in the unit and all my recorded shows are there, but my Series Manager file is empty! All my scheduled recordings are gone. I know I had 25-30 things set to record.

My history shows 99 things So I scrolled through them and noted what I had set to record to recreate all my links. However there were a few there that were only occasional recordings or shows that are not running at the moment, I can't track them down, so I guess they are lost.

Any idea what happened?

#162 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,213 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 08 April 2010 - 09:27 AM

That file with your series data been corrupted or allocated on bad sectors and didn't copied by the reasons.

#163 OFFLINE   Matt L

Matt L

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 08 April 2010 - 01:37 PM

Thanks, that is pretty much what I thought too. popped tjhe old drive back in and they are missing there too.

Also. turns out I got an WD EARS drive. Was not aware of the issues. Playing live it seems ot be fine, but if I skip back at all I start getting stopples. I guess Ill have to start looking for another drive and use this one in my computer for backup. What is the best cheap alternative, I got the WD Green 1T for $69.

#164 OFFLINE   Matt L

Matt L

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 12 April 2010 - 01:41 AM

Ok, update. After 3 days I noticed that the stopping and freeze ups have stopped with the EARS drive. Have no idea why. I have several things set to record tomorrow that will be the true test.

#165 OFFLINE   k1deg0

k1deg0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2010

Posted 12 April 2010 - 01:28 PM

Will this same basic procedure work for an HD20-700?

I have one with a hard drive that's making me think it could be having problems, and after reading various threads, I'd like to replace the 320GB with a 1.5TB.

Thanks to all who have posted helpful info in threads like this. It makes life a whole lot easier for noobs like me who want to tackle a project like this!

#166 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 12 April 2010 - 01:38 PM

Will this same basic procedure work for an HD20-700?

I have one with a hard drive that's making me think it could be having problems, and after reading various threads, I'd like to replace the 320GB with a 1.5TB.

Thanks to all who have posted helpful info in threads like this. It makes life a whole lot easier for noobs like me who want to tackle a project like this!

I did it on a HR20-700 and its working perfectly.
Glory, Glory Man United

My setup with pictures

#167 OFFLINE   k1deg0

k1deg0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2010

Posted 12 April 2010 - 01:50 PM

I did it on a HR20-700 and its working perfectly.


I kept reading posts about HR20-700 and wondered why no one listed an HD20-700 model.

After reading your response, I checked the DVR again...and see it's an HR not an HD.

My first post on this site, and I goof like that?!? I'm going to go crawl under a rock now. :nono2:

#168 OFFLINE   matt

matt

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,858 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2010

Posted 12 April 2010 - 01:54 PM

I kept reading posts about HR20-700 and wondered why no one listed an HD20-700 model.

After reading your response, I checked the DVR again...and see it's an HR not an HD.

My first post on this site, and I goof like that?!? I'm going to go crawl under a rock now. :nono2:


Go back and click edit on that post and few will ever know :D Then just change your second post to "Thanks!" or something :lol:

:welcome_s
Slimline 5 with SWM-16
Wireless DECA
HR34-700!
R22-200 Leased
Owned H25-700 and H24-700 off and packed for the move.

DIRECTV subscriber since Nov. 2009

#169 OFFLINE   mx6bfast

mx6bfast

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,237 posts
  • LocationDelray Beach, FL
Joined: Nov 08, 2006

Posted 12 April 2010 - 02:00 PM

I kept reading posts about HR20-700 and wondered why no one listed an HD20-700 model.

After reading your response, I checked the DVR again...and see it's an HR not an HD.

My first post on this site, and I goof like that?!? I'm going to go crawl under a rock now. :nono2:

I still call our HR20's tivo's, no biggie.
Glory, Glory Man United

My setup with pictures

#170 OFFLINE   k1deg0

k1deg0

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2010

Posted 12 April 2010 - 02:05 PM

Go back and click edit on that post and few will ever know :D Then just change your second post to "Thanks!" or something :lol:

:welcome_s


Thanks Matt...I'll just take the lumps I deserve for that and blame it on my allergies screwing up my vision yesterday. :D

If I have a desktop PC with a RAID 1 setup, are they most likely SATA drives? And if so, would one of the drives be hooked up to SATA 0 and another to SATA 1 (as is described as necessary for copying drive contents)?

