Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DBSTalk First Look: Multi-Room Viewing Opt-in Beta


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
409 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:23 PM

MRV adds additional maintenance of network infrastructure (in this case DECA). This is something new and was never part of things DIRECTV has maintained in the past. It's doubtful (to me) that DIRECTV is out to make lots of money on this. More a way to structure the costs so that folks can have MRV without it causing a burden to every subscriber.

[not to beat a dead horse "too much" again]
If the charge was actually "to support" DECA, then that's one thing, but if the customer used their own network and supported that themselves, then this should be FREE.
A.K.A VOS

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:24 PM

What will happen if I connect my second receiver to my network today, it wont work?

I only have one of my receivers on my network at this me...

You'll need to have the software [0395/4395] for this to work.
A.K.A VOS

#128 OFFLINE   stlmike

stlmike

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 207 posts
Joined: Aug 24, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:30 PM

[not to beat a dead horse "too much" again]
If the charge was actually "to support" DECA, then that's one thing, but if the customer used their own network and supported that themselves, then this should be FREE.


A very reasonable position I think!

#129 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,179 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:30 PM

It seems I won't be able to use the H20 or the SD receivers in my house to do the MRV thing off the HR22 in my family room.


One rumor that I heard was if you get the DirecTV networking option (aka DECA) upgrade that they would replace any receivers that needed to be replaced to make it work as part of the upgrade. Now does that mean replace a R15 for a R16 since DECA requires SWiM or also a H20 to H21/H23 swap since the H20 doesn't have a network connection isn't know.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#130 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:30 PM

[not to beat a dead horse "too much" again]
If the charge was actually "to support" DECA, then that's one thing, but if the customer used their own network and supported that themselves, then this should be FREE.


:shrug:
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#131 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:32 PM

:shrug:

yeah that was what DirecTV said/did when I asked them the same question... :lol:
A.K.A VOS

#132 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,205 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:37 PM

[not to beat a dead horse "too much" again]
If the charge was actually "to support" DECA, then that's one thing, but if the customer used their own network and supported that themselves, then this should be FREE.


I agree 100%. DirecTV has never charged for new features to be added to existing hardware before that I know of (and I don't know of many companies that do). Look at all the Blu-Ray players that keep adding Netflix, Pandora, Amazon, Youtube streaming etc. for free.

Only a couple companies come to mind when I hear about charging for new features on existing equipment Apple and E*. And at least they only charge a one time upgrade fee and not a monthly fee (one time fee for major firmware upgrades on the iphone/ipod touch, one time fee to enable external hard drives on E* DVRs).

I could maybe understand if DirecTV charged a one time fee to activate MRV. But I will not be happy if they really do go through with a monthly fee. Especially considering they just upped the monthly DVR fee as well. (Could the costs for supporting that really have gone up much?).

If they need to charge for DECA support then offer it as an add on plan like the protection plan. Don't charge me when I plan on using my personal gigabit network.

#133 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 02:51 PM

I agree 100%. DirecTV has never charged for new features to be added to existing hardware before that I know of (and I don't know of many companies that do). Look at all the Blu-Ray players that keep adding Netflix, Pandora, Amazon, Youtube streaming etc. for free.

Only a couple companies come to mind when I hear about charging for new features on existing equipment Apple and E*. And at least they only charge a one time upgrade fee and not a monthly fee (one time fee for major firmware upgrades on the iphone/ipod touch, one time fee to enable external hard drives on E* DVRs).

I could maybe understand if DirecTV charged a one time fee to activate MRV. But I will not be happy if they really do go through with a monthly fee. Especially considering they just upped the monthly DVR fee as well. (Could the costs for supporting that really have gone up much?).

If they need to charge for DECA support then offer it as an add on plan like the protection plan. Don't charge me when I plan on using my personal gigabit network.

