Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Remote 'IR to RF'?

mrv deca

  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   David Carmichael

David Carmichael

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2007

Posted 21 November 2009 - 11:20 AM

Does anybody know of a 'IR' to 'RF' converter [such as sold by Radio Shack, Pyramid, Powermid, X-10] that will convert 'IR' to 'RF' which a DirecTV's RF will receive so that I don't have to have a receiving device in the remote room??
OR
Does anybody know the "RF" range used by DirecTV??
As I found a project to make a "IR" to "RF" so maybe I could change the "RF" chip to match??

:David

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,936 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 21 November 2009 - 11:43 AM

I don't know of any and I suspect that you won't find any. I'm not sure if it is even legal to do so.

If there were such a beastie, it would need to be set up specifically for the radio frequency used by DIRECTV.

#3 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,249 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 21 November 2009 - 12:05 PM

The Next Generation RF system doesn't work with D* RF, but it doesn't require a receiver in the remote room either. Make sure when you order that you specify you're using it in a D* remote so they give you the right frequency. Acoustic Research's RF extender uses D*'s frequency, so you may want to look at that as well when searching for specs.

#4 OFFLINE   David Carmichael

David Carmichael

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 176 posts
Joined: Mar 11, 2007

Posted 21 November 2009 - 01:10 PM

The Next Generation RF system doesn't work with D* RF, but it doesn't require a receiver in the remote room either. Make sure when you order that you specify you're using it in a D* remote so they give you the right frequency. Acoustic Research's RF extender uses D*'s frequency, so you may want to look at that as well when searching for specs.



"Next Generation RF" can not be used with a Harmony rechargeable remote such as I am using a 880

I had been doing to testing since posting this and found that my troubles must be with the receiver and not with the current IR Extender system as even using the "DirecTV" RF remote I am having troubles scrolling up and down in only one menu area??

Thanks for the replies! Maybe somebody else can learn from your replies!

:David




Protected By... spam firewall...And...