Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV SWM32 spotted at CES


  • Please log in to reply
37 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Draconis

Draconis

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,409 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas, NV
Joined: Mar 16, 2007

Posted 07 January 2010 - 09:44 PM

While I was walking the floor I visited Entropic Communications booth at CES and found something that I have not seen here, a SWM32.

The model number on the unit was SWM32R0-09 and they did not have any documentation, but I was able to find this online.

http://www.pdisat.co...stall guide.pdf

Attached Thumbnails

  • SWM32-1.jpg
  • SWM32-2.jpg
  • SWM32-Close.jpg
  • SWM32-Top.jpg

Edited by Stuart Sweet, 07 January 2010 - 09:57 PM.


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,935 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 January 2010 - 09:50 PM

Those are better shots than I got a while back.
These puppies are for commercial installs, where the SWiM16 is both residential and commercial, but is to support DECA also.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,097 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 07 January 2010 - 09:52 PM

very nice!
DirecTV: Genie HR44, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/75)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#4 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,927 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 07 January 2010 - 10:04 PM

Thanks Draconis
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   smiddy

smiddy

    Tain't ogre til its ogre

  • Registered
  • 15,415 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 07 January 2010 - 10:22 PM

That is so kewl! Thanks for posting these!
Aaron 'smiddy' Smith

#6 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 08 January 2010 - 12:38 AM

Interesting, Very interesting indeed!

All I would like to see is a SWM-16 LNB ODU but this is downright cool. Could you imaging, Tom R. Set-up would be a breeze! :grin: :lol:
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#7 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 02:08 AM

It's not really an SWM32, it's basically just four SWM8s combined into one unit. Each output can still only service 8 tuners.

#8 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 08 January 2010 - 02:12 AM

It's not really an SWM32, it's basically just four SWM8s combined into one unit. Each output can still only service 8 tuners.


True but still a much more convenient setup than current MDU for just video. Sysops should be thrilled about this especially if it's priced compared to the cost of 4 SWM 8's.

#9 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 02:34 AM

True but still a much more convenient setup than current MDU for just video. Sysops should be thrilled about this especially if it's priced compared to the cost of 4 SWM 8's.

Definitely more convenient, that's why it exists. :)

#10 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,025 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 January 2010 - 05:17 AM

Nice catch buddy!!!

Can this be put into the CES section?
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#11 OFFLINE   Juanus

Juanus

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
Joined: Jun 04, 2007

Posted 08 January 2010 - 08:18 AM

Wow... this is pretty interesting. I was waiting for the SWM16 that I still haven't seen in the wild as of yet. Can we buy the SWM32 yet? Or even the SWM16? I am on the hunt because I am about to expand to my 5th DVR and didn't want to go through the hassle of hooking up two SWM8 systems.

#12 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,878 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 08:30 AM

I don't know that either the SWM16 or SWM32 are available for sale yet.

Note: I have deleted several posts. For more information about SWiM-based networking, you might want to look at the Cutting Edge Information folder.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#13 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,164 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:06 AM

Like the SWM16, the SWM32 also has "cascade ports" instead of the legacy ports of the SWM8, which means you can connect another SWM32 to the outputs of the first SWM32.

#14 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,025 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 January 2010 - 09:09 AM

Like the SWM16, the SWM32 also has "cascade ports" instead of the legacy ports of the SWM8, which means you can connect another SWM32 to the outputs of the first SWM32.

That will make one user in Utah happy...with his 60 HD DVRs located in his house and all....:D
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#15 OFFLINE   smiddy

smiddy

    Tain't ogre til its ogre

  • Registered
  • 15,415 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 10:03 AM

That will make one user in Utah happy...with his 60 HD DVRs located in his house and all....:D

He has more STBs than TVs, and likely has the most STBs of any subscriber. :)
Aaron 'smiddy' Smith

#16 OFFLINE   webby_s

webby_s

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,299 posts
Joined: Jan 11, 2008

Posted 08 January 2010 - 11:41 AM

That will make one user in Utah happy...with his 60 HD DVRs located in his house and all....:D


He has more STBs than TVs, and likely has the most STBs of any subscriber. :)


Could you imaging, Tom R. set-up would be a breeze! :grin: :lol:


That's why I brought it up! :lol: :)

Could you imaging the HEAT coming off of this thing! you can see by all the fins on this thing it must be able to boil an egg!
SlimLine 5LNB SWM 16
HR34-700 -->52" Sharp Aquos LED
H25-100 -->32" Philips Master BD
HR21-100 -->19" Vizio LED Kitchen,
HR24-500 --> 50" Panasonic DLP
Hockey is not a sport in Minnesota, it is life.

#17 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,025 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 January 2010 - 11:56 AM

That's why I brought it up! :lol: :)

Could you imaging the HEAT coming off of this thing! you can see by all the fins on this thing it must be able to boil an egg!

Today....it might be more like enough to heat the home... ;):D
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#18 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,220 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 January 2010 - 12:12 PM

Still a little puzzled about the power design for this unit;

I gather that since each SWM-32 unit is actually composed of 4 SWM-8s in parallel, the greater power requirements of the unit need two separate power adapters when feeding the dish. A 24 VDC adapter connected to a "VDC IN 1," (not sure what "VDC IN 2" serves though) to power the 4 internal SWM-8 modules.

And then a 20 VDC one for "OFF-AIR & LNB" which I assume is to power the dish LNB and for some reason "OTA" as well.

Why does "OTA" need power?

Are the internal off-air diplexers powered or something?

#19 OFFLINE   Jeremy W

Jeremy W

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 13,447 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 January 2010 - 12:26 PM

Why does "OTA" need power?

Are the internal off-air diplexers powered or something?

When you're distributing the signal to a potential 32 outlets, some amplification is probably needed.

#20 ONLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,025 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 08 January 2010 - 12:55 PM

I'll try to go there Saturday at CES and ask some more questions....
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996




Protected By... spam firewall...And...