Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can I use the USB port to connect a wireless adapter?


  • Please log in to reply
11 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Registered
  • 3,181 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 15 November 2009 - 09:08 AM

The set up guiide calls for an ethernet adapter but I have noticed a USB port on the back of my HR20. I currently use a wireless N router.

Any help would be appreciated. Also lookiong for recomendations on adapters.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   BattleScott

BattleScott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,353 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 15 November 2009 - 09:19 AM

No, the USB ports are not active on the HR DVRS. You will need a wireless network adapter that connects directly to the ethernet port, like the WGA600N or similar. That is the one that can be conifugred directly via the HR menus. Others would need to be configured with a PC first then connected to the DVR.
HR24-500 / AM-21 / WGA54AG
42" Pannasonic Plasma
HR22-100 / 26" LG LCD
Slimline 5-LNB

#3 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,274 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 15 November 2009 - 09:20 AM

Nope. You need a wireless ethernet adapter. The HR2x series is preconfigured to work with the LinkSys WET610N and WGA600N. Others will work, but you need to set them up via your computer first and then attach them to your receiver.

- Merg

Dang nabbit Battle! :)

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#4 OFFLINE   SPACEMAKER

SPACEMAKER

    Freethinker

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3,181 posts
  • LocationMason, MI
Joined: Dec 11, 2007

Posted 15 November 2009 - 09:48 AM

Thanks, guys. Of course, right after I posted this thread I noticed the WET610N thread. Typical of me, ask before looking.

Living Room:
Sony KDL-55EX720
HR44-700
AM21
Sony BDP-S360 Networked
Bedroom:
Sony KDL-40EX720
HR24-200
Sony DVP-NS75H


#5 OFFLINE   sdirv

sdirv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 524 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2008

Posted 16 November 2009 - 07:57 PM

The set up guiide calls for an ethernet adapter but I have noticed a USB port on the back of my HR20. I currently use a wireless N router.

Any help would be appreciated. Also lookiong for recomendations on adapters.


I use the USB port on my HR22 to charge my wife's MP3 player......:)

#6 OFFLINE   kevinturcotte

kevinturcotte

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,942 posts
  • LocationOutside Portland, ME
Joined: Dec 19, 2006

Posted 16 November 2009 - 10:19 PM

I use the USB port on my HR22 to charge my wife's MP3 player......:)


Yeah, it'll pass power (I have notebook cooling fans connected to both of my HR20's USB ports to cool the HR20's), but won't pass and information/data.

#7 OFFLINE   vbedford

vbedford

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 73 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2008

Posted 16 November 2009 - 11:01 PM

Yeah, it'll pass power (I have notebook cooling fans connected to both of my HR20's USB ports to cool the HR20's), but won't pass and information/data.


They run that hot?
My Set Up
DTV HR24-500 DECA Theater Room
DTV HR22-700 DECA Kitchen
DTV HR23-500 DECA Smoking Room
DTV H24-100 DECA Master Bedroom
DTV H21-200 DECA Guest Room
DTV D12-100 Garage
Direct Tv Customer since 2006 :sure:

#8 OFFLINE   Greg Alsobrook

Greg Alsobrook

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,453 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2007

Posted 16 November 2009 - 11:19 PM

They run that hot?


In a completely enclosed cabinet, it's not a bad idea to have some sort of ventilation. If they get too hot, they tend to act up... or it could lead to damage.

On a side note, I've used the USB port on the front of my HR21 to charge PS3 remotes overnight, so I don't have to leave the PS3 running. :)
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.

#9 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,198 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 17 November 2009 - 01:15 AM

I have a -700 that had a fan die a while back.. I plugged in a usb fan so it stayed cool.. didn't want to loose my recordings for a new machine.. some day maybe ill actually swap it....

#10 OFFLINE   rudeney

rudeney

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,266 posts
Joined: May 28, 2007

Posted 17 November 2009 - 11:07 AM

Yeah, it'll pass power (I have notebook cooling fans connected to both of my HR20's USB ports to cool the HR20's), but won't pass and information/data.


I actually installed a couple of fans on my cabinet and use the HR20's USB ports to power them.

#11 OFFLINE   ffemtreed

ffemtreed

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 960 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2008

Posted 17 November 2009 - 11:20 AM

I think the ports are active and will pass data. AM21 surely pass a lot of data through the USB ports on HR DVR's

#12 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,410 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 17 November 2009 - 11:49 AM

We know that the USB ports are active, but the AM21 is the only device (we know of) that the receiver will actually communicate with.

Other than that, it's only good for charging USB devices. (I've charged my Zune on it in the past).




Protected By... spam firewall...And...