Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Question about HDMI Splitters


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,113 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 31 December 2009 - 01:11 AM

Has anyone used an HDMI splitter to connect one satellite receiver to two TVs? I have two TVs that are not used very often and could get by with one receiver but I certainly don't want to be swapping the HDMI cables when I go from one TV to the other. Here are some examples of HDMI splitters at Monoprice. Does anyone have any experience with splitters like these? Thanks.

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,864 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 31 December 2009 - 01:47 AM

I would read reviews first - one of them wasn't promising: " Constant HDCP issues. Would not recommend".

#3 OFFLINE   tgater

tgater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 31 December 2009 - 10:26 AM

I use a HDMI switcher That I bought from Mono Price folow this linky: http://www.monoprice....=2#description
It allows me to have two TV's via HDMI as well as four inputs.
I bought 25 foot cables from rat shack that were disco'd for less than 20 bucks and I can watch from the HR21, DVD or Xbox in the Master bedroom or master bathroom. The only thing I can't do is watch 2 different channels.

#4 OFFLINE   Groundhog45

Groundhog45

    Hall Of Fame

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,113 posts
  • LocationCedar Park, Texas
Joined: Nov 09, 2005

Posted 31 December 2009 - 03:09 PM

Thanks for the info. No problem with watching two channels since it will be one room or the other.

Most of the customer evaluations were pretty good. They had a different model listed a few weeks ago that had all good reports but I don't see it any more. I guess I can try one and send it back if it doesn't work. A switch may be another workable solution.

Richard -- DirecTV since '97
Team SETI.USA

 





Protected By... spam firewall...And...