I hate to tear into my desktop and mess with the RAID drives, but if I simply unplug them for this process, I can't imagine I'd mess anything up (he says nervously - still burned by his HD/HR debacle).

#171 OFFLINE   Sim-X

Sim-X

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2009

Posted 13 April 2010 - 10:26 AM

Ok, update. After 3 days I noticed that the stopping and freeze ups have stopped with the EARS drive. Have no idea why. I have several things set to record tomorrow that will be the true test.

wow your patient, I had mine in for a few min and immediately removed it. I guess I could have tried it longer but it was very annoying and even if there was a chance of it working out I didn't want to have a drive with problems. My new EVDS drive should be here today, had to pay a lot more for it but I didn't want 2 mess around.

#172 OFFLINE   Matt L

Matt L

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 341 posts
Joined: Nov 09, 2007

Posted 13 April 2010 - 11:50 AM

Well, maybe I spoke too soon. It still freezes up from time to time, especially with high bitrate stuff like loud explosions with lots of video action as well as DD 5.1 action. I'll live with it for a while, it's just my bedroom unit - my others are fine, until I find a decent deal on a better drive.

Sim-x what drive did you get?

#173 OFFLINE   Sim-X

Sim-X

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 381 posts
Joined: Sep 23, 2009

Posted 14 April 2010 - 07:25 AM

Well, maybe I spoke too soon. It still freezes up from time to time, especially with high bitrate stuff like loud explosions with lots of video action as well as DD 5.1 action. I'll live with it for a while, it's just my bedroom unit - my others are fine, until I find a decent deal on a better drive.

Sim-x what drive did you get?

Picked up the WD20EVDS from buy - Not nearly as good as my $85 goldbox deal but after what happened I want the best drive possible for the dvr. I bought mine off eBay (still buy) http://cgi.ebay.com/...em=400094739549

Spec page
http://www.wdc.com/e...asp?driveid=615

After asking around the mods suggested this to be the best drive over the EADS drives which both I have read good results. The spec page said this drive is designed for heavy use such as a DVR so I went with this one. I would guess I spent an extra $30 or so for this one over the EADS but didn't wanna mess around.

The same price on the site & eBay but you can get bing cb on eBay as well as eBay bucks.

I just got the new drive yesterday and am debating to put it in now or wait till I get a HR24. If I wait I won't have to copy the drive since you can't copy a drive moving to a dif box. However could be months yet before I am able to even get one.

I will post once I install it but like I said I might just hang on to it till I get the new box. Part of me wants to install it and now I know how to take apart the DVR pretty fast so might give it a whirl and I want to make sure I got a good drive incase I need to return it.


Maybe someone else can answer this, could I use a sata docking station to copy the drives so I don't have to open up my desktop? I was looking at something like this

http://www.buy.com/p.../209890871.html

I don't think my desktop has eSata so I would connect the station via usb but I don't wanna have problems in the command prompt. Don't really wanna spend the money on it, but if it works well I guess I could use it for other things. Up in the air about it. Would gparted recognize both drives via a docking station connected through usb?

#174 OFFLINE   Avder

Avder

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,395 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2010

Posted 14 April 2010 - 01:21 PM

Ive got a couple of questions after reading the picture tutorial and glancing through this thread.

First, does the internal structure of an HR21-700 require removing anything to get at the hard drive's SATA and power connectors? What I am considering doing is opening the case, leaving the hard drive inside, and just connecting it, as mounted, to my desktop for a copying procedure.

Second, is it possible to access the drives through a virtual machine running gparted if the virtual machine is running on top of windows vista? And if so, which vm program should I use?

Third, after I get the internal drive copied to the external, and I verify that the external works with the HR21, with all my shows and series links intact, is there any consequence to disconnecting the external, rebooting back to the internal, and having the HR21 do a full reset to reformat the internal drive?

#175 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,213 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 April 2010 - 01:59 PM

Don't use VM - reliable and easy way to boot your PC from Linux or Gparted CD. Disconnect all your PC drives first.
Full reformat would be done by DVR itself, if after all your verifications, you would use Gparted/Linux CD one more time and just remove partition table [clean MBR] from it.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...