"I think" their error is that they're thinking of a revenue stream for:
A below cost DECA upgrade, that would include a SWiM, DECA adapters and changing out all the receivers that are needed to have a whole house solution, and then to offset this [loss] with a monthly fee.
I think customers would understand a fair charge for the hardware changes instead of a monthly fee for what is in fact just another software feature.
If the monthly was for "support", then either having a monthly "support" charge or adding it to the protection plan [for an increase in the fee] would be more reasonable.
For those of us that are "doing everything ourselves", this fee just doesn't make sense [cents]. :(

[/end beating horse]
A.K.A VOS

#134 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,269 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:06 PM

Playing devils advocate. What if DirecTV only charged those that used DECA for MRV but not those that used their own setup? There would be a hue and cry, just as there is now. Then a rush for the DIY networking, cancellation of the paid MRV, and then what? Disconnecting and sending the DirecTV supplied SWM,DECA and all related geegaws back to DirecTV. The issues are endless. How will Dtv control who pays and who doesn't? So they charge everyone, or just those that have the DirecTV networking supplied units will be able to get MRV, and those that have DIY networks won't. Just because one's system is networked now doesn't mean entitlement to MRV.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#135 OFFLINE   jacmyoung

jacmyoung

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 6,544 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:06 PM

[not to beat a dead horse "too much" again]
If the charge was actually "to support" DECA, then that's one thing, but if the customer used their own network and supported that themselves, then this should be FREE.


I do see a problem of "self-support", most people don't know how, also even if you know, you will still run into issues that you cannot solve, and must call DirecTV for support, but then how would DirecTV know if it is your network or just the software issue?

I like the idea that just let people who have their own network get the software for free, if they call to report issues, tell them you supposed to upgrade to our own hardware to use the MRV. If you refuse to upgrade, sorry, if you do upgrade, we'll send a tech to take care of it for you but you will be charged for a one time fee and a monthly fee.

This way, the ball is in the customer's court, if DirecTV charges a monthly fee for those who use their own network, then the ball will be in DirecTV's court, it will be hard to refuse to support when people call.

#136 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,108 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:16 PM

Since I've [/end beating dead horse], you all will have to continue without my comments. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#137 OFFLINE   smiddy

smiddy

    Tain't ogre til its ogre

  • Registered
  • 15,619 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:25 PM

Never kid an Ogre.

I know, right?! :D
Aaron 'smiddy' Smith

#138 OFFLINE   smiddy

smiddy

    Tain't ogre til its ogre

  • Registered
  • 15,619 posts
Joined: Apr 05, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:27 PM

Sounds like it, I was looking forward to it.

But......

Now that the details are starting to come out I find myself in a boat I didn't think I'd be in (to be able to use MRV).

It seems I won't be able to use the H20 or the SD receivers in my house to do the MRV thing off the HR22 in my family room.

And although software upgrades with the systems to get them to do all sorts of neat things haven't (in my memory) been charged for in the past....this one will be.

Comes at a bad time (IMO) when the economy is in such bad shape. I've personally been considering dropping back out of the Premier package I'm in to something cheaper and then using my Netflix streaming instead of all the HBO's and stuff. Been thinking about dropping out of the HD Extra Pack too, I'm pretty much down to using only HDNM with it these days.

Not a big deal......people who can afford it can do what they please. I've always thought yachts were neat, can't afford one and never felt bad about THAT :lol:.

Yeah, we all have our "things" we deal with and make trades towards what and how we do those "things" right?! I think this is optimistically in the right place on the uptick towards a recovery. I like it! :)
Aaron 'smiddy' Smith

#139 OFFLINE   bobnielsen

bobnielsen

    Éminence grise

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,239 posts
  • LocationBainbridge Island, WA
Joined: Jun 29, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:42 PM

What will happen if I connect my second receiver to my network today, it wont work?

I only have one of my receivers on my network at this me...


It won't work until your receivers receive the firmware upgrade to 0x395 and you enable the opt-in. After that, it may work, depending on the characteristics of your network (the demands are greater than for On Demand or Media Share).

#140 OFFLINE   iamqnow

iamqnow

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 03:52 PM

steveken... details are still sketchy but I can tell you that there will be an upgrade path for people with incompatible receivers or network topologies.

I hope you are right about that. 3 out of my 4 receivers are good to go but 1 is not.

#141 OFFLINE   Richierich

Richierich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,486 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:06 PM

What if DirecTV only charged those that used DECA for MRV but not those that used their own setup? There would be a hue and cry, just as there is now.

Then a rush for the DIY networking, cancellation of the paid MRV, and then what? Disconnecting and sending the DirecTV supplied SWM,DECA and all related geegaws back to DirecTV. The issues are endless.

How will Dtv control who pays and who doesn't? So they charge everyone, or just those that have the DirecTV networking supplied units will be able to get MRV, and those that have DIY networks won't.

