Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Is there a way to get rid of nag message


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   wcsdkqh

wcsdkqh

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2006

Posted 05 November 2009 - 10:12 PM

Any way to disable the nag message about not phoning home? I have a couple r10's that aren't connected to phone line and am get tired of the daily message reminding me that its been 845 days since phoning home. Short of running a phone line to them, is there a way to disable messages?

thx

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   joelstad

joelstad

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 36 posts
Joined: Apr 12, 2007

Posted 05 November 2009 - 10:21 PM

No, sorry. Just hook up the phone line for all of 24 hours and allow the machine to connect and update. After 2+ years there is probably a software update out there for you too. What about using a wireless phone jack?

--Joel

#3 OFFLINE   DST1913_SPR03

DST1913_SPR03

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2009

Posted 05 November 2009 - 10:42 PM

not sure of the last time you've had a phone line connected but the last sw update for the r10 & hr10-250 was may or june 2008 6.4A

New features included Folder for Delete Items, Preps for: Pay per view 24-hr delete & DVR Scheduler (excellent by the way :icon_hroc !!!)

TV GIRL - FROM OUT OF THIS WORLD


#4 OFFLINE   RobertY

RobertY

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2008

Posted 06 November 2009 - 12:22 AM

Try to google tivo hacking. It`s no simple fix but can be done.

#5 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,484 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 06 November 2009 - 09:39 AM

It's not worth hacking your Tivo just to disable this nagging message. You can safely ignore and delete it. Nothing bad will happen. Or, as previously suggested, just connect a phone line for a few days. You might find the latest software updates to be worthwhile.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#6 OFFLINE   Knowledge

Knowledge

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2009

Posted 06 November 2009 - 10:18 AM

Be careful about plugging up to a phone line. If there are any PPV on your card that has not been paid for it will transmit charges to D*.

1 HR23-700 (owned)networked hard wired
1 R16-500 (owned)
3 D12-500 (owned)
SWiM Networked
Comcast 10Mb connection (Grandfathered in at $25)
40in 1080p Toshiba Regza HDMI

#7 OFFLINE   sat-tv

sat-tv

    Duplicate User (Account Closed)

  • Banned User
  • 7 posts
Joined: Nov 06, 2009

Posted 06 November 2009 - 11:37 AM

not sure if this will work but a loopback were it will see a connection but that is it

#8 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 06 November 2009 - 11:45 AM

Be careful about plugging up to a phone line. If there are any PPV on your card that has not been paid for it will transmit charges to D*.


Well, if he has unpaid PPV charges, they SHOULD be paid for. Poor advice to give

#9 OFFLINE   Knowledge

Knowledge

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Oct 30, 2009

Posted 06 November 2009 - 12:14 PM

Well, if he has unpaid PPV charges, they SHOULD be paid for. Poor advice to give


It was not advice... only an education point. Giving a heads up to possible charges that can show up on billings for PPV ordered years ago. You're too quick to attempt to discredit. I in no way advised him to try to defraud. If there is a call back on that unit and PPV charges are found it often confuses a customer due to the age of the charges. This is a common misunderstood issue with hooking up a phone line after it has not been for a period of time. Also with returning a unit after years of use when upgrading.

1 HR23-700 (owned)networked hard wired
1 R16-500 (owned)
3 D12-500 (owned)
SWiM Networked
Comcast 10Mb connection (Grandfathered in at $25)
40in 1080p Toshiba Regza HDMI

#10 OFFLINE   wcsdkqh

wcsdkqh

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2006

Posted 06 November 2009 - 08:55 PM

There are no PPV's on the card, so that isn't an issue. No landline is the issue.

#11 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,484 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 06 November 2009 - 11:30 PM

If you don't have a landline, then don't worry about this. Just ignore and delete those messages. Nothing bad will happen.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#12 OFFLINE   Tom Servo

Tom Servo

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 945 posts
Joined: Mar 07, 2007

Posted 08 November 2009 - 03:34 AM

Has D* stopped shutting down accounts for not calling in?

Years ago my multi-room setup would get shut off two or three times a year because only one receiver was hooked up to a phone line. I've moved and it no longer gets shut off, but I keep extra long phone cables around "just in case". Two are always plugged in, one isn't and one mostly sits in a closet, depending on which home I'm in.

#13 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,398 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 08 November 2009 - 06:43 PM

If you have good enough quality on the connection you can also get them to call in on a VoIP connection like Vonage. I even saw a Cellphone to landline adapter somewhere. (You just have to watch the minutes on that one).

If worse comes to worse you can even take the IRD over to a friends and use their phone line to download the update. (I did it once, the unit was SFSS but it downloaded the update just fine).

#14 OFFLINE   RobertY

RobertY

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jul 09, 2008

Posted 08 November 2009 - 08:15 PM

I`ve had D* for at least 10 yrs no phone never been shut off, they were getting serious about people who owned equipment that could program a access card though.

#15 OFFLINE   CJTE

CJTE

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,345 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2007

Posted 13 November 2009 - 02:20 AM

You could upgrade the hard drive inside your tivo.
and while upgrading you could accidently disable the phone home feature...

But no one would ever condone you opening up your box with the specific intent of black hat hacking it.




spam firewall