Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What is the Actual External Hard Drive size limit for a 722k ?


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Bluelude1

Bluelude1

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2009

Posted 10 December 2009 - 02:56 PM

I have been toying with buying an External Hard Drive to increase the capacity of my 722k and I was wondering what the actual size limit was on an external drive. I talked with Dish Tech support and they stated 1TB , but I was wondering if that is accurate or if 1.5 TB and 2TB are also compatible?

BTW - Does Harddrive speed play any factor when used with a DVR as an expansion drive? or is a 5400rpm ~ 7200rpm speed difference negligible ?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Lostinspace

Lostinspace

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 60 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2007

Posted 10 December 2009 - 03:01 PM

http://www.dbstalk.c...ard Drive Limit

#3 OFFLINE   Bluelude1

Bluelude1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2009

Posted 10 December 2009 - 03:29 PM

Ya i saw that, but the last post was 6 months ago and the discussion never arrived at a definite answer to the question.

#4 OFFLINE   TulsaOK

TulsaOK

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,469 posts
Joined: Feb 23, 2004

Posted 10 December 2009 - 03:46 PM

Someone reported that they used a 1.5TB with success. IMO, stick with Western Digital My Book Essential drives. The fewer features the better.
<span style='font-size: 10px;'>“Life is hard; it's harder if you're stupid.”<br /> - John Wayne</span><br /><br />Avatar: Tanner 1992 - 2009

#5 OFFLINE   Bluelude1

Bluelude1

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2009

Posted 10 December 2009 - 05:13 PM

Just as a rule of thumb.... if the 722 comes with 500GB and will record roughly 50 hours of HD. Will the addition of a 1TB external drive add 100 hours of additional HD recording capacity?

#6 OFFLINE   finniganps

finniganps

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,517 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2004

Posted 10 December 2009 - 05:37 PM

Just as a rule of thumb.... if the 722 comes with 500GB and will record roughly 50 hours of HD. Will the addition of a 1TB external drive add 100 hours of additional HD recording capacity?

Yes as a general rule. However sport events will take up more space, while non action shows tend to take up less in my experience.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 December 2009 - 05:41 PM

Someone reported that they used a 1.5TB with success. IMO, stick with Western Digital My Book Essential drives. The fewer features the better.

I did tests and posted real partitioning of disk those sizes.

#8 OFFLINE   phrelin

phrelin

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,384 posts
  • LocationNorthern California Redwoods
Joined: Jan 18, 2007

Posted 10 December 2009 - 06:08 PM

Just as a rule of thumb.... if the 722 comes with 500GB and will record roughly 50 hours of HD. Will the addition of a 1TB external drive add 100 hours of additional HD recording capacity?

My 750GB external drives allow on average about 110 HD movies or 200± hours (sources vary in compression). The 500 GB internal drive has considerable space reserved for software and for video on demand.

"In a hundred years there'll be a whole new set of people."
"Always poke the bears. They sleep too much for their own good."

"If you're good enough, they'll talk about you." - Tom Harmon
A GEEZER who remembers watching TV in 1951 and was an Echostar customer from 1988 to 2008, now a Dish Network customer.
My AV Setup
My Slingbox Pro HD Experience
My Blog: The Redwood Guardian


#9 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 10 December 2009 - 06:34 PM

Reserved space is static - same size for all disks. (I recall ~2 GB, check old posts for sure).

#10 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,532 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 10 December 2009 - 09:08 PM

Last I was aware the 1.5TB was the largest anyone (P Smith) had gotten to work and recognize the full size of the drive.

I have to think eventually we'll see a 2TB drive work, but it's most likely a firmware "switch" or something they'd have to specifically rewrite to add the support rather than a drive compatibility issue at this point. P Smith can correct me on that if I'm mistaken in my assumption here... but it seems reasonable based on the various posts I've seen of people trying various drives/sizes.

-- I like to go fast (not really)


#11 ONLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,458 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 10 December 2009 - 09:30 PM

STANDARD "BIGGEST DRIVE I CAN FIND" CAVEAT:

Consider buying smaller drives and splitting your collection up between them. If your 1TB drive with ALL your archive on it croaks - there ALL gone, however if one of your 250-320GB drives fails, you lose only say 25% or so of your collection.

Yes, multiple smaller drives is more expensive to purchase, but might not be more expensive when data is lost.
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#12 OFFLINE   Dish97

Dish97

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 98 posts
Joined: Dec 19, 2009

Posted 19 December 2009 - 01:47 PM

I believe any size will work as long as the HD is single disc. A 1TB EHD that contains 2 500gb HDs inside will only be recognized as a 500gb HD. A single disc inside a 1.5 TB HD should be fine. I haven't tried since I only use Western Digital and I haven't found a 1.5 single disc WD HD yet. Once I purchased a Seagate 2 Gb EHD. When formatted, only 1TB was recognized. I hooked it up to my mac and found that the 2TB EHD contained 3 discs, 1 1TB, and 2 500Gb.

#13 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,761 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 19 December 2009 - 03:34 PM

"and found that the 2TB EHD contained 3 discs, 1 1TB, and 2 500Gb."

First: what DVR you're using? 622/722 or 722k ?
Second: what SW version on it ?

BTW, those [logical] 'disks' are partitions, not disks.

Last time when I did try one 2 TB drive for 622 I got different result, but you didn't reveal your setup yet.




spam firewall