Just because one's system is networked now doesn't mean entitlement to MRV.


Why are there so many posters making this harder than it is?

You charge a monthly Fee that allows you to OPT-IN so you can enjoy the MRV Service and help defray the costs of the MRV Software. If you decide you don't think it is for you, then you just never OPT-IN and you will not be charged for it.

If you can't set up a Wired/Wireless Network, then you call Directv and they will install a Deca System and you pay for the equipment/installation.

Why should I help pay for someone's system who can't install a Network similar to mine when they didn't help me pay for my Network Environment?

How do you control it? By only allowing those who OPT-IN to be able to have access to the MRV Service. Very Simple.
*
DIRECTV CUSTOMER SINCE 1997
Here's My Setup

#142 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:07 PM

One rumor that I heard was if you get the DirecTV networking option (aka DECA) upgrade that they would replace any receivers that needed to be replaced to make it work as part of the upgrade. Now does that mean replace a R15 for a R16 since DECA requires SWiM or also a H20 to H21/H23 swap since the H20 doesn't have a network connection isn't know.


Upgrading an R15 to R16 doesn't really help as it doesn't have network access. Really, all DVR's would need to be HR2x's and all receivers need to be H21/3.

#143 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,179 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:29 PM

Upgrading an R15 to R16 doesn't really help as it doesn't have network access. Really, all DVR's would need to be HR2x's and all receivers need to be H21/3.


Didn't say the R15/R16's did, but if you have a R15 and go for the network upgrade to SWiM/DECA your R15 would need to be replace else it wouldn't work anymore. That part has nothing to do with MRV, just saying that non-SWiM STB's would need to be replaced with a SWiM model.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#144 OFFLINE   Thaedron

Thaedron

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,886 posts
Joined: Jun 29, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:31 PM

may not be the right place to say this but this will be a monthly charge for something that uses my network?


There is a monthly charge for having more than one receiver (whether you call it a mirroring or a lease charge). It's about features available to the user and the perceived value. Has nothing to do with your network.

Though just for the record, I'm not in favor of them charging a fee for MRV.
Main viewing system HR20-100 via SWM-8, using HDMI, networked, using DirecTV on Demand and MRV!
Samsung HLT-5689S | Oppo DV-981HD | Denon AVR-4306 | QNAP TS-219P NAS and Media Server

Full Setup


Proud supporter of the HR20 Wish List Survey

#145 OFFLINE   iamqnow

iamqnow

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 245 posts
Joined: Dec 26, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:37 PM

I hope you are right about that. 3 out of my 4 receivers are good to go but 1 is not.

Has anyone else noticed that for the last few days, on the D* website, the only "kits and equipment" offered is the AM21? No powerline adapters or wireless equipment is listed. Must be due to the now rolling MRV/networking movement.

#146 ONLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,179 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:41 PM

Has anyone else noticed that for the last few days, on the D* website, the only "kits and equipment" offered is the AM21? No powerline adapters or wireless equipment is listed. Must be due to the now rolling MRV/networking movement.


I just logged in and both the wireless and powerline adapters are listed along with the AM21.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#147 OFFLINE   eilugo

eilugo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 04:51 PM

Does anyone know the estimated time frame for the beta-testing phase of MRV?

#148 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,929 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 20 January 2010 - 05:04 PM

I'll estimate that it will be "months" but I don't know if that means 2-6 months or 6-12 months. Either way, I'd look towards shorter rather than longer times.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#149 OFFLINE   hilmar2k

hilmar2k

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,251 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 05:06 PM

Didn't say the R15/R16's did, but if you have a R15 and go for the network upgrade to SWiM/DECA your R15 would need to be replace else it wouldn't work anymore. That part has nothing to do with MRV, just saying that non-SWiM STB's would need to be replaced with a SWiM model.


Yeah, I know you knew that. My points was if I am going to pay for MRV, I want to be able to access the recordings on any receiver. If they are going to upgrade people, my R16 ought to be swapped out for an HR2x.

#150 OFFLINE   eilugo

eilugo

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Aug 18, 2007

Posted 20 January 2010 - 05:10 PM

2 months is what I was thinking as well. Don't know why, just sounded like a good number. Thanks Doug!




Protected By... spam firewall...And...