Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Slingbox Help!!!


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   EVAC41

EVAC41

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 232 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2006

Posted 02 November 2009 - 12:57 PM

I have just gotten the slingbox solo. I hooked it up and got everything going not knowing how much bandwidth it used. Well I also have a slingcatcher. I wanted to put my slingcatcher upstairs in my bedroom and watch my DVR shows in my bedroom also. Well when i watch the shows does that only go thru my network or does it go thru out on the internet.

Just wondering and conserned about the bandwidth.. My ISP doesn't like it when we use a lot of bandwidth...

Thanks,
Shawn

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   durl

durl

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,743 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2003

Posted 05 November 2009 - 01:07 PM

You can set up the Slingcatcher to stream either over the internet or through your home network.

#3 OFFLINE   Garyunc

Garyunc

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 310 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2006

Posted 05 November 2009 - 01:22 PM

Actually the slingcatcher can tell if the slingbox is remote or local. Make sure you have a good local network connection or it will not work as well.

#4 OFFLINE   xmguy

xmguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,907 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 08 November 2009 - 08:39 PM

I'm glad I got the HAVA platinum HD vs the Slingbox.
DirecTV Subscriber Since 3/24/2008 || HR44-500 - SWiM and DECA to Vizio 32" LCD 1080P HDTV (SV320XVT) via HDMI | MY SETUP IN DETAIL UPDATED 3/21/2012 (Q1 2013 | I'm On FACEBOOK! "Originally Posted by xmguy : OK. I need directions. (to Sixto's house) Lol ;) | Originally Posted by Sea bass : Head down to 99c, skip over to 103ca, next over to 103cb and you have arrived.:)":hurah:

#5 OFFLINE   sum_random_dork

sum_random_dork

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 889 posts
Joined: Aug 21, 2008

Posted 08 November 2009 - 10:12 PM

If you're setting up both the Catcher and Sling at your home then bandwidth won't matter it will all be over your local network.

#6 OFFLINE   EVAC41

EVAC41

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 232 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2006

Posted 17 November 2009 - 01:18 AM

ok cool...Thanks Guys..




spam firewall