Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

How does Directv update your receiver's firmware?


  • Please log in to reply
24 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   Chip Moody

Chip Moody

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 201 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2007

Posted 09 November 2009 - 03:11 PM

FWIW, Standalone Tivos - at least the Series 2s - "dial out" and get their info just fine with USB-Ethernet adapters and a connection to your LAN. Haven't had phone lines hooked up to mine for years...

- Chip
"How can one little insulated wire bring so much happiness!?!" - Homer Simpson

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,834 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 November 2009 - 03:16 PM

Unless it s a darn Tivo.. still need phone lines to get info for those guys.. I don;t think firmware, but daily tivo c***


The web site tends to concern itself only with current receivers. The answers there refer to the current DVRs.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#23 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 November 2009 - 04:33 PM

FWIW, Standalone Tivos - at least the Series 2s - "dial out" and get their info just fine with USB-Ethernet adapters and a connection to your LAN. Haven't had phone lines hooked up to mine for years...

The DirecTivos never "officially" supported any sort of LAN connection.

#24 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,834 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 November 2009 - 07:08 PM

Let's get back to the topic of current receivers, and leave the TiVo discussion to another thread.

Thanks.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#25 OFFLINE   whitepelican

whitepelican

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 291 posts
Joined: May 09, 2007

Posted 09 November 2009 - 07:10 PM

Unless it s a darn Tivo.. still need phone lines to get info for those guys.. I don;t think firmware, but daily tivo c***


It's not necessary to have the phone line connected to a DirecTivo, either.




spam